We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food fab”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Food fab”
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

I am getting married here next year , I have now been for Sunday lunch twice the food is amazing and the service is outstanding I can't wait for my wedding now

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lauraandluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    213
    73
    38
    21
See reviews for
180
500
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My husband booked as a birthday treat sunday lunch at Rowton Hall. We had a wonderfull
afternoon.The three course set menu was outstanding in value,quality of food, and service.
I would highley reccomend the hotel to take family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed there for a wedding - we stayed as part of the wedding package. Let me first say that the setting was lovely and the staff were very helpful. The bed was a bit soft - but I am fussy about beds! The food at the wedding was excellent.
Now, to the problems. Firstly, for £100 for the night I was staggered to discover that breakfast was not provided. The second problem was that the navy themed wedding wad 50ml bottles of port as favours. We were told that is anyone opened one there would be a £2.50 corkage charge!!!!!!
Finally, the hotel advertises free wi-fi. I presume it is free as it does not work unless you are standing by the desk in reception, and even then it is hit and miss.

It is a pity that these things went some way to spoiling a perfect weekend,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stockportsaint1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I booked Rowton Hall last year for my husbands 40th birthday. With the help of the reception, staff who helped to arrange a few extras we had afternoon tea on arrival and a bottle of champagne chilling on ice in the bedroom. The room was beautiful - they had arranged a special room for us, which was beautifully decorated and had lots of character.

The meal in the evening was fabulous and after we relaxed in the beautiful bar area.

Rowton Hall is definitely well worth a visit for a special treat.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CEJWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed in the hotel for the spa package. The spa treatments and facilities were excellent. We had a lovely relaxing time, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
If your looking for a spa break then I would recommend Rowton Hall Hotel

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaHandleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

judged by a very critical group to be the best catered annual dinner we have experienced anywhere.
service & attention to detail was faultless,all our rooms were beautifully appointed, very individual (Henrietta & Lichfield particularly attractive & comfortable)
Breakfast was a tour de force...thank heavens for superb traditional sausages and PERFECT poached eggs.

Room Tip: Lichfield..ground floor beautiful expansive suite Henrietta..modern,first floor,lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salmoWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Just had a fabulous stay at rowton hall a dinner for over twenty people the food was amazing as was the service nothing was too much trouble and the attention to detail was exceptional our room was very comfortable and the spa was great -a perfect venue for family events and so close to Chester would definitely stay again thankyou

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,508 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing