We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location but lacking service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice location but lacking service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

A lovely location and building but the service is just not quite up to the standard you'd hope. We'd booked a suite but (it being v.hot and summer) when we opened the window we found we looked onto the very noisy kitchen extractors. We asked to move and this took over an hour to sort out with us being shown 3 further rooms that all back onto the extractor fans, followed by 2 down graded rooms that the young man showing us tried to insist were the same grade, when they very obviously were not. Eventually we were given a suitable quiet room - but this shouldn't take so long and why are they surprised people ask to change rooms instead of listening to noisy extractor fans!! The room we eventually had was lovely, beautifully decorated and a good nights sleep. The food in the resturant was lovely; its just that there's something lacking in the service - a vague pointing at the stairs from the receptionist, staff chatting between themselves, waiting for bar staff to get a drink, only 1 breakfast waitress so empty juices, no glasses and food not cooked as ordered. I expected more - wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HobbsL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    207
    73
    36
    20
See reviews for
177
484
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

My daughter and now husband have just held their wedding at Rowton Hall
(31/07/2011) and I think it is only fair to give credit where it is due. From start to finish the staff were attentive, courteous and could not do any more for you, the food was outstanding (I really wish I would have more of the hog roast) the bedrooms were of a high standard. All of the guest who I have spoken to since, could not have given more praise
Anyone who is looking for a venue for their wedding, would do no better than Rowton Hall
To all concerned, many many thanks for making their day so special

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morrissey240962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

I was recently bought here as a special treat from my partner. he had organised for us to stay in a junior suite over looking the front gardens.
The suite was beautifully decorated, the reception team were most helpfull during our stay, nothing too much for them to organise, and the other staff where all friendl yand helpful (a service with a smile)
the spa and healthclub were kept to a high cleanliness and again the staff were very helpfull.
I will be returning to Rowton again hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pemberton-Jones2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed for one night on 30th July for a friend's wedding. The couple set up a wedding website which invited guests to book their room for the night through a link to Rowton Hall. We hesitated about spending £145 for a room for the night, but decided to book on the basis that we would be staying at the wedding venue and that it would be a well earned luxury break while we were child free.

The room was rather tired about the edges and was not in a £145 price bracket. It was also stiflingly hot overnight, which is a real bugbear with hotel rooms.

However, this is not why this review has been posted. In the morning, my husband made a casual enquiry about breakfast to be told that we were booked on a room only basis. It turns out that our booking had taken us through an agency and we had not only paid more than many others in the wedding party but were not entitled to breakfast!

Something had clearly gone wrong here and we complained to the manager. Despite the high amount we were paying - a B & B would have provided breakfast for a fraction of the price - he refused to budge, meaning that we, as part of the wedding party, who as a group must have spent a good deal of money with them the night before, had to sit and wait for the others to eat their breakfast while we went hungry. How much does a breakfast cost a hotel to make? The breakfasts were no doubt already prepared in any event and most likely what was left thrown away afterwards. Customer satisfaction and good service surely should have prevailed here rather than the manager's attitude in sticking to his guns.

Eventually he conceded tea and 1 piece of toast each, to be eaten outside. Even this had to be chased twice over the following half hour (hoping we would go away?) with our increasingly frustrated enquiries being met with wide eyed innocence by the reception girl as though we were from another planet in thinking we hadn't got a good deal for £145.

I did ask for a feedback form at this point - they say they don't do them. This would probably have saved them this review, but if there is no other way to complain....

It isn't a luxury hotel, our experience certainly wasn't luxurious - uncomfortably hot room overnight followed by going home hungry! My rating might have been 'average' but it was the lack of customer service which makes this poor. Good customer service is so important, doesn't cost much and is sadly lacking at this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JFitzDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here recently for a friends wedding and this was a fantastic venue. The rooms were a good size and very comfy. The food from the restaurant was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth_andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We had the great fortune to attend a wedding here and it truly was magical.The staff were awesome,nothing too much trouble.The rooms were spacious and clean - the bridal suite was awesome!The place was full of our lovely family including noisey kids and the staff were not phased at all.Imagine the setting a fairytale castle that you literally own for a day!What a great way to start your married life.One tip though your pint will set you back over £4 so be prepared!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSP50S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Attended the wedding and evening receptions of close friends, staying overnight. The hotel certainly made a super effort to make the day very special for the couple, everything was just right. The wedding breakfast was very enjoyable with good food and well served, overseen by the events manager.

The layout of the hotel lends itself well to a wedding with the function room, conservatory and garden all being available for the use of guests, supported by a good bar!

The overnight accomodation was also of high standard. Clean and tidy with a very comfortable bed, well appointed bathroom, with excellent shower and good storage space. We were located on the ground floor in a quiet corridor so there was no late night 'traffic'.

Breakfast the next morning was also good, excellent menu choice, and well served. All in all a really pleasant stay and although we live locally we'd be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProudCestrian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,251 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing