We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Amazing Wedding day”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Ellesmere port
1 review
“My Amazing Wedding day”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Ive recently had the pleasure of having my wedding at Rowton Hall, all I can say is WOW, from the first meeting with my wedding planner Ashlea to the day of my wedding (which went without a hitch), Ashlea was extremly helpful, knowledgable and nothing was too much trouble, she was always on the end of the phone answering any of my problems or queries, an absolute delight. I would recommend Rowton Hall to anyone looking for a day to remember for all the right reasons!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    211
    73
    37
    21
See reviews for
177
492
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed for one night as a last minute booking. I particulary liked being able to phone and speak to the hotel directly rather than some impersonal central call centre. It was a birthday surprise for my wife and they happily arranged flowers in the room for the same price I'd pay at a florists. The leisure facilities are fabulous, pool was warm and everything very clean. Our stay was mid week and the hotel was quiet which we liked. The service was excellent, food lovely with a good choice. All the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful with genuine smiles and whose native tongue was English. My wife is already planning a return visit with her sister for spa treatments which were excellent and certainly not over-priced. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I have been using this restaurant for more than 30 years and up to now have always found it reliable and good. However my last two visits have been such that I will not be returning.
Whilst the surroundings and staff cannot be faulted, what must be a new chef has belatedly discovered nouvelle cuisine. The last time I had dinner my fish main course
consisted of two walnut sized pieces of fish and the whole dish was no more than a 4 inch circle on a dinner plate.Our party was eating a la carte-we had two members who were diabetic and we asked if they could provide a dessert suitable for them.
When we came to dessert nothing had been done and a fresh fruit salad came with a suger syrup over it!!
The lunch starter was small but my main couse consisted of 5 bite size pieces of pork lined up with 4 small carrots and a piece of potato. It was not cooked very well but as a portion was totally inadequate
A glass of house red wine was not very nice and cost £4.75.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W9270BUjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

After reading the recent comments on Rowton Hall I thought that I would put my imput on my wedding day at Rowton.

After booking my wedding here everything I asked for I got, Ashlea was there at the end of the phone for my last minute panics and changes!! Her attention to detail really made my day special. The whole day ran smoothly, staff were more then accomidating and the whole day was perfect, the gardens of the hotel and location really have that wow factor. My whole family enjoyed there stay and were very well looked after, the rooms are beautiful and not you run of the mill plan white room! They each have character.

Do not hesitate do book this hotel for your wedding day! The hotel is beautiful and they take care of your every need!! I would like to thank all the staff for making my wedding so perfect.

tip: I went to the wedding fare before booking this hotel for my wedding and it gave me some great ideas for my wedding!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliviaEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We booked Rowton Hall hotel for our wedding day.We booked the exclusive use wedding package.This package includes exclusive use of the hotel for the day and all 37 bedrooms.
Ten day's before our wedding the so called wedding planner Ashlea contacted myself to go through our final details of our wedding day.It was at this point that Ashlea stated we did not have the agreed number of 37 bedrooms available to us as stated in our contract,instead we would only have 34 bedrooms as apparently we had sold the other 3 bedrooms to the wedding party getting married on the day after us.THIS WAS NOT TRUE.We had not agreed to this,however neither Ashlea nor the management at the hotel would rectify this.They had double booked and began to make their mistake my responsibility!!
Therefore it was left to myself to find alternative accommodation for 6 of our guests.
So as if this wasn't a bad enough mistake......Rowton Hall then continued their bad service on our actual wedding day!!
Myself and my bridesmaid arrived at the venue the afternoon before our wedding.When we arrived at reception we where told that help with are bagging and wedding things would be on it's way....This did not arrive therefore we carried all bags and boxes ourselves.
On the wedding day no menu cards where on the table.despite rowton hall sating they would provide these.
We had paid £37 pounds for one of our guests meals despite that the fact that she is unable to eat food due to health problems,we had informed Ashlea (the so called wedding planner) of this and had made arrangements for said guest to receive coffee throughout the meal instead of the food we had paid for....This did not happen instead out guest was charged for each coffee,at one time giving a waiter £5 for a coffee and never receiving the change!!
We paid for wine by the bottle only for this to be served by the glass,therefore we'll never know if we actually drank all the wine we purchased.
and last but not least our wedding cake supplier had made us an extra cake (besides our wedding cake) to be put out with the evening buffet.....This did not happen....we don't know what happened to the cake or it's tin....
So basically I wouldn't bother wasting £13000 on a wedding venue that could not care less about your special day!!!!
....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank neales22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Rowton Hall. On the coldest weekend of the winter it was warm and cosy throughout (we even had to turn the radiator in our room down), with a nice real fire in the very comfortable lounge.There was a good choice for breakfast. Dinner was only average, however - bits of gristle in the chicken 'amuse-bouche' and the game rather dry. Staff were friendly, but service in the restaurant just wasn't sharp enough - we even had to open our own wine (good job it was a screw top!). But the ambience was great, and the spa excellent. Good for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyvernian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My husband treated myself and our 3 daughters to a spa break at Rowton Hall. We had a fabulous time! The food and service in the hotel was excellent. The staff in the spa area were attentive and we thoroughly enjoyed the treatment packages that we selected.
The only time that we left the hotel was when we checked out!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,367 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing