We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent lunch in a beautiful setting at a very good price!”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“An excellent lunch in a beautiful setting at a very good price!”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I visited this Hotel and Spa today with my wife and some members of our family for lunch. Their special offer is three courses for £26 for two persons and I will regret telling you all about this. Aperitifs in the bar, order taken at your table and called through to the dining room when the food is ready. Spotless white linen tables cloths and knapkins and great service from our waitress Julie. Five choices of starter, main course and sweet and really excellent food. The premises appears to be having a running refurb and the accomodation was excellent when I last stayed for a weekend wedding. I know I will regret this entry but what a lovely place to have a relaxed lunch at an unbeatable price with friendly and courteous service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnEF33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    213
    73
    38
    21
See reviews for
180
500
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We cannot find our review of the wedding on Fathers Day 2011, but having visited today to re-live the event we would like to say again what a very special day was made by Tony and his staff.Nothing was left to chance and the wedding,meal and evening will always be remembered with great joy.Thanks again.

Room Tip: no lift but the higher rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireSammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We held our wedding reception at Rowton Hall on Saturday 19th May and it was absolutely perfect! We can't thank all the staff enough for all their help before, during and after our special day. The food was excellent, the accommodation clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Nothing was too much trouble and the members of staff working on the day were polite, professional and very smart.

I would highly recommend Rowton Hall Hotel for a wedding reception, an overnight stay or a meal in their restaurant. We certainly were not disappointed!

We hope to visit again very soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Litchfield which is a Master suite and we were thrilled with the room. Really comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My husband and I live local to the hotel and went for dinner last night. The food was terrific and the service was exceptional. There are comments on here regarding the food being expensive. £20pp for three courses of delicious quality food is not expensive. Both my husband and I had the pate to start, I had salmon for main, he had the beef followed by creme brulee and pavalova for dessert. There were only a couple of diners in the restaurant which is a shame when local pubs serving sub standard food for pretty much the same price are packed! We will definitely be back and will spread the word to friends and neighbours.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CazStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Bedroom was nice enough but nothing special. Was pleased to find a balcony but disappointed to discover a side plate with tea bags and cigarette ends underneath a broken chair. There were flies on the windowcill in the bathroom & the shower pressure was dismal. The tv didn't work either & the carpets were grubby. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable & clean, the staff were attentive and the gardens were exceptional. Breakfast was lovely but expensive. A professional overall to the building itself and a thorough upgrade of the interior would be required to justify the existing tarrif.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fussyscotdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Delighted with our stay for our first Wedding Anniversary.From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special by everyone at the hotel.Our room for one night was the Henrietta Maria Suite.It was absolutely stunning and the best room we have ever stayed in.The reception staff informed us that each of the 37 rooms have different styles.The pool area was lovely and very relaxing.All the staff were very helpful and friendly.Evening meal and breakfast were fantastic.We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I am currently staying at Rowton - and struggling to write a review! They are lucky to get 3 out of 5, but this is classed as "average" by TripAdvisor, so I guess they get away with it.

Trying not to get too annoyed by the negatives, this hotel is in an idyllic setting and is beautiful throughout, if you like the country-style retreat. There are spa facilities and guests enjoy a discount. Perhaps this is enough to warrant the £100 a night fee.

If you are a modern-day person, with the need/want to access the internet - forget about it... the free WiFi is not accessible from the rooms, where you are lucky if you get dial-up speed access to the web. If you like pristine, air-conditioned rooms - move on... the decor is a little dated in some rooms (we had a better room initially, but it was like a sauna and above the kitchen ventilation, so we moved).

Final note. Although staff were friendly, we were awoken at almost midnight by a fire alarm... there was no apology when we called to ask what was going on. The next day there was a cigarette butt outside our room (perhaps the cause of the alarm?), which caused me to look outside the fire exit door, where I found a make-shift smoking area. Not exactly what you would expect from a 4 star establishment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonnydh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,508 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing