We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Time,Very Handy for Chester City”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely Time,Very Handy for Chester City”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Had a really nice time, lovely room and good food, staff very friendly and attentive.Shame it was so quiet, bad weather not helping.
Handily placed for a quick drive into the city.
Hubby had a very good early morning swim and was impressed with the facilities.
Only one thing marred the visit....the towel rail in th en-suite was inadequate to heat the room in the cold temperature.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine191255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted that you has a really nice time, and thought that the room was lovely with good food and friendly staff.

The team are also aware of the radiator not being as hot as is should be and I can confirm that this matter has now been resolved.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall, maybe when the weather is warmer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    220
    77
    38
    22
See reviews for
185
513
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We chose Rowton Hall for a 4 night break in January 2013 after a very busy Christmas but enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night. It's quiet location belies its accessibility to Chester, which is a wonderful city well worth exploring. We found the general ambiance relaxing and 'unstuffy' the staff to be professional but friendly, the restaurant to be very good and reasonably priced and the swimming pool and spa to be beautifully clean and well equipped. We booked the Marmaduke suite, a lovely room with dual aspect but housing the only disappointment of our stay - THE BED!. Despite a lovely thick mattress topper It was lumpy and the bump in the middle effectively turned it into two singles. All in all though we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you so much your wonderful comments and we are delighted that you had a lovely mini break here at Rowton Hall.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel & Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed there for three nights on a company conference, have to say, you expect a certain level for these events, but the Rowton exceeded all expectations.
I had a very classy room, food was very good, staff were first class, very helpful and very friendly.
I intend to return with my wife for a weekend to explore the Chester area.
Thank you Rowton Hall.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay whilst attending a conference here.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel & Spa, and to also meet your wife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We just wanted to say a huge thank you to all of the staff at Rowton Hall for making our wedding day so special! It was the best day of both of our lives. All of our guests absolutely loved the venue and the food. Everything was perfect and we couldn't ask for anything more. Thank you, Diane and Henry

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Diane & Henry

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and we are delighted that you had such a fantastic wedding day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We have used this hotel for two short breaks over the last year. Each time booking a suite and using the restaurant for dinner and breakfast.
The hotel is very attractive and really sets a mood in which to escape relax and unwind. I can see why so many people choose to have their wedding here. The place was set up ready for a wedding on this visit and it looked very nice.

The service through out our stay on both visits was excellent. Professional, friendly and attentive service in the bar and reception.
The check in and out was also excellent.

Breakfast offered a nice environment with great service and good quality food.

Our evening meal again afforded some great personal service from well trained staff, it's so good to see this. The evening meal was well prepared and good quality, other than a very disappointing christmas pudding which didn't deserve to still be offered in January

In so many ways this hotel deserves 4 or 5 stars but I rate it lower as we find the rooms a bit disappointing and failing to match the standards in all other parts of this lovely hotel. On both occasions the suites we stayed in were tired, a little tatty and unsuitably maintained. I would also expect the decor to demonstrate more style and quality considering the price paid, they just felt dated and a bit cheap to be honest. Examples, old cheap kettle, very basic tea and coffee, tiny tv, no bath products despite having a nice bath, damage and wear in many parts of the bathroom and bedroom.
The positives were free wifi that worked and a comfortable bed

In summary we both like visiting here but the dining is much more memorable than the stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you ever so much for your kind comments regarding our staff, hotel, restaurant and wedding facilities here at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa.

With regards to our bedrooms I will certainly pass on your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We had our wedding at Rowton in October and cannot say enough great things about this beautiful place. The staff made our lives so easy on the day, were a joy to have around us, right up until the last drinkers went to bed at 5am! Food was outstanding and everyone commented on it. We stayed the night before our wedding too and had friends for a private dinner, which was excellent. Thank you so much for giving us a perfect wedding weekend Rowton, especially to Victoria who helped us plan, and to Kurt and Keith on the day- you guys were fab x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VixBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
We are delighted that you had such a fantastic wedding day here at Rowton Hall Hotel & Spa. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Rowton Hall Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at Rowton on 7th December and had the most amazing day! We can't recommend this venue enough! Massive thanks to all the staff for making it such a fantastic day for us including Tony, Rebecca and Keith! Nothing was too much trouble and we have been inundated with compliments from our guests about how lovely the venue and the food was! The day went perfectly thanks to all the brilliant staff!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Lucy & James

Thank you ever so much for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you had an amazing wedding day!

I will certianly pass on your feedback to Tony, Rebecca, Keith and the team.

Have a fantastic 2013 and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,237 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing