We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
242
85
26
21
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
242
85
26
21
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbyron suitekeats roomtwo sinksunderfloor heatingsunday lunchearly hourscocktail barfull bodynight liferoast potatoessmall hotelon arrivalbe visiting againmember of staffgreat showerfunction roomfull english
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The Commercial hotel is lovely. Location couldn't be better. The staffs are brilliant, really friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely too. We stayed in Wordsworth and my sister and her partner stayed in Coleridge and although the rooms were different, both were great and the bathrooms had shower and separate baths and two sinks. The whole place is spotlessly clean too.

We had the pre theatre dinner with free tickets to the Laugh Inn. At only £15 for 2 courses which included free tickets to the Laugh Inn it was excellent value. Our meals were delicious and the comedy club was really funny – tip, don’t sit in the front row!!

My niece and her new husband stayed the weekend before us and they told us how lovely it was and how great the staff were but we thought that as they were on their honeymoon they were exaggerating, but we have to agree.

The only down side is that the disco is on until 3am at the weekend and it is NOISY!! To be fair, they do warn you about this if you book for the weekend so it’s no surprise but we bought some silicone earplugs from Boots and they do cut out the noise so make sure you get some if staying at the weekend.

The Commercial has a great offer on for Jan and Feb – 2 nights for £99 (Sunday to Thursday). Yes you heard it right and that includes breakfast so grab yourself a bargain.

At almost midnight a member of staff phoned both the taxi company and the Laugh Inn when I returned without my handbag and when the Laugh Inn said they had found it, they sent a taxi to collect it straight away. A big thank you to everyone for making our weekend so pleasurable. We hope to be back soon

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollypocket95a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Food was great. Service was brilliant. Barstaff really helpful (and handsome!). Rooms well kept and comfortable. Spot-on location. Also... The tallest manager i have ever seen!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

As always we’ll be objective in our review. We chose The Commercial partly because it was really good value and partly a trip down memory lane from a stay there many years ago. Needless to say the rooms are unrecognisable from those days. Prior to our stay we looked at the reviews and telephoned to ensure there were no late night events happening as we wanted a quiet couple of days.

We arrived early and requested the quietest room – our room was quickly reallocated but wasn’t ready which was no issue as we went for lunch. We stayed in Keats room and were very comfortable - lovely bed and shower/bathroom. It’s a bit of a maze to get to the rooms and the stair carpet could do with a little repair here and there.

The great thing about The Commercial is its location – slap bang in the middle of the Chester. Yes there was the a little noise from those crossing the courtyard but that’s not the hotel’s fault. We ate very well – the breakfasts were excellent with everything freshly cooked so worth the wait. Away from the hotel we enjoyed The Brewery Tap for a proper pint (no music or TV); La Fattoria for a lovely Italian meal and Moules a Go Go for a lovely steak and great service.

Here are just a couple of little things that would’ve helped our stay be even better – a bin in the bathroom; curtains instead of blinds; the handle on the toilet to be fixed; a bedside table each side. Having said this we would not hesitate to return to The Commercial to stay – the staff were just great and that always makes a difference.

Room Tip: We asked for and were given the quietest room - Keats
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeithioTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

You cannot get more central in Chester than this delightful small hotel. Free parking also included!! We stayed in Coleridge (all rooms named after poets) and enjoyed 2 nights of perfect peace despite being right in the middle of the action of Chester night life. The bathroom was fantastic, as good as amny 5 star hotels. The staff were all extremely pleasant. We enjoyed several drinks in the bar but will remember with relish the breakfasts.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Since the Commercial re opened I've been a big fan of its charm and friendly service. I don't live in Chester but when I get the opportunity to visit I always make sure I pop in even for a drink. I've spend many a Sunday afternoon having food there, the surrounds are lovely for a leisurely lunch where you aren't rushed to finish your meal. After telling my friends about how fond I am of going there I organised a group of us to go last Sunday for Christmas dinner. It's the perfect setting for a festive meal, we sat overlooking the Christmas tree by the roaring log fire in the front room and could hear Bing Crosby singing in the background, prefect! The food is always, to a high standard, what's good about here is they tend to think about the whole meal, some traditional and modern recipes that include everything you would expect, thought and care has been taken with the accompaniments – the vegetables and garnishes to give a lovely plate of food without being pretentious, the size of the portions would be satisfying for anyone.



The staff are lovely and nothing is too much to ask, you can't fault the service at all.



My friends had lovely time and I thought I should spread the word to tell others know about it. If you are thinking of visiting the Commercial it is well worth it, half of its charm is that it's hidden right behind 'The Cross' virtually in the heart of the town, surprisingly quiet with a lovely courtyard so it you can't find it, ask as it will not disappoint it's everything you would want from a visit to Chester.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews