We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good few days”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good few days”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here for a few nights to enable me to be close but not in Liverpool. Loved the hotel food was very good, found the room OK. Very clean. All the staff professional & polite. Close to Park & Ride into Chester. Good Parking at the Hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    212
    73
    37
    21
See reviews for
177
495
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Booked the Spa overnight break without knowing too much about Rowton Hall Hotel. Welcomed with warmth and information. Upgraded our room because it was a birthday treat. Beautiful hotel, bedroom and on-suite very tasteful.
Dinner was very tasty, the staff very experienced and friendly. They grow their own veg/salad
Breakfast good.
Spa treatments excellent.
Afternoon tea lovely.
Steam room out of action
It would be great to have sun beds out on the back lawn. Hay ho can't have everything. Plus the weather has only just improved, so maybe they do have them.

Room Tip: We had room 31. I am sure all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you so much for your great review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your overnight spa break with us.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for two nights on a KGB deal and it was great. The deal included breakfast both days and two spa treatments each for me and my partner. Both of which were fabulous. The women working in the spa were knowledgable and professional and extremely helpful. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was of a high standard yet reasonably priced. All in all a lovely hotel and all staff very professional. Would definitely stay again, thanks Rowton Hall!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic0lajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are delighted that you had a lovely stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights through a KGB deal. It was one of the best deals we have ever had. The Hall was beautiful, the gardens fabulous. The staff were at all times very polite and professional and always willing to help. The food was fabulous. The room perfect.
In all faultless!!! Well done Rowton Hall. Hope to see you in the near future.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems request a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S1u2e3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you had a fabulous stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel with a spa day experience too. The girls who work in the spa were fantastic and very welcoming. With the spa day I got to use all the facilities that the health club have. The manager was so professional. I was explaining to him how I'd like to tone up and he gave some great advice. Not too sure of the names but All the staff are friendly and the rooms and quality of the food is undoubtably good. I highly recommend this hotel and its facilities to anyone. A friend of mine is also staying here in may.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loopylouise1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at Rowton Hall Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed here for a night on a business trip. Thoroughly recommend the hotel, very clean comfortable rooms, polite and attentive staff.

The evening meal was very reasonable priced (14.95 GBP) for two courses and was wholesome and tasty!

To cap it all Ronny the waiter served me throughout the evening with style, finesse and charm! Although the restaurant was full he was attentive at all times and even apologised when I waited for him to return with a bottle of water. Well done Ronny!! You will go a long way in the hotel trade!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owenlloyd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are delighted that you had a good stay. I will certainly pass on your comments to team with Ronnie in particular.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I booked this on a KGB deal for my wife's surprise 50th get away. We booked for 2 nights from Wednesday 3rd to Thursday 4th of April '13, on a B & B basis and an hour long full body massage each.
First the hotel, it was very clean well presented and very inviting. We felt welcomed and relaxed as soon as we walked through the door. Our bedroom was warm and very nice although our security safe was broken. Yes there was a TV in the bathroom but we didn't use it.
Their staff in the restaurant and bar were so helpful, polite and always served you with a smile. Which carried on even when you bumped into them around the Hotel.
The food was very very good and I would question anyone who said they were still hungry after a meal, evening or breakfast. We ate in on both nights because the food was good and if your a coeliac like my wife you need not worry they were superb in taking care of her.
The spa, well the pool was like a bath and after a few lengths all you wanted to do is lie back and sleep.
The girls who gave us the massages were so charming and attentive and the setting/rooms were cosy and so relaxing. Well done girls we loved it.
If I had one small complaint it would be aimed at the girls who came in to help clear the breakfast tables on Friday morning because they obviously didn't like doing it by the looks on their faces. They should take note on how the lads take care of the guests and learn, especially the one with a trouser suit and dark hair.
I read the reviews after I booked the hotel and all I can say is that you will never please every one.
Thanks again for a lovely couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted that your wife had a good 50th.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing