We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of perfection”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Attended avert. Special birthday party here - about. 100 or so guests
Staff fabulous nothing too much trouble - hotel beautiful and full of charm
Food lovely and amazing service for large party - just wonderful

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farndonites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

We hopefully look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

836 - 842 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

Stayed for 2 nights using KGB deal it was great value. The room was warm clean and comfortable. TV and phone in bathroom. Toiletries smelt great although fixed up on wall not easy to reach without standing when relaxing in the bath!! Tea and coffee in room. Breakfast cooked to order and very tasty and well presented. Dined in both evenings as food was delicious and well presented staff were very pleasant and efficient. £3 for a J20 bit steep even by hotel standards. The lounge /bar was a friendly comfortable room to meet in before dinner.
Did not use spa facilities but they looked good. Would not hesitate to recommend trying this hotel to friends and family. Felt relaxed after my much needed break. Thank you

Room Tip: Room 5 very comfortable and warm but floorboards SQUEAK annoyingly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BACNYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted that you have a great mini break here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you along with your family and friends to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A beautiful old-yet-classy hotel. My wife and I stayed in a junior suite for a 2 night stay and had a great time. Their breakfasts were excellent. We used the spa too, and also opted for a massage each. All the the facilities are clean and inviting.

All staff were exceptional especially Charlotte at the main desk. She helped us out with a plumbing problem and gave us an upgrade to the main suite for or second night. Great customer care. We'd happily go back there again if / when the chance arises.

Room Tip: If you an afford it, the main suite is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A17OOJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you so much for your fantatisic review. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team, especially to Charlotte.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My wife and I enjoyed the hotel spa and the rooms were very comfortable, although our key card failed twice on two separate occassions during our weekend stay which was a little frustrating. The spa facilities are excellent and there is a very good gym area with an indoor swimming pool, steam room and sauna.

We had dinner in the bar area on the first and second evening. The service was very good on the first evening but sloppy and slow on the second evening. Unfortunately, the same could be said for the breakfast service. The reason why I thought that the service was sloppy was mainly due to a general lack of attention to detail. For example, on the second evening, I was not given a steak knife for my steak, the bottle of red wine was not opened and poured for us after being delivered to our table and, there were items on our bill that had not been ordered by us, although this was corrected by the staff at our request. At breakfast, there was no butter served with the toast, no milk was served with the coffee and the service was generally quite lethargic.

Having said this, in the context of the other reviews on Tripadvisor, it seems as if our experience of poor service is a rare occurence.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyronedmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your visit. I am sorry to hear about the level of service that you experienced on your second evening, this is not to our usually high standard and I can only apologise, I will certainly forward your comments onto the team. As you have mentioned looking at other reviews your experience of poor service is a rare occurence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Purchased a 2-night KGB deal, for my husband's birthday. The reception was little bit dated but to be expected for an 18th Century Building. We were allocated a double room on the second floor just note this hotel does not have a lift, not suitable for disabled people. The room was pleasant clean and has mod con's, a TV and telephone in the bathroom. Complimentary bottles water and buscuits, slippers and bath robes. Trouser press, hairdryer and safe in the wardrobe. If you stay on a weekend (Fri-Sun) you will be charged a £20 per night supplement. The breakfast is fabulous, and even though baked beans are not on the menu ?? if you ask for them you will get them. Evening meal and Spa facilities a bit pricey, the swimming pool, steam and sauna and small jucuzzi are all free of charge. The town is only 10-15 drive away with all kinds of eating places. We found a fantastic Chinese/Malaysian restuarant called The Slow Boat, it's down town (10 mins drive) above Iceland (you can park in Iceland carpark,after 7pm its free). You can eat as "much as you can" for £18.95 per person, called Full Belly Weekend. The menu has 25 starts and 25 mains to choose from. The resturarant can get full, fast so phone in advance and book a table. Check out the Blue Planet Aquarium, only 15 minutes drive from the hotel, great for adults and children. Chester Zoo is brilliant too, both places roughly cost the same.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor to avoid stairs no lift available. On the whole we found this hotel to be quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuels_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that your husband had a good birthday. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our bedrooms and spa facilties. With regards to your comment regarding disabled rooms I would like to confirm that we do have ground floor rooms available for those who are disabled or need assistance, at time of booking we advise that guests request these rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

my husband and i went for a meal at Rowton hall. The food was fantastic and the staff really friendly. I would 100% recommend to go. Tne value of the food was very good. And i would say it was defiantly a 5*....

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank amy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you so much for your review and for saying that we are defiantly a 5*, it is lovely to hear.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We found this hotel deal on kgb. We expected a luxury deal but were given a room that appeared basic.
The bathroom was a tight squeeze, the soap dispenser did not work and unusually for a bathroom it had a tv which did not have access to the main channels. The pillows were well used and uncomfortable, the blinds were broke. I ordered some fresh milk that didnt arrive.
However the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you found our staff freindly and the breakfast enjoyable. With regards to the KGB deal the accommodation included is one of our double rooms, these are the smaller rooms in the hotel however they are all of a good size, indivdually designed and have all of the modern ammenties available (as mentioned it other reviews)

We are sorry that you found the soap dispenser did not work, along with the tv in the bathroom and blinds, we do have a full housekeeping and maintenance team that inspect the rooms daily and if any comments are made on the day they will be actioned with immediate affect.

With regards to our pillows we do have a selection of pillows avaiable from reception.

We look forward to hopefully seeing you again at Rowton Hall soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,414 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £100 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Rowton Hall Chester
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing