We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good size rooms, great service, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good size rooms, great service, but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

The room we stayed in was on the top floor but the staff were more than willing to help with bags etc.Checking in at the bar was a little strange but was absolutely fine. For the whole time we were there the staff just couldn't do enough.
The room itself was excellent. A big separate sitting room, a stand alone bathtub in the bathroom and a comfy bedroom.
The only downside was the noise outside until the very late hours.Even with the windows closed we had to have the TV on loud to try and create some 'white noise' to block out the music from outside.
The staff were very understanding and the noise was actually from nearby and not from the hotel bar. It was a real shame as I'd love to go back but I really would struggle with those noise levels.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirkbyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you for your review. It's lovely to read that the service we provide is well received and also the points, sometimes beyond our control, that cause disturbance. We are in a great location for the city centre but along with that comes the noise aspect, especially at the weekend!
We are very concious that weekend guests are informed of the "house party" we offer at weekends, the hotel is also a public bar and so much more.... It would be lovely to have you visit again, maybe during the week next time?
Thank you and kind regards
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    73
    24
    19
    22
See reviews for
32
177
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Excellent service from the moment we walked in, Team all seem happy in their work which refletcs in the service, couldnt fault anyone.loved the room which was the Bryon suite, never seen a bathroom like it - gorgeous!
Right in the centre and if you want to party late this is the place, loved it.Gorgeous room, large comfy beds, only negative we couldnt get music on the TVs and the plug socket no where near the mirror for us girls!
Would stay again, well done to all the team, keep up the good work - gold star ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Mrs Howes, thank you for taking time to write your review.
I'm glad to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us in the Byron Suite. I have taken note regarding the mirror and will be looking into buying one to complete the furnishings.
We hope to see you again, kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

I booked the Bryon Suite on the Monday before the bank holiday, I received a call the following day to let me know that the hotel would be having live bands on while we were staying and was that going to be ok? Most hotels would not have even bothered to ask!
We did take our time to find the hotel on the Thursday evening due to the one way system. However when we did arrive James couldn’t have been more helpful even going to show my boyfriend the car park and helping to carry back our bags. The Bryon Suite is well worth the money and in my local town would be double the price! We had a bit of fun with the fire alarms that evening but again everyone was lovely which made the experience less painful. Our stay was improved on Friday by the live bands playing and we thoroughly enjoyed the fact we could watch them from our room! I would recommend the Commercial to anyone staying in Chester not only is the location reason enough (right in the city centre) but the hotel and all the staff were fantastic.
Thanks everyone we will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Charlie, thank you so much for writing such an in depth review.
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the entertainment was well received. I totally agree, we are positioned perfectly for shopping and restaurants but maybe not so much for parking!
I will pass your praise onto James and the staff, kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We last stayed here in the early 1980's and were pleasantly surprised that, although very much refurbished, it retained many of the original features! Room was clean and spacious and even though we were warned in advance about the 3am disco we were not disturbed on the top floor! Right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirteensteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your comments.
It was lovely for me to hear that your trip down memory lane was enjoyed. We have a fabulous building and didn't want too much of the history to change when we modernised some of the features. You are not the only couple to revisit The Commercial after many years, we had residents stay in January who had spent their honeymoon here 40 years ago and a couple who had got engaged in the oldest bar 50 years ago - long live The Commercial!
Kind regards, Rebecca .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

From the moment we walked in, we knew that we weren't going to be disappointed... We were met with a very friendly welcome from James, who was very informative and helpful in advising us that if we wanted to eat out, we would probably need to make a reservation and he would do that for us if we wished...
We were taken to our rooms ( Shelley & Coleridge) which were both lovely.. Very clean and comfortable, and had everything we needed and more, all furnishings were lovely, and I think, the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in..!
The bathroom was very spacious, with wonderful underfloor heating. Great shower, bath and double sinks.
We enjoyed a few drinks in the bar before retiring, and liked the fact that there was a complete cross section of age groups.
Yes, there was music playing, which we knew about, but it didn't prevent us having a good nights sleep.. I suppose it might for a light sleeper...?!!
In summary, I would highly recommend this hotel, and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we visit Chester again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jamesnerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Wow James what a fabulous review thank you so much.
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that my Manager James was accommodating to your requirements. I think the most important part of staying away from home is to have a good bed to relax in and our bathrooms never seem to disappoint.
We look forward to your next visit and if we can make any dinner reservations for you in advance please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Kind Regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

what started as just a quick pint, quickly turned into all afternoon and all evening until closing time! the bar is relatively quiet during a Saturday afternoon, but once 8pm rolls around the bar is heaving with an excellent atmosphere. next time your passing, pop in for a pint of their japanese lager and see what happens!!

Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Steve. Thank you for taking time to write a review on the bar. I must say you did very well to stay as long as you did if you were drinking the Kirin! We party every Friday and Saturday and look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dyserth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here following a days shopping and before a birthday meal out in the evening. We have stayed in Chester many times, but did not know this hotel was there! We had a very friendly welcome, a double g and t in the bar area, then were shown to our very spacious and clean room. Bathroom was one of the best ever! Deep, spotlessly clean bath and warm towels, robes etc. separate lounge area with sofa was great to drop all the bags and chill. The bed was comfy and the bedroom was spacious and clean too. Breakfast was great, hot and freshly cooked to Oder with as much coffee and tea as we could drink. I suspect the hotel would be noisy at the weekends but that is clearly noted on the hotel description. We stayed on a Monday so was peaceful.we will be going back.

Room Tip: Book the suite with the lounge area if it is available. Great bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sianiemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review. As like many people who visit Chester you don't know we are here unless you stumble across us or read a lovely review like yours and decide to try us.
Mid week as you know is a good time to visit, the bar's are not noisy, we're in a perfect location to explore Chester and the rooms are comfortable to relax in after a hard days shopping/walking.
It's great to hear you'll be returning and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commercial Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Property: The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Address: Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation, a wide selection of drinks, the warmest of welcomes, the liveliest of atmospheres in the most exquisite of locations… ‘…A gem hidden in the heart of Chester…’ We have five beautiful double en-suite rooms, including a luxury 'Lord Byron suite', each with a book of poetry written by their namesake for your enjoyment during your stay. We have 3 high quality entertaining bars serving traditional ales, fine wines, superb spirits and fabulous cocktails. We attract a fun-loving clientele from 18-80, especially at weekends when our renowned resident DJs spin their collective mix of disco-dancing tunes. We will always ensure you are made to feel very welcome at the Commercial and we provide something for everyone, every day of the week! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Commercial Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant Hotel Chester
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant And Hotel
The Commercial Bar & Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing