We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“relaxing stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

really enjoyed my stay here with great entertainment and the music through the night was good too. Atmosphere was great and food was too will definitely be back again as the staff were very welcoming making you feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchestergirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Manchester girl, thank you for taking time to write your review.
It's great to read that you had a relaxing stay, even though we had entertainment on! I will pass on your comments to the staff, I have a great team and they will be happy to know guests like yourselves appreciate their service.
I trust we will see you again? Kind regards
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    80
    25
    21
    24
See reviews for
38
190
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Was planning a weekend away with my friend and found the hotel online, as I was after a city centre location.... Well the commercial hotel couldn't be more central, literally a ten second walk from the shops, which was great. Staff were so friendly and really made you feel welcome an nothing was too much trouble, helped up the stairs with our luggage,had an issue with the bedding being feather an being allergic, so new pillows and duvet were sorted for us straight away and helped us to change them over. Stayed in Keats and it was gorgeous, loved the dressing area and had a fab big bathroom with double sink unit, ideal for girls and all our products!!!! Had a few drinks elsewhere in Chester but ended up back here and really did seem the place to be with different bars, fab cocktails and tons of people and loved the fact that you were literally up the stairs to bed when the night was over. Breakfast was 8am-10am and literally only just made it for 10 and again wasn't a problem. Weather was lovely so wanted to have a little shop an was able to leave our cases and pick them up once done, which we did and were then kindly called a taxi and cases carried out for us. Amazing level of service and staff commitment, really would recommend this hotel, if you are after a lively fun filled weekend in Chester. Will deffo be back and are already planning a return visit in the Summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparklegirlxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Sparkle Girl, thank you so much for taking time to write such a detailed review.
It's lovely to read that every aspect of the bar and hotel was to your liking and that you are planning on another visit this summer. Please let us know when you book and I will arrange for the bedding to be changed for you in advance.
I will be delighted to pass your praises onto the staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights (Fri & Sat) in Feb and we had a fantastic time. A warm welcome by the bar staff and Rebecca the Manager showed us to our room which was the Keats room. Absolutely lovely with everything we could need and plenty of info and guidance on the hotel from Rebecca.
The breakfast was really good, all freshly cooked and the bar has a great selection of drinks.
We went out a lot in the evening but relaxed in the bar for a while before we went out one night and it's a fantastic venue, later upstairs when the DJ gets going try the cocktail bar, highly recommend the Patron Tequila!
The late music and general noise from the bar was not an issue and not overly noticeable on the third floor where we were but if your looking for a quiet night on Fri or Sat this isn't the place for you but I don't think any pub would be! They were very clear about the potential for noise in the evening with a phone call a few days before our stay to check we had all that we needed on info and to re-iterate about the possible noise; very clear on the website too.
My only reason for not giving this a 5/5 was that the shower could have been a bit cleaner but I freely admit I may be being a bit picky, the under floor heating made up for it though.
This is a gem of a place tucked off the main streets in Chester but right in the centre and if your looking for a good base for a weekend to enjoy the night life Chester has to offer we could not recommend this enough. If your not staying here but out in Chester anyway pop in for a drink you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stollie_stafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear guests. Thank you for writing such a detailed review of The Commercial, it's lovely to read such positive feedback.
Thank you for mentioning the showers, we are in the process of scraping out the seals and replacing them as they do look dirty quite quickly even after scrubbing!
We love to offer our guests, residents and customers a great night out and I'm so glad you embraced our ethos and enjoyed your time with us.
Best wishes and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic couple of days in Chester. Hotel was amazing and the staff very friendly and very helpful. We couldn't have asked for more. Will definitely be recommending it to family and friends. Thank you to all at the commercial hotel for making a stay such a good one.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, Front Office Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Vicky
Thank you for taking time to write your review. I will pass your comments onto the staff, they always like to hear about the good feed back.
Please do recommend us to your family & friends and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We needed a dog friendly hotel in Chester for a night. There was a special offer on the Byron Suite at the Commercial Hotel and I booked that after reading very positive reviews from other dog owners. The staff were very friendly and although we didn't have the need, I felt confident that had there been any issues, they would have done all they could to sort them out. The suite was excellent, good attention to detail (absolutely massive bathroom with underfloor heating, roll top bath, shower and double sink) - it is obvious that someone has taken pride in the design of this hotel. Maybe they could stick a few veggie sausages in the freezer so that they could provide a full English for the vegetarians :-) .... Other than that ridiculously minor point, I would definitely stay here again, with or without our pup.

Room Tip: The Byron Suite is just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write your review.
I trust your journey home went well and the new addition to your family has settled in?
If you are in Chester again, with or without the dog you are more than welcome.
Kind regards
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Lovely little place right in the centre but tucked away in a little court yard. Room was beautiful, we stayed in the Byron room. The staff were really friendly and made you feel welcome. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Wow Natasha, praise indeed. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife was looking to take me away to Chester and she asked me for some ideas on where to stay, i had done some research previously and i said that the Commercial had received some good reviews, so this is where we booked. From the first contact the hotel staff were excellent, with choice of room, parking and the whole booking experience was made easy.
We arrived early and we were shown to our room which was very nice, spacious & modern, we dropped our bags off and were about to depart for our shopping trip, when they gave us a insight into the shops and what was happening in the hotel that evening in terms of entertainment and breakfast etc, off we went to explore.
The entertainment that evening was a local group and they were quite good, the bar staff were excellent and made us feel very welcome and provided table service so i didn't even have to move to get another drink.
Breakfast was excellent and cooked fresh, with the food being a good quality, it was busy and i can only assume that they were full which is always a good sign.
Overall we had a great time and the hotel and the staff added to the whole experience, we had a gorgeous meal at "upstairs at the grill" and would recommend eating there if you like steak, but please book.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cifulikeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, Public Relations Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding The Commercial, staff and local restaurants.
Its always lovely for me to receive reviews such as yours and be able to pass them onto the staff.
We all enjoy working in such a fabulous building and it gives us a great boost when guests such as yourselves embrace the party feeling we strive to offer.
Chester is a beautiful city with a plethora of restaurants, you certainly dined at one of the best.
We trust it will not be the only time you visit us and look forward to your next stay.
Kindest regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 44 in Chester
1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commercial Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Property: The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Address: Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation, a wide selection of drinks, the warmest of welcomes, the liveliest of atmospheres in the most exquisite of locations… ‘…A gem hidden in the heart of Chester…’ We have five beautiful double en-suite rooms, including a luxury 'Lord Byron suite', each with a book of poetry written by their namesake for your enjoyment during your stay. We have 3 high quality entertaining bars serving traditional ales, fine wines, superb spirits and fabulous cocktails. We attract a fun-loving clientele from 18-80, especially at weekends when our renowned resident DJs spin their collective mix of disco-dancing tunes. We will always ensure you are made to feel very welcome at the Commercial and we provide something for everyone, every day of the week! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Commercial Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant And Hotel
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant Hotel Chester
The Commercial Bar & Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing