We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & in need of attention”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Bedroom was nice enough but nothing special. Was pleased to find a balcony but disappointed to discover a side plate with tea bags and cigarette ends underneath a broken chair. There were flies on the windowcill in the bathroom & the shower pressure was dismal. The tv didn't work either & the carpets were grubby. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable & clean, the staff were attentive and the gardens were exceptional. Breakfast was lovely but expensive. A professional overall to the building itself and a thorough upgrade of the interior would be required to justify the existing tarrif.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fussyscotdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
There are newer reviews for Rowton Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

882 - 888 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Delighted with our stay for our first Wedding Anniversary.From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special by everyone at the hotel.Our room for one night was the Henrietta Maria Suite.It was absolutely stunning and the best room we have ever stayed in.The reception staff informed us that each of the 37 rooms have different styles.The pool area was lovely and very relaxing.All the staff were very helpful and friendly.Evening meal and breakfast were fantastic.We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I am currently staying at Rowton - and struggling to write a review! They are lucky to get 3 out of 5, but this is classed as "average" by TripAdvisor, so I guess they get away with it.

Trying not to get too annoyed by the negatives, this hotel is in an idyllic setting and is beautiful throughout, if you like the country-style retreat. There are spa facilities and guests enjoy a discount. Perhaps this is enough to warrant the £100 a night fee.

If you are a modern-day person, with the need/want to access the internet - forget about it... the free WiFi is not accessible from the rooms, where you are lucky if you get dial-up speed access to the web. If you like pristine, air-conditioned rooms - move on... the decor is a little dated in some rooms (we had a better room initially, but it was like a sauna and above the kitchen ventilation, so we moved).

Final note. Although staff were friendly, we were awoken at almost midnight by a fire alarm... there was no apology when we called to ask what was going on. The next day there was a cigarette butt outside our room (perhaps the cause of the alarm?), which caused me to look outside the fire exit door, where I found a make-shift smoking area. Not exactly what you would expect from a 4 star establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonnydh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I am getting married here next year , I have now been for Sunday lunch twice the food is amazing and the service is outstanding I can't wait for my wedding now

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank Lauraandluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My husband booked as a birthday treat sunday lunch at Rowton Hall. We had a wonderfull
afternoon.The three course set menu was outstanding in value,quality of food, and service.
I would highley reccomend the hotel to take family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank pjchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed there for a wedding - we stayed as part of the wedding package. Let me first say that the setting was lovely and the staff were very helpful. The bed was a bit soft - but I am fussy about beds! The food at the wedding was excellent.
Now, to the problems. Firstly, for £100 for the night I was staggered to discover that breakfast was not provided. The second problem was that the navy themed wedding wad 50ml bottles of port as favours. We were told that is anyone opened one there would be a £2.50 corkage charge!!!!!!
Finally, the hotel advertises free wi-fi. I presume it is free as it does not work unless you are standing by the desk in reception, and even then it is hit and miss.

It is a pity that these things went some way to spoiling a perfect weekend,

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stockportsaint1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I booked Rowton Hall last year for my husbands 40th birthday. With the help of the reception, staff who helped to arrange a few extras we had afternoon tea on arrival and a bottle of champagne chilling on ice in the bedroom. The room was beautiful - they had arranged a special room for us, which was beautifully decorated and had lots of character.

The meal in the evening was fabulous and after we relaxed in the beautiful bar area.

Rowton Hall is definitely well worth a visit for a special treat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CEJWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,318 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £109 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing