We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing Hotel - highly recommended!”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Beautiful hotel, lovely spacious clean rooms. The staff were polite and courteous from beginning to end, nothing was too much trouble. We were very late in arriving at the hotel due to our meeting over running. We were immediately greeted with a very warm hospitable reception and upgraded to a master suite. Due to our late arrival we were offered breakfast beyond the stated times which is very unusual, but very refreshing.

Of all the hotels we have experienced (which run into hundreds throughout the UK and overseas) this is by far the most personal and memorable experience we have encountered. We cannot wait until we return. We simply cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Don't take our word for it - seeing and experiencing is believing!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virtues2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we are delighted that you found our hotel beautiful and the bedrooms lovely and spacious. Our staff pride themselves on offering the best service and we are thrilled that you found them polite and courteous.

We look forward to you returning to us soon and thank you so much for recommending our hotel so highly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

897 - 903 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

My Son and his Fiance (now Wife) held their wedding reception at Rowton Hall on the 10 August, the staff were amazing, nothing was to much trouble, the whole day was fantasic.

The meal for the wedding 'breakfast' was super, although the morning breakfast could do with a bit of a 'tweak' to bring everything up to the 'five star' review. thank you thank you..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

We are delighted that your son and wife had such a fantastic wedding day and we will certainly pass your lovely comments onto the staff.

Thank you for your comments regarding our wedding breakfast, as for morning breakfast we have certainly looked into our breakfast service to ensure that all of our guests have a wonderful experience throughout their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Rowton Hall soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We booked my parents-in-law a night at Rowton Hall as a surprise golden wedding anniversay gift - the real surprise being that, unknown to them, a further 9 family members were also staying at the hotel with another 9 coming for a celebration dinner in the evening. As with any family occasion details of our booking changed numerous times but first Ashlea and latterly Rebecca at the hotel coped with our requests admirably. We had been made aware of there also being a wedding party in the hotel at the time of our stay but we were never made to feel that our booking was less important.
The family managed to keep the secret for almost a year and with some help from the hotel staff the first my parents-in-law knew about the rest of the family being there was when they walked into the lounge for a "pre-booked" afternoon tea.
The first of three minor niggles with our stay (and collectively the difference between a very Good and an Excellent rating) came with two of our six rooms still not being ready for us nearly an hour and a half after the 3pm check-in time.
Rowton Hall is in a beautiful setting and with a sunny afternoon we spent much of the afternoon sat outside. Some of us also made use of the excellent swimming pool and sauna facilities.
We had booked a variety of room types including a master suite and a junior suite. On checking in, one of our luxury doubles was upgraded to a junior suite which was very much appreciated. All of the rooms were beautifully decorated and although there were signs of wear in places this did not detract from the decor, cleanliness or comfort of the rooms.
Come the evening 20 of us assembled for our private dinner party in the Adams Lounge. The meal and service were excellent but with one disappointment (the second minor niggle) - the yorkshire pudding was missing from the roast beef - it turned out that the chef had burnt them! - not the end of the world I know but with several family members looking forward to their roast beef and yorkshire pudding it was quite a disappointment. We were offered an extra sorbet course by way of apology which I turned down but I did appreciate the gesture.
We retired to the lounge after our meal. You could hear the music from the wedding but being a large party ourselves this did not bother us. It might be a consideration however for a couple looking for a quiet evening in the bar. I was also aware of the wedding music when we went to bed but it did not disturb us.
We found our bedroom very warm so we kept our window open and had the fan running all night. Otherwise a very comfortable night's sleep.
Several of us went for a swim in the morning. A gret way to wake up and to work up an appetite for breakfast. The hotel staff had laid a large table for us in the restaurant and as we started to arrive the head waiter took our orders for tea or coffee and then our cooked breakfast. As more of us sat down however this process faltered and we ended up having to ask for orders to be taken (the third niggle). I have no doubt that the breakfast ordering process works much better with smaller tables.
We had visited 6 or 7 hotels in the Chester area when we were planning this event and we chose Rowton Hall for a number of reasons including location, accommodation and friendliness of staff. Everyone in our party had had a high expectation of the weekend and I'm pleased to say that I feel that those expectations were easily met by the hotel. Just keep an eye on those yorkshires!!

Room Tip: If there's a wedding on you may want to ask to be at the other end of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank instoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Our room was very near the disco and it was VERY loud in the room, so near-impossible to sleep until the music and bar had closed. Upon complaining, staff were unsympathetic and no partial or full refund was offered or given. Staff also talked about guests negatively, within hearing of other guests. Also, no under 6's allowed in swimming pool, not good for young families! Lovely hotel, lovely food, but not good for young families and poor customer service.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from reception area if staying with small children or during an event.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sntraveller2516231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay with us. Unfortunately your room allocation was out of our control as the bride and groom booked the hotel on an exclusive use basis, whereby they allocate the rooms themselves and we are unable to re-allocate the rooms, as we follow the bride and grooms wishes. Also, with regards to the noise levels the bride and groom organize the entertainment for the evening and again with them having the exclusive use package they can stipulate the noise levels as it is only their family and friends within the hotel.

However, with this said we have taken your comments into consideration and we are truly sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us.

We do hope that you would consider returning to Rowton Hall in the near future, when there is not a function taking place, and you can experience our personal attention to detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

As a little girl you dream of your wedding, finding the perfect man, the perfect dress and the perfect venue. Well I had 2 of those 3 things and Rowton finished off my hat trick. This really is the fairy-tale venue that you imagine when you are growing up.

Rowton was one of the last venues we visited around the Wrexham and Cheshire area and we really did save the best to last. My father has already written a review below Peter S but I wanted to give a brides perspective. From the minute we met Keith and Tony they were warm, hospitable and we didn’t just feel like a number like we had done in other places. Every request we had was met by a yes.

Once we had decided to go with Rowton, we were assigned Victoria as a wedding coordinator we can’t thank her and praise her enough, she was fantastic. She replied promptly to emails and stayed in work late to meet us and run through details. She made the whole process of planning a wedding very enjoyable as I had complete confidence in her and I didn’t have to worry about the venue or the food etc. Every request we had whether it was different meals for guest with dietary needs, Fireworks, looking after the band she dealt with.

Our wedding was on 28th July 2012 and we had the most fantastic day! The weather was glorious and stayed sunny for us all day, we were very lucky. The staff on the day were all very friendly and went out of their way to make our day special. We had our drinks reception outside and the staff circulated with drinks and canapés.

Originally we were meant to be looked after by Keith, but some hard sunbathing meant he was out of action (hope the feet are ok now) instead we were met by Kirk who was wonderful. He met us out the car with arrival drinks and introduced himself and we instantly felt at ease.

We had exclusive use of the hotel meaning our guests could enjoy all areas, I would highly recommend this option as you feel like Rowton is yours for the day. The exclusive use of the bedrooms was great and meant our guests could all stay over. The bedrooms were gorgeous and spacious and received rave reviews from our guests.

The food was fantastic, the cheese and onion tart being one of the best things we have eaten in a restaurant, and despite the mass catering for 110 people, it was all served hot and delicious. The speeches were introduced by Kirk who was a great toast master. We ran over during the speeches and the night guests were arriving but Rowton just altered all the timings without any stress and informed myself and my husband of the new timings. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

The Night do brought a great band (Live Wires) who have played many times at Rowton before, they were incredible and a gorgeous hog roast. Kirk guided us through cutting the cake and our first dance before organising everyone out onto the lawn to watch the fireworks.

Finally after a night of partying myself and my husband left to bed and Keith was there offering us a glass of champagne on our way to bed, it was a lovely touch which confirmed why we had chosen this gorgeous venue. We stayed in the Lichfield suite which was stunning and was located on the ground floor which was perfect after a long day.

We couldn’t recommend Rowton enough. We are so glad we picked this beautiful venue. From the staff to the grounds to the hotel and food it really was the perfect venue. A special thank you to Tony, Victoria, Kirk and Keith we really felt you went that extra mile to make our day such a special one.

For all you lucky brides to be out there, I would seriously recommend looking at Rowton, the pressure of organising the best day of your life is severely lifted when you trust that the venue will be perfect. Despite Rowton having over 20+ weddings a month you never once feel like you are a number, for that one day they make you feel like a princess.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lambornecourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

First and foremost, a heart felt welcome to all the staff at Rowton Hall for making our day so magical. As most brides you worry about everything turning out properly, but I left everything in their very capable hands and couldn't have imagined it to be any better. Everything was taken care of and if there were any hiccups I was totally unaware of them and the day couldn't have gone better.

The grounds are beautiful, this was no doubt enhanced by the glorious sunshine from start to finish. The food was fabulous and nothing was too much trouble.

Thank you to all at Rowton Hall for making our day a memorable one for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Our last visit here was an odd one when most of the regular staff were away on their Xmas treat, so when invited to a wedding we hoped they weren't away for the summer!
Everything went very well indeed and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful. They coped admirably when the heavens opened and everyone had to come in from the lovely garden too.
Our room was large, on the ground floor in the newer part, comfortable & beautifully presented.
The day felt as though it had been spent at a lovely home, it was so personal.
When getting this type of event so right management could take the time to look closer at the smaller details - when offering a buffet with salads why only leave a fork to serve it with, it slows the process down. Having lovely rooms with patio doors leading to a small garden terrace why not throw away last years broken chair from it, clean the floor & replace a couple of garden
seats?

Room Tip: Check they've tidied up those garden room patios & if so enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan43_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,751 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,224 reviews
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.6 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £84 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing