We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent well located peaceful country house hotel”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level Contributor
185 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“An excellent well located peaceful country house hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Attended a family wedding at the hotel and the whole event could not have been better made special by the hotel. Very welcoming staff , very good service and the wedding breakfast was good too. Well situated in lovely grounds . There is a full spa gym and swimming pool that confess we did not use but looked very good! Free Wifi throughout hotel. Rooms were well appointed with all comfort and a comfy bed too. The rooms was a bit on the warm side and we were pleased with the fan that is supplied!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanCLOndonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your family wedding.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    213
    73
    38
    21
See reviews for
180
500
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I Haven't stayed at the above hotel, but recently has a celebration meal with 30 others. The food and service were excellent! The meals were on time, the meat tender, the flavours exceptional and (Monday Lunch time) the price reasonable. I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in the Langdale Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Myself and my partner went here on a special offer £135 for a spa day and overnight stay, including afternoon tea and 2 glasses of pimms, a bottle of wine with the evening meal 20% of evening meal if you decided to eat there, which we did.
The hotel is beautiful we arrived a little early and the room was not ready but we were told we could use the spa and the room would be ready when we returned I went into the bar area and got talking to a chap by the name of TONY , he was really freindly and made us fel very welcome. Next think we were called V.I.P and we were treated like royalty.
We used the spa area the gym has what you need for a quick work out, and the swimming pool was lovely just chilling,
We sat outside as the weather was lovely and enjoyed our pimms and afternoon tea, overlooking the large grassed area.
We got our room and it was lovely, they had put a fan in the room as it was so hot so this was a nice touch and the decor was lovely, the bathroom was also lovely with a tv in the corner so you can just chill and watch TV .
We went down for the evening meal and the food was beutiful and well worth a visit silver service, staff were excellent and could not do enough.
After a good night sleep in a lovely cmfortable bed and sheets , we got up for breakfast and it was just amaing
A big thank you to TONY he made our stay extra special, and he now owes me a pint. See you soon
Tim and Liz

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable spa break with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A hotel haven, very peaceful, beautiful country hotel with excellent helpful staff. Lovely surroundings, very relaxing, even the dog loved it! Excellent spa facilities. The menu focussed on high quality ingredients expertly cooked. It was all delicious but we particularly enjoyed the Bar food. We hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed for two nights and had an amazing time. The staff were brilliant and extremely polite, helpful and genuine. The food was absolutely gorgeous and good value in the evenings. The facilities were great - we spent some time in the pool, sauna and jacuzzi. A short distance to Chester zoo which was a great day out too. The hotel was clean and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickiMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We attended my sisters wedding here. The service from all the staff throughout was excellent. The food served for the wedding breakfast was very good. The bridal suite was big and well designed and our room very comfortable, although the view from our window was not the prettiest! One critisism is about the stairs up to the bedrooms on the first floor. A few people tripped over the bottom step and that was before the drinks started flowing!!

However, all in all, we had an excellent day and evening and I would recomment it as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unicorn956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your sister's wedding here. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My family and I were really excited at the prospect of attending a wedding at the Rowton Hall Hotel and in many ways we were not disappointed.

The wedding couple had meticulously planned everything to ensure everyone had a wonderful time and their vision and creativity in choice of flowers and decoration made for a beautiful and breathtaking setting for the ceremony and reception. Their attention to detail and extra touches ensured it was a unique and magical day and we felt privileged to be part of a truly memorable experience.

Unfortunately, a few small niggly problems soured our view of the Hotel somewhat and we would like to warn others thinking of booking the Hotel for their wedding.

On the plus side, the Hotel has bags of character and is set in its own grounds with beautifully kept gardens, staff were friendly and helpful, although reception could have been more accommodating in releasing our room which they knew to be ready.

The wedding couple had opted for the Hotel’s wedding package, which included block booking bedrooms. We had expected the Hotel to have the bedrooms ready before the ceremony, however, it transpired that access was not guaranteed. The wedding day turned out to be one of the hottest days of the year and we were faced with the dilemma of either coming dressed for the occasion and arriving hot and dishevelled, or gambling on being able to access our room to change and arrive refreshed for the ceremony. We made the latter decision and could not access our bedroom on arrival.

Another niggle was the Hotel’s policy on cot provision. Based on other Hotels we had stayed in, we had assumed a cot would be provided free of charge, however, Rowton Hall’s policy is to charge £20.

The bedrooms were various sizes and standards, although all had a set charge. Our son’s room was small, stiflingly hot, with an un-inspirational view. Whereas ours was of a reasonable size, with a good view over the gardens and in fairly good order, although the telephone seemed not to work [we tried the telephone in our son’s room and his seemed not to work either]. Our bathroom, although clean, needed attention, as it had mould on the edges of the bath and tiles, with a strip of mould covered sealant hanging loose and a water damaged bath panel. The biggest issue though was that bedrooms were not air conditioned [although some public rooms were] and our room was unbearably hot, even with the fans provided by the Hotel.

The wedding couple and their immediate families stayed the night before the wedding on a bed and breakfast basis. They had understood the wedding night accommodation was exactly the same deal and communicated this to us. Unfortunately, this was not the case and when we went to check out we were charged an extra £9.50 each for continental breakfast [cooked breakfast was £12.50], despite our protests.

Would we go back? Probably not, based on the lack of air conditioning in bedrooms and the Hotel’s intransigence over breakfast.

This is my first negative Trip Advisor review.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger bedrooms overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbandtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Owner at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
In response to your ‘beware’ review and comments, “one would of expected the hotel would have the rooms available for checkin before the civil ceremony” is both unreasonable and unfair. It was made very clear to all parties that our check in time is 3.00pm and check out time is 11.00am, as in most hotels. This timing is essential to ensure that the necessary housekeeping is attended too, so that we can maintain the cleanliness of our rooms. We are in the fortunate position where we host 120 weddings a year and this problem has not happened with other weddings.

I also believe that you are unfair and unreasonable in commenting on the charge for a cot. A cot needs to be maintained and sanitised after each stay, and on arrival we provide freshly washed linen. The people involved in carrying out these tasks and placing the cot in the room all have to be paid a wage and the charge incurred barely covers the costs.

I think the real issue that brought you to write the review was that a number of guests including yourselves thought that the breakfast charge of £9.50 should be included within the rate. The bride and groom reserved the hotel on an exclusive use package whereby they sell the rooms to their guests. They had set a price of £100.00 room only (often wedding couples charge £135.00/£145.00) which is below the hotel rack rate. In my opinion they have been generous in the rate as thy had reduced the night stay below our rack rate and had chosen not to include breakfast within the rate. We have received another negative comment on TripAdvisor, which is not as eloquent as yours, but I think that you have been unfair to the hotel.

I am saddened by your review and we like to think that we give an honest and fair picture to all bride and grooms when arranging their weddings about our checkin and checkout times, which are universal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,508 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing