We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Italian Restaurant in the heart of Chester, one not to be missed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sergio's

Sergio's
Ranked #28 of 548 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian Restaurant in the heart of Chester, one not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

We have visited Sergios on a couple of occasions in the past have always enjoyed the meal, the atmosphere and the service. We certainly weren't dissapointed when we visited in January 2011. The service from the minute you book through to being greeted when you arrive and throughout your meal is excellent. The food was of a high quality and very good value for money. This is certainly a great Italian restaurant and one not to be missed.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RAEMEL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    854
    327
    108
    52
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“pleasant but average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

We recently visited sergios, as we had seen it while shopping and thought it looked a pleasant family run sort of a place. to be truthful it was an average experience. I have eaten in many Italian restaurants and felt the food didn't quite hit the mark, there was nothing really wrong just not special in any way, so we left wishing we had used our last evening in chester to visit elsewhere, sorry. On the plus side it was very cheap ;-)

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimkirkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Better going to McDonalds than eating here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

We were in the restaurant for the second time, first time was ok but this time was extremely bad, when we got to the restaurant and sat in our table took them 15 minutes to acknowledge us, and ask what we would like to drink, then after another 15 we got the menus and choose the food that arrived 1h30 afterwards with no explanation from the staff or the management, it was really bad food and the staff was extremely rude to us telling that the food took longer because we have ordered two courses instead of only one (like the tables around us that were eating the food eventhought they arrived afterwards). I WILL NEVER RECCOMEND THIS RESTAURANT TO A FRIEND UNLESS YOU WANT TO GET ANGRY BEFORE EATING YOUR FOOD.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crispu1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“tasty food if a bit dated presentation, What service????”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

My partner and I visited this restaurant on Sat so it may be a different story on quieter nights......

We were booked for 8 however we were running late and I called them at about 7.30 and was advised that this was no problem and not to rush.

upon arriving at the restaurant at about 8.40 we waited to be greeted which came in form of some kind of a "come here" gesture with his head we were not offered any drinks and left to fend for ourselves and then I stood waiting at the bar for nearly 15 minutes whilst the one barman struggled whilst who I assume was the owner played with the till next to him.

I dont think i have been seated on a more poorly postioned table in my life which basically was in the main passageway for the restaurant next to the waiters station even the table next to us was laughing at the situation and clear frustration on my face, any thoughts of a romantic evening had long evaporated.

the food menu was good with everything you would expect at an italian with a nice selection of fresh pizza's etc, the wine list was limited and the Amarone I ordered wasnt great however for £26 i didnt expect much else it would have been nice to have seen some of the more popular producers Italy has to offer we then poured it for ourselves for the rest of the evening..

The starters were lovely however the calamari was clearly ready made frozen example, my carbanara was lovely and the pizza was beautiful, the waitress that dealt with our food order and served us was fantastic. Our Fillet's were lovely however the chips were frozen Iceland examples and the veg was crap.

On the whole by the end of the evening we had an ok night however i still did not get a smile out of the "big" bouncer sorry concierge after handing him over £100 for a meal for two.

I would go back for a snack, NEVER for a nice romantic evening, maybe had the reception been better my opinion may have been slighty more positive.

Helpful?
Thank easydinerWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A traditional Italian family restaurant with excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

We visited Sergio's on the recommendation of the concierge at the Grosvenor Hotel, and although it was a Saturday race day and the place was heaving, and we had not booked, Sergio's managed to find a table for our party of three. To their credit, despite the fact that the place was packed with race-goers with more waiting, we were not rushed and the service was excellent.
The food is very good northern-Italian style - lots of sustaining pasta and meaty dishes. It was very well cooked and authentic (it could hold its own with the food you get in Venice, Bologna and Tuscany).
We went back on Monday and it was just as good.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GuineaThePig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sergio's also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Sergio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing