We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great city centre hotel”
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Found this hotel thanks to Tripadvisor and stayed on a Sat night for a treat. This popular bar is as central as you could possibly get (tucked behind a church near the central crossroads of the pedestrianised shopping district). The Byron suite looks just as good as the publicity photos, with a massive bathroom kitted out with large stand-alone bath, his & her sinks and big shower. The rooms are amazing value for what they offer. We enjoyed an evening meal in the hotel restaurant & sunday roast in the bar. Both were great. The hotel has a late licence & is clearly a popular late night drinking venue. The only down side to this is that the courtyard outside the bedroom window remained noisy well into the early hours. This didn't bother us too much as were expecting it & were up late ourselves. The hotel - to their credit - make these things clear. Staff were all very friendly and accommodated us at short notice. I'm glad we chose this hotel over one of the larger places in the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    77
    25
    21
    24
See reviews for
37
185
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Stayed for 3 nights at the Commercial, based on some of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed!

The hotel's central location is hard to beat, right on the Cross but tucked away in its own courtyard. As noted in other reviews this means no on site parking, but there is parking only a minutes walk away and on our arrival the very helpful staff accompanied us to the parking so it was no fuss or bother at all.

The hotel itself has been done out in an imaginative contemporary style (no brown in sight unlike almost every other "contemporary" hotel decor we've stayed in over the last few years!!), much to our taste yet in keeping with the historic building. We felt very at home and when we were discovered photographing the light fittings for future reference Rebecca directed us to the shop in town where we could get them! The staff at the Commercial were without exception great, very friendly and helpful but genuine with it, and even one of the off duty bar staff who was having a pint with his mates helped us out when the on duty staff were busy.

Our room was immaculate and the bathroom great, loved the bodyjets in the shower.
Bed was comfy with a good light duvet. Cant comment on the TV as we never turned it on, but it was big and flat!

The breakfasts were great, had the full english (with awesome pork sausages with black pudding in) first morning and didnt need to eat till 4PM!! Next morning we both went for a lighter choice (to give ourselves some chance of having lunch out) of scrambled and poached eggs with some bacon, again perfectly cooked and of great quality, service was brilliant.

On our last night (Tuesday) we had our evening meal at the hotel as they had a comedy night on we didn't want to miss. My partner went all misty eyed with the decor in the dining room, kind of gothic french chateau, wow! The food was superb, really really good (and I am quite hard to please with restaurant food). Every course was great, special mention to the pheasant with rum and raisins and the Pigeon breasts, and the smoked salmon starter. Was expecting good, but this was much better than expected! The wine was a really very nice bottle and very reasonably priced for the year. An exceptional meal in an exceptional room, a real pleasure. A nice touch was finishing our meal and finding a table already reserved for us at the comedy night, didnt have to ask.

I noted the only recent poor review made note of confusing staircases and showers, Neither of us had any confusion here (and my partner freely admits to a terrible sense of direction) even after "some" drink had been taken, so I wouldn't worry, its not a maze and the shower controls are standard. Some previous reviews comment on the noise, but this was not an issue for us as it was a midweek stay, but no one could say that it is not made very clear on the website that this is a lively spot at a weekend, and we hope to return and join in the fun one weekend.

To conclude one of the nicest stays away we have had in a long time (my partner says its the nicest city break we've ever been on and wants to redecorate our house a la mode "Hotel Commercial") so thanks to all staff, cleaners, James and Rebecca, chef, Cara, Lucy and the unknown hero who stepped in when the bar was busy. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_Cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

What a find, went for for a pre booked meal, great menu and excellent choices. The food was exceptional so was the house wine and excellent value for money. The atmosphere was comfortable, not over crowded, we were not rushed and the staff were helpful and friendly. There was a large party being catererd for upstairs but this did not affect the service.We were going to The Laugh Inn after and the staff offered to get us a taxi or gave us the directions for us to walk off this excellent meal. We would definitely recomend this restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northernsouler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Visited with my girlfriend for Valentine's weekend as a surprise. Arrived minus her essentials as was a little too much of a surprise!!! but Rebecca who welcomed us went above and beyond and found us make up and toiletries which was simply amazing service!

A little hard to find (hence such a central Chester location!) but parking was not too far away and was accompanied by someone from the hotel to save time messing around with directions.

The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom immaculate and with great fittings.

We stayed on a Saturday night and were told beforehand about the late night license and music, which was loud in the room (Shelley suite) and would probably prevent nodding off, but happily we did not return from dinner until around midnight and then enjoyed a couple of hours in the busy hotel bars. By the time we went to bed all was quiet after our late night bopping!

Breakfast was served between 8 and 10 and was a full english plus tea, toast, cereal etc and was excellent (although I prefer a bog standard sausage and these were a mix of black pudding).

Overall, we will certainly be returning probably for a weekday shopping stay over, or for a late night weekend partying stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollymuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear reviewer, I've just read through your comments and realised that I had never replied. I just wanted to say thank you for your lengthy review and the time you took to write about each aspect of The Commercial. When people look to book a hotel these days tripadvisor is a must and your review gave a wonderful overall view of the service we offer and provide. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon. Best regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

My boyfriend took me away for a surprise overnights stay and we arrived at The Commercial! What a fabulous weekend we had! The service and hotel itself were impeccable and we have nothing but praise for this hotel and their staff. On arriving into Chester we contacted the hotel as there were on going road works and so we lost our direction! A member of staff stayed on the phone to us whilst we were on route to the hotel, ensuring that we found our way safely! We were then greeted at the rear of the property with an umberella and our luggage carried for us. James (from the hotel) then personally took my boyfriend to park his car up and walked him back to the hotel, recommending bars on the way. Our room ("Wordsworth" - as they are named after poets) was stunning and overlooked old court yards. It was clean, modern and extremely comfy. The food was exceptional, tasty and `different`. For our evening meal we had Ham hock marinaded in treacle & honey and the sauages at breakfast the next morning were stuffed with black pudding, whilst the butter had a sprinkling of pink sugar and cracked pepper. The quality of food was extremely high and great value for money. The ambience/night life of the hotel was fabulous and we are set to return in June for my boyfriends birthday! Staff were attentive and treated us like friends as opposed to customers. Many thanks to James and Rebecca for a memorable weekend : ) One of our favourite hotel stays to date!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williams28Warrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

One night stay last Friday, hard to fault apart from some noise from Disco. Food was really first rate and super value. Rooms were exceptionally clean and the service and staff excellent. The Commercial really is a hidden gem perfectly located for easy access to the centre of historic Chester. Will without question stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dun Laoghaire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

The Commercial hotel is difficult to find because it is not on a street. The taxi man dropped us at the back door which really looked poor. We could not find a reception desk because there wasn't one. On several ocassions during our stay we failed to find our room because all the staircases looked that same. The only way that we knew we were on the wrong stairs was when we couldn't get past the combination locks on the doors. We were only given a combination number for one of the three doors.
After all this the room was elegant and bed was comfortable.
There were no instructions on how to use the shower. Thus, we got a spray of water in the face.
The disco ran all night until the small hours.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeburgDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boshed, Owner at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor and I'm sorry that you felt that we provide low value for money. This has not been the feedback we have had from customers so far as the location and quality of our rooms, food and staff has been exceptional. However, we can't please all people all the time.

We are located in the centre of Chester which is fully pedestrianised. This means that the closest that customers can be dropped off by taxis is at the service road at the rear of the hotel. These are never pretty but the hotel is a gorgeous 200 year old Georgian building - one of Chester's best! Although not ideal to be dropped off at the rear, we respond to this by personally meeting all our customers outside the hotel and take them to the car parks to ensure that they are provided with the easiest experience possible.

Our hotel only has 5 bedrooms so we use the bar as the reception area for the hotel and the staff are more than helpful at booking customers into their rooms and helping them with their luggage. To date it has not been difficult for customers to find their rooms because there is only 5 of them but we accept that we can improve on this by putting signs up.

We also use key-pads instead of locks as we have had customers lose keys frequently and this provides a more secure method of controlling entry to the rooms as we are also a busy late night bar. We will reconsider using key pads if this continues to pose problems.

The showers are fantastic but I accept as they are full body showers that some customers not used to them may benefit from instructions.

We are certainly a party hotel and the bar is open until 2am almost every day with DJ's on Monday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday. We advertise this on the website as well as bookings.com and laterooms.com and when we take bookings we advise customers of this.

Ideally, our customers want to party, enjoy the great atmosphere, service and food as well as our most central location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chester Central
0.4 mi away
The Boathouse & Riverside Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commercial Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Property: The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Address: Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation, a wide selection of drinks, the warmest of welcomes, the liveliest of atmospheres in the most exquisite of locations… ‘…A gem hidden in the heart of Chester…’ We have five beautiful double en-suite rooms, including a luxury 'Lord Byron suite', each with a book of poetry written by their namesake for your enjoyment during your stay. We have 3 high quality entertaining bars serving traditional ales, fine wines, superb spirits and fabulous cocktails. We attract a fun-loving clientele from 18-80, especially at weekends when our renowned resident DJs spin their collective mix of disco-dancing tunes. We will always ensure you are made to feel very welcome at the Commercial and we provide something for everyone, every day of the week! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Commercial Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant And Hotel
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant Hotel Chester
The Commercial Bar & Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing