We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful welcome and stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We've just come back from a few days' stay at the commercial. We stayed in the Byron suite with our three children. It was fantastic as the children could stay in the lounge, which was a separate room, so we had our own bedroom.

The location was perfect, right in the town centre, and the staff were so welcoming it felt like home. The room and bathroom were very clean, the bath and shower were huge. It's a perfect base for a family.

We stayed from Sunday to Tuesday night - there is a bar under the room which is open on fri and Saturday nights so it would not be good for a family to stay then. But on other days I would recommend the hotel as a great base for a stay in chester.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Naomi, Thank you for taking time out to write your review.
It was lovely to have you and your family stay with us and have the time to experience Chester and the many wonderful attractions we have to offer.
The Byron suite is ideal for families and I trust you andyours will stay again on your next visit to the area.
Kind regards Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed for one night on the 12th October with my husband as a 'treat' from work. It had been my birthday earlier in the week so the 'night away' was planned to coincide with this. On arrival the staff could not be more helpful and the very lovely Charlotte took us up to our room. We stayed in the Byron Suite which I can only describe as 'wow'. The bathroom is amazing and the whole suite is stunning. We were meeting family for drinks during the day and into the early evening and then out for a meal later on. On arrival back at the hotel and following a couple of drinks we made our way back to our room and although the noise from the courtyard and early morning party people could be heard it by no way spoilt my sleep (which probably had something to do with the very comfy bed and not the copius amounts of alcohol I had consumed). The following morning we made our way down for breakfast (lovely) and again Charlotte was there to look after us (She is a star although all the staff seemed extremely helpful). The hotel is in a great location and definately worth a return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeetayLenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.
I'm so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay for your birthday celebrations and the staff were attentive. I will certainly pass your comments onto Charlotte.
The Byron Suite is a lovely room and I'm happy to know that the facilities were "wow" as you describe.
I trust we will see you again and look forward to your next visit.
Kindest regards Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I've been staying at the Commercial for 3 years now - we descend on Chester every October in a group of about 20 blokes selling tools and everybody wants to be on the short list that can stay here. Sadly there's only five rooms so there's many disapointed faces.

The nightlife at the Commercial is fantastic, from Drum and Bass nights to Comedy - this week there was even an acoustic rendition of Blackstreet's "No Diggity". You probably won't want to leave the hotel, but if you do then you're in luck as it's right in the centre of the action. Town House (Lounge Bar) and Tropiero (Brazillian Restaurant) are only a short walk away.

Down-sides:-
No immediate parking but well worth a short walk.
Up-sides:-
Don't expect to get to sleep before 1pm!

Keep up the good work and see you all next year.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for Byron - Although the Wi-Fi doesn't reach there the creature comforts are brill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Joe, thank you for taking time to write your review - it's only taken 3 years ha ha!
It was a pleasure as always to accommodate you and your colleagues once again and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After a very professional and friendly booking meeting with the manageress earlier in the month, we were delighted with the outcome of our Hen Party evening on the 28th September 2013. Being aware that it was a races weekend and things would be very busy the staff at The Commercial pulled out all the stops to make sure our evening was what we ordered and more...........a great end to our day at The Races!!! Thank you so much to everybody who was involved, especially our very patient 'minion' (her choice of title). She worked so hard to make the evening a success.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Sue, thank you for your review.
It's lovely to hear that you and the girls enjoyed your day and that you all had a great day in Chester. Although it was a very busy day for us, I'm glad to know that The Commercial were part of a very special occasion for you, your friends and family.
I will pass on your well wishes to Hannah - The Minion! and I hope that will see you all again soon.
Kind regards Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

One of the better bars in Chester, but when it's nearest competition is The Victoria, Amber Lounge and Rosies this isn't saying too much! Chester is overpriced, everyone knows that, and things are no different here. Beer selection is good, however it's not uncommon for ales to be kept beyond their best which is reflected in the taste. I suppose the average customer here isn't that bothered with real ale, but if it's offered it should really be in good nick. This being said, a good night is usually guaranteed here. The music selection is good, aside from some questionable mixing from the DJs but at 1 in the morning no one's that bothered. Door staff can be objectionable at times but are usually reasonable. All in all I would recommend it to those after a good night out, but in my opinion is a few steps behind the quality of places like Telford's Warehouse, Alexanders, Church or The Cellar.

What does annoy me is the manageress' compulsive need to reply to certain negative comments by saying 'we're one of the busiest bars in Chester' and 'there's no pleasing everyone'. What's the point? She's obviously very proud of the bar, but comments like these are a little childish.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank techstepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear reviewer. Although your review if full of back handed comments I will take this as a positive. Thank you for making The Commercial your very first review. Best wishes Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is a lovely, informal hotel located in a unique position in the centre of Chester. The room was spotless and spacious. Hannah is a credit to the hotel; she made us extremely welcome and worked tremendously hard. We knew about the noise from the courtyard and bar as the hotel had the courtesy to phone in advance to explain and give us the chance to cancel. However, we joined in with the party atmosphere and still slept well! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savannah66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took time to write. I have passed your praise onto Hannah and the housekeeping staff.
I hope the next time you are in Chester The Commercial will be considered again.
Kindest regards Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed last night, hotel had charm as well as an event going on. it is in tge heart of Chester which is a beautiful City. I am biased as I used to go to the college back in 1988! The staff were excellent especially the lovely Rebecca. Nothing was too much trouble and I would go back there again. Corporate it is not but charming and location and staff wise excellent. Give it a try!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saffron1oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear David, thank you so much for taking time to write your review.
I trust your business trip was successful and we look forward to accommodating you again on your next visit. 2nd floor room next time though!
Best wishes Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chester Central
0.2 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#5 of 45 in Chester
1,193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commercial Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Address: Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £67 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation, a wide selection of drinks, the warmest of welcomes, the liveliest of atmospheres in the most exquisite of locations… ‘…A gem hidden in the heart of Chester…’ We have five beautiful double en-suite rooms, including a luxury 'Lord Byron suite', each with a book of poetry written by their namesake for your enjoyment during your stay. We have 3 high quality entertaining bars serving traditional ales, fine wines, superb spirits and fabulous cocktails. We attract a fun-loving clientele from 18-80, especially at weekends when our renowned resident DJs spin their collective mix of disco-dancing tunes. We will always ensure you are made to feel very welcome at the Commercial and we provide something for everyone, every day of the week! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Commercial Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant And Hotel
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant Hotel Chester
The Commercial Bar & Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing