We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A hotel haven, very peaceful, beautiful country hotel with excellent helpful staff. Lovely surroundings, very relaxing, even the dog loved it! Excellent spa facilities. The menu focussed on high quality ingredients expertly cooked. It was all delicious but we particularly enjoyed the Bar food. We hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

782 - 788 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed for two nights and had an amazing time. The staff were brilliant and extremely polite, helpful and genuine. The food was absolutely gorgeous and good value in the evenings. The facilities were great - we spent some time in the pool, sauna and jacuzzi. A short distance to Chester zoo which was a great day out too. The hotel was clean and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickiMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We attended my sisters wedding here. The service from all the staff throughout was excellent. The food served for the wedding breakfast was very good. The bridal suite was big and well designed and our room very comfortable, although the view from our window was not the prettiest! One critisism is about the stairs up to the bedrooms on the first floor. A few people tripped over the bottom step and that was before the drinks started flowing!!

However, all in all, we had an excellent day and evening and I would recomment it as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unicorn956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your sister's wedding here. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My family and I were really excited at the prospect of attending a wedding at the Rowton Hall Hotel and in many ways we were not disappointed.

The wedding couple had meticulously planned everything to ensure everyone had a wonderful time and their vision and creativity in choice of flowers and decoration made for a beautiful and breathtaking setting for the ceremony and reception. Their attention to detail and extra touches ensured it was a unique and magical day and we felt privileged to be part of a truly memorable experience.

Unfortunately, a few small niggly problems soured our view of the Hotel somewhat and we would like to warn others thinking of booking the Hotel for their wedding.

On the plus side, the Hotel has bags of character and is set in its own grounds with beautifully kept gardens, staff were friendly and helpful, although reception could have been more accommodating in releasing our room which they knew to be ready.

The wedding couple had opted for the Hotel’s wedding package, which included block booking bedrooms. We had expected the Hotel to have the bedrooms ready before the ceremony, however, it transpired that access was not guaranteed. The wedding day turned out to be one of the hottest days of the year and we were faced with the dilemma of either coming dressed for the occasion and arriving hot and dishevelled, or gambling on being able to access our room to change and arrive refreshed for the ceremony. We made the latter decision and could not access our bedroom on arrival.

Another niggle was the Hotel’s policy on cot provision. Based on other Hotels we had stayed in, we had assumed a cot would be provided free of charge, however, Rowton Hall’s policy is to charge £20.

The bedrooms were various sizes and standards, although all had a set charge. Our son’s room was small, stiflingly hot, with an un-inspirational view. Whereas ours was of a reasonable size, with a good view over the gardens and in fairly good order, although the telephone seemed not to work [we tried the telephone in our son’s room and his seemed not to work either]. Our bathroom, although clean, needed attention, as it had mould on the edges of the bath and tiles, with a strip of mould covered sealant hanging loose and a water damaged bath panel. The biggest issue though was that bedrooms were not air conditioned [although some public rooms were] and our room was unbearably hot, even with the fans provided by the Hotel.

The wedding couple and their immediate families stayed the night before the wedding on a bed and breakfast basis. They had understood the wedding night accommodation was exactly the same deal and communicated this to us. Unfortunately, this was not the case and when we went to check out we were charged an extra £9.50 each for continental breakfast [cooked breakfast was £12.50], despite our protests.

Would we go back? Probably not, based on the lack of air conditioning in bedrooms and the Hotel’s intransigence over breakfast.

This is my first negative Trip Advisor review.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger bedrooms overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mbandtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Owner at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

In response to your ‘beware’ review and comments, “one would of expected the hotel would have the rooms available for checkin before the civil ceremony” is both unreasonable and unfair. It was made very clear to all parties that our check in time is 3.00pm and check out time is 11.00am, as in most hotels. This timing is essential to ensure that the necessary housekeeping is attended too, so that we can maintain the cleanliness of our rooms. We are in the fortunate position where we host 120 weddings a year and this problem has not happened with other weddings.

I also believe that you are unfair and unreasonable in commenting on the charge for a cot. A cot needs to be maintained and sanitised after each stay, and on arrival we provide freshly washed linen. The people involved in carrying out these tasks and placing the cot in the room all have to be paid a wage and the charge incurred barely covers the costs.

I think the real issue that brought you to write the review was that a number of guests including yourselves thought that the breakfast charge of £9.50 should be included within the rate. The bride and groom reserved the hotel on an exclusive use package whereby they sell the rooms to their guests. They had set a price of £100.00 room only (often wedding couples charge £135.00/£145.00) which is below the hotel rack rate. In my opinion they have been generous in the rate as thy had reduced the night stay below our rack rate and had chosen not to include breakfast within the rate. We have received another negative comment on TripAdvisor, which is not as eloquent as yours, but I think that you have been unfair to the hotel.

I am saddened by your review and we like to think that we give an honest and fair picture to all bride and grooms when arranging their weddings about our checkin and checkout times, which are universal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We held our daughter's wedding here recently and it all went off perfectly. The venue is ideal as you can use the lovely grounds if the weather is good and there is plenty of space inside if it's poor. There is a sizeable ballroom for the main event, a separate Inglenook room for a buffet, a large lounge bar and a very pleasant conservatory.

We were lucky to have superb weather so our guests enjoyed sitting and moving around the lawns before and after the wedding breakfast. The main room transformed perfectly for the evening function where we had a live band and plenty of dancing. One word of caution, which we have passed on to the team, take care when sitting in the director-style chairs on the lawn as they are not the most stable (but I'm sure this will be addressed if not already).

Most of the party stayed over in the guest rooms which are all beautifully furnished and decorated. Breakfast next morning was very pleasant too and several of the party made good use of the spa and swimming pool.

The arrangements leading up to the event were expertly handled by Stacey, who did a fantastic job. She advised us well and nothing was too much trouble - everything we threw at her was seen as a positive challenge and sorted out with a smile. On the day itself, Keith led the team superbly and again made sure our day went perfectly. All of the staff were very helpful and cheerful and the attention to detail throughout was excellent.

Comments back from our guests were all very positive and we have no hesitation in recommending Rowton Hall as a wedding venue. Our thanks go to the whole team for making this special day so perfect.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review and we are delighted that the wedding day went so well. We hope that guests find this review useful and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Sa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We stopped off recently at the magnificent Rowton Hall Hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff were outstanding and with 3 kids in tow, they couldn't have been more welcoming. Our suite was beautifully decorated and the owners have impeccable taste which is very evident in all rooms. Delicious breakfasts and evening meal which we ate al fresco while our children played on the lawn, having been given games by the staff. The spa and pool is top class- five star facilities! Will definitely be back soon!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just back today from a Living Social deal. Only £99 for 2 people for B&B with glass of prosecco with strawberries and cream each. Beautiful hotel about 3 miles from Chester in lovely grounds.Room spotlessly clean and though extremely hot (due to the weather!), a cooling fan was provided which made it more bareable. Very friendly and helpful staff- the manager Tony was charming. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Didn't dine there during the evening so can't comment on the evening meal. Drinks a bit pricey but only to be expected at this sort of hotel. Pool/steam/sauna excellent- 4 showers in the changing rooms- so nice to have shower gel, shampoo/conditioner available both in rooms and Spa. Highly recommended. Go there- you'll enjoy. I'll certainly return- especially at that price!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janini45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,757 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,235 reviews
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.6 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £84 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing