We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent......”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

I booked a two night stay for myself and my partner for a well earned break....the visit to Rowton Hall lived up to our expectations! The hotel and grounds were excellent and all the staff were attentive and couldnt do enough to help us. We really enjoyed the pool sauna and steam facilities. We arrived on the sunday so the hotel was lovely and quiet. Would recommend a stay at Rowton Hall to recharge your batteries and feel thouraghly spoilt. We will definitely return.. many thanks Angela and Glenn room 39

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LNK864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

Went for 2 nights (Sunday & Monday) in June on a KGB deal.

Lovely hotel, lovely staff - who bent over backwards to make your stay a wonderful experience.

Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you had an excellent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We found this hotel by accident whilst travelling back from viewing another in Chester.funnily enough the road leading up to Rowton hall is promise land lane how apt!!.after turning up unannounced on a busy Saturday afternoon the manager himself found time to show us around his gorgeous property.We decided after seeing many others that this was perfect for us and if the service could match the venue then we would have struck gold.
The day itself started off with us turning up to see that they had recently planted lots of new flowers in and around the grounds and the place looked like a fairy tale.
We started of with the ceremony in the amazing function suite with bright walls,huge chandeliers and glass doors that backed on to a lovely classy conservatory.
Tony the manager greated the groom personally and got hands on in making sure that the final preparations including the food,cakes,musicians,were all ready and even down to noticing that our carpet that we had ordered didn't have the wow factor and changed it to one he had already stored,a beautiful long red carpet for no extra cost.The reception drinks and meal can only be described as classy rosette quality and the service more than matched those standards.
Our day ran so smoothly we could never have wished for a better location,venue,and team to make this possible.
A special mention to all the staff at Rowton hall but in perticular Tony who helped build our menu,organise the day and made us feel like family.Anyone wishing to speak to us or see any of our pics of the day contact Tony at Rowton hall and we would be happy to tell you all about our experience.
Once again thank you to Tony and your amazing team,all our love Clive and Sarra xxx

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarraandclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you so much for your fantastic wedding review.

We are delighted that you had such a great day and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel for many year's to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed at the Rowton Hall Hotel for a wedding, but stayed for 2 nights, amazing staff, so helpful, and the wedding, was AMAZING, helped by all the staff....180 sat down for the wedding breakfast, which was delicious...as was breakfast...recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pineapplelover60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you enoyed your stay here, along with the wedding reception.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed here in june for a few nights as we were in need of a little rest and relaxation. We were a little disappointed to find that there was a wedding on that we were not aware of. Our room was very close and we were concerned by noise. When we questioned this at reception they immediately moved us to another room which more than met our needs. It was really well kitted out, combining old world and modern design effectively. It overlooked the lovely grounds and was ideal. We were given the opportunity to see other rooms by the maid and were hugely impressed both by their quality and individuality.
Unfortunately when we arrived a major power surge blew out the systems in the spa area resulting in it having to close down for part of our stay. We approached the manager as this was one of the main reasons that we had come to the hotel. We had barely started to express our concerns when he offered us a complimentary stay at the hotel on a future date that would suit us. His whole approach was based on customer care. From that point on he went out of his way to ensure that our stay was as perfect as possible. This was not only true of us but for all the residents. He went out of his way to check things were ok and ensure any problems were sorted out quietly and efficiently. He introduced us to the owners who were delightful people fully involved in running the hotel. These people people were not managers locked in an office but active involved and efficient members of staff who were visible at all times. They shared in jobs at all levels from management down through to cleaning the pots and this gave them an awareness of the value of their staff. This in turn was reflected by the attitude of the staff to the residents of the hotel. Every member of the staff from the gardener upwards went out of their way to ensure that we had an enjoyable stay an were eager to help sort out any problems. The hotel is in a great location just outside Chester giving opportunity for shopping and site seeing. It is also surrounded by beautiful countryside giving opportunities for wonderful walks along the Shropshire union canal or even parts of the Sandstone trail.
We ate at the restaurant on both nights of our stay and were amazed by the value. The restaurant offered a two course meal or a three course meal valued at £15 or £19. There was a choice of five items for each part of the meal and the quality of the food was very good. The wine list is extensive meets every bodies needs.
I cant think of a more relaxing and enjoyable short break we have had in 20 years. I would warmly recommend Rowton to everybody. We experienced 3 weddings during our stay . All very different but all catered for magnificently by the staff of the hotel ensuring that the days passed enjoyably for all involved. Well done everyone at Rowton Hall,

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philipneale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My wife and I got married at Rowton Hall on 27th April and we had an amazing day thanks to the efficiency and diligence of Rowton Hall and the staff.
Prior to the wedding Rowton met with us to go over the details for our wedding and left no stone unturned. Questions over email were answered swiftly and we felt in really good hands even before the day.
The staff worked hard to ensure our guests were looked after before the ceremony and the master of ceremonies Keith went through everything with me before the ceremony and made sure we were happy throughout the day. He really knows how to do his job well! making sure we were happy with the wedding breakfast layout before guests entered the room, checking with us to ensure the lighting and temperature in the room was right and ensured that staff helped turn the room around for the evening in record time!
Every guest paid such good complements about the food - big portions and great quality. They even catered to our specific theme for the evening buffet, which was again received so well by us and our guests.
We took the exclusive use package, which I would highly recommend. Having a large number of guests it was fantastic that so many could stay over for the night.
The only slight downside was that the weather wasn't good enough for guests to be outside for the drinks reception and the conservatory is quite a tight space for the bride and groom to circulate amongst circa 100 guests.

Room Tip: The master suites are all great quality. For a bride and groom I'd recommend the Lord Bryon for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nottles82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are delighetd that you had such a fabulous wedding day with us. I will certainly pass on your comments to Keith and the team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Rowton Hall soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Recently attended a wedding here and I will be advising all of my friends to avoid this venue. I was disgusted to learn what this hotel charges per head considering the poor level of service. Over 100 guests and the catering fell well short of the mark, not enough food and of very poor quality. The hot sausage barms were under cooked. The price of alcohol was a joke and the bar service was chaotic. For what this all cost, the attention to detail was severely lacking.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Ella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Owner at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

The bride and groom from this wedding were delighted with all of the arrangements throughout including food and service. The mother of the bride was embarrassed that a number of people, who had drunk to excess, had taken ridiculous amounts of bacon and sausage baps, to the point that she apologised and ordered a further 8 trays.

Looking at your other reviews you are obviously happy with in a pub environment and we would be most pleased if you keep your word and never come to our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,753 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,230 reviews
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.6 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £83 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing