We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed for the second time inside 12 months and the standard was just as high.
The location is perfect for enjoying Chester city centre shopping and its night life. The warm welcome and friendliness of the staff is superb and has to be enjoyed to be believed.
The decor is endlessly maintained to ensure a high standard, and is backed up by being both exceptionally clean and comfortable.
The breakfast is superb as is the copious amounts of tea and coffee
If you are going to Chester try his..... You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimJ1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear Jim, thank you for your lovely review.
It's great to read comments from guests like yourselves who have stayed more than once and still enjoy their time with us. It certainly makes me proud of the staff who contiue to offer excellent customer service and are genuinely happy to see repeat guests.
The Commercial is a bit like the Forth Bridge, decoration is continual! We have just added wallpaper to the rooms which makes them even more comfortable if I do say so myself.
I'm sure we will see you again and look forward to that time.
Kind regards, Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

The hotel is clearly trying to strike a balance between a pub/ hotel and does nt quite carry it off. I thought the rooms were good, general cleanliness average, breakfast very good. However the big problem was the noise which started about 4 am when a nearby nightclub closed and was compoubnded by the noise of barrels being delivered to nearby pubs at 6 am

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear William, thank you for taking time to write on our page.
Unfortunately we are right in the middle of the city centre and that brings it's challenges. The noise you heard from the night club cannot be avoided, Chester has a large student population and a lot of places cater to them.
The barrel delivery nextdoor happens once a week on a Friday and I must disagree with regards to the time. I complained about it myself last year because we are a hotel and did not want residents disturbed too early, also I live here too! They now deliver after 7am and must be out of the City centre by 8am. If you had stayed from Sunday to Wednesday you probably would not have been disturbed at all.
Kind regards Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

we had a lovely, clean room. staff were great. hotel was dog friendly. breakfast was great. right in the middle of town. we were there midweek, so there was no noise from the bar. would definitely go back there again, as the location could not be beat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and such a lovely review too. We do have a great location for the City, welcome dogs and do offer a tasty breakfast - but there again I am biased!
We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Had great night out despite other customers trying to cause trouble-handled efficiently and effectively which was very reassuring. Lively bar with a good atmosphere, all staff very friendly and cheerful including doormen. We would recommend the Commercial for a good night out in Chester; a fun, safe place to party!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It's such a shame that customer tried to cause trouble but I'm glad it was witnessed by someone independent. So often doormen get a bad reputation and our guys are really good at handling any disturbances so the rest of us can continue having a great time.
We do like to party at weekends so it would be great to see you here again joining in the fun. Best wishes Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Great stay at the Commercial - staff couldn't have been more helpful, the service was first class with a real personal touch from Rebecca. The rooms are great and full of character and the location is perfect for exploring the wonderful city.

Thanks

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Andrew,thank you for taking time to write your review.
We are very lucky to have such a perfect location for the city centre and I am lucky to have great staff. Thank you for your comments, I will certainly pass them onto the "Commercial family" and we look forward to seeing you again soon? Kind regards Rebecca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Cant fault it!!Stayed at the Commercial for 2 nights with my husband and 18 year old daughter, unfortunately she wasn't feeling well when we arrived. James was very helpful and understanding letting her go and lie down even though the room wasn't quite ready, when we returned to the hotel later Rebecca(manager)had gave us another room next door at no extra cost !(we had only booked the 1) so she would be more comfortable. The rooms were spotless and the decor excellent . Huge bathrooms with gorgeous walk in showers!! lovely little dressing areas and soft comfy beds,slept like babies! Couldn't ask for more . All the staff we spoke to were friendly and professional. Location was brilliant everything on the doorstep, will be back next year !!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear Helen, thank you for taking the time to write your review.
James and I we're happy to help with the additional room for your daughter, luckily it was available. I trust she has recovered and you had a pleasant journey home? I will pass on your lovely comments to the rest of the staff and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Kind regards Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

From the thuggish doorman to the utterly disinterested barstaff, this place is best avoided when there are so many better pubs, bars and restaurants in Chester. Sadly, it struck the only off note in a lovely night in a charming City full of better Places to go than this Place whose kooky location down an alleyway is literally its only redeeming feature.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeMoutonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Reviewer, what a shame you didn't ask to see me with your comments during your visit. We're one of the busiest bars in Chester so we must be doing something right so I trust you found somewhere you enjoyed instead? You can't please all of the people all of the time! Kind regards Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chester Central
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#5 of 45 in Chester
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,733 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#33 of 45 in Chester
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commercial Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Address: Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £67 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation, a wide selection of drinks, the warmest of welcomes, the liveliest of atmospheres in the most exquisite of locations… ‘…A gem hidden in the heart of Chester…’ We have five beautiful double en-suite rooms, including a luxury 'Lord Byron suite', each with a book of poetry written by their namesake for your enjoyment during your stay. We have 3 high quality entertaining bars serving traditional ales, fine wines, superb spirits and fabulous cocktails. We attract a fun-loving clientele from 18-80, especially at weekends when our renowned resident DJs spin their collective mix of disco-dancing tunes. We will always ensure you are made to feel very welcome at the Commercial and we provide something for everyone, every day of the week! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Commercial Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant And Hotel
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant Hotel Chester
The Commercial Bar & Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing