We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel with Grand Hotel feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Fantastic quality, comfort and attention to detail.
How pleasantly surprising it is to find a small quality hotel that is superbly situated in the centre of town that is clean with well decorated rooms with great staff who were friendly, happy and accommodating. Could not fault our 3 night stay. Attention to detail sets this hotel apart. Comfortable bed, plentiful and soft towels, beverages including mineral water topped up daily.
The full English breakfast was superb and definately well received.
We also enjoyed the good music and the downstairs bars.
Our stay was a surprising treat and definately value for money.
Looking forward to our next stay - roll on Ladies day !.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Alexis, thank you so much for making your TripAdvisor début review about The Commercial.
I've received a lot of great comments about our breakfasts, the rooms, the staff, the atmosphere and our central location. Please check our webpage and facebook for this summers events and hopefully we'll see you again before next years races.
Kindest regards Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect place to stay if you are going to Chester, hidden away in a side lane off one of the main shopping streets (Zara is metres away :)
A great bar downstairs and well appointed rooms upstairs (with amazing showers - AND a bath, spoilt for choice).
Unfortunately I was there because of work so too short a stay, but I'm looking forward to making the trip for pleasure very soon......try it :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littletomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I must agree, we do have a little hidden gem in the middle of the city in a perfect location for shops and restaurants. We have a lot of business guests throughout the week and as you mentioned it would be great to see you at the weekend for a pleasurable stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we look forward to your next visit.
Best wishes Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Excellent hotel. Great central location. Situated in a hidden historic courtyard that also provides outside seating/drinks .Another outside area available too. Good ambience, with staff that are extremely helpful, especially with the luggage. (no lift). Room was lovely and very clean, decorated in the boutique style .Brilliant for travellers who want on the spot entertainment/DJ, with a choice of small bars on the premises. Seems very popular with the the locals too. The breakfast was perfect with the additional care taken for my Gluten Free diet. The sausages were fab. Perhaps GF bread supplied for next time we stay? Overall, a wonderful hidden gem that supplied everything for two young at heart female 50 year olds attending the races.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Hi Carol. Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I see that you've already booked for next years May races which is great news and I've taken note on the gluten free bread!
I look forward to seeing you both soon, hopefully before May.
Kindest regards Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just come home from the commercial bar and hotel and what a great experience. We stayed in the Byron suit upstairs a very nice room, well furnished and with a beautiful bathroom. This is the place to go if you are a party goer at the weekends but I wouldn't recommend if your looking for peace and quite unless you go during the week. The staff were excellent and Rebecca was a very good hostess, always friendly and available if you needed anything. The music was good, with live bands playing in the court yard and a DJ inside playing some old Skool classics to the early hours. Overall a great experience and will be going back and recommending to friends

Thank you Rebeeca and her team

From Sarah's hen do

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you so much for a great review. I'm so glad to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and that you'll be coming back. As you rightly say we are a party place at weekends and welcome guests like yourselves to join in the fun, it helps when all you need to do is climb the stairs for bed - just like being at home!
If you enjoyed the bands in the courtyard please keep an eye on our facebook page for this summers live music programme.
We look forward to seeing you all again soon, kind regards Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The room we stayed in was on the top floor but the staff were more than willing to help with bags etc.Checking in at the bar was a little strange but was absolutely fine. For the whole time we were there the staff just couldn't do enough.
The room itself was excellent. A big separate sitting room, a stand alone bathtub in the bathroom and a comfy bedroom.
The only downside was the noise outside until the very late hours.Even with the windows closed we had to have the TV on loud to try and create some 'white noise' to block out the music from outside.
The staff were very understanding and the noise was actually from nearby and not from the hotel bar. It was a real shame as I'd love to go back but I really would struggle with those noise levels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirkbyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you for your review. It's lovely to read that the service we provide is well received and also the points, sometimes beyond our control, that cause disturbance. We are in a great location for the city centre but along with that comes the noise aspect, especially at the weekend!
We are very concious that weekend guests are informed of the "house party" we offer at weekends, the hotel is also a public bar and so much more.... It would be lovely to have you visit again, maybe during the week next time?
Thank you and kind regards
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Excellent service from the moment we walked in, Team all seem happy in their work which refletcs in the service, couldnt fault anyone.loved the room which was the Bryon suite, never seen a bathroom like it - gorgeous!
Right in the centre and if you want to party late this is the place, loved it.Gorgeous room, large comfy beds, only negative we couldnt get music on the TVs and the plug socket no where near the mirror for us girls!
Would stay again, well done to all the team, keep up the good work - gold star ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Mrs Howes, thank you for taking time to write your review.
I'm glad to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us in the Byron Suite. I have taken note regarding the mirror and will be looking into buying one to complete the furnishings.
We hope to see you again, kind regards Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I booked the Bryon Suite on the Monday before the bank holiday, I received a call the following day to let me know that the hotel would be having live bands on while we were staying and was that going to be ok? Most hotels would not have even bothered to ask!
We did take our time to find the hotel on the Thursday evening due to the one way system. However when we did arrive James couldn’t have been more helpful even going to show my boyfriend the car park and helping to carry back our bags. The Bryon Suite is well worth the money and in my local town would be double the price! We had a bit of fun with the fire alarms that evening but again everyone was lovely which made the experience less painful. Our stay was improved on Friday by the live bands playing and we thoroughly enjoyed the fact we could watch them from our room! I would recommend the Commercial to anyone staying in Chester not only is the location reason enough (right in the city centre) but the hotel and all the staff were fantastic.
Thanks everyone we will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Charlie, thank you so much for writing such an in depth review.
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the entertainment was well received. I totally agree, we are positioned perfectly for shopping and restaurants but maybe not so much for parking!
I will pass your praise onto James and the staff, kind regards Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chester Central
0.2 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#5 of 45 in Chester
1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,703 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commercial Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Address: Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £67 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation, a wide selection of drinks, the warmest of welcomes, the liveliest of atmospheres in the most exquisite of locations… ‘…A gem hidden in the heart of Chester…’ We have five beautiful double en-suite rooms, including a luxury 'Lord Byron suite', each with a book of poetry written by their namesake for your enjoyment during your stay. We have 3 high quality entertaining bars serving traditional ales, fine wines, superb spirits and fabulous cocktails. We attract a fun-loving clientele from 18-80, especially at weekends when our renowned resident DJs spin their collective mix of disco-dancing tunes. We will always ensure you are made to feel very welcome at the Commercial and we provide something for everyone, every day of the week! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Commercial Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant And Hotel
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant Hotel Chester
The Commercial Bar & Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing