We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to celebrate our wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to celebrate our wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We had our wedding reception at Rowton Hall and try to return once a year. This visit reinforced the high regard we have for this hotel. Our room was of the highest quality and the service that you receive from the staff is excellent. We had a good meal in the restaurant which the chef topped off by writing happy anniversary in raspberry and mango sauce on our dessert plates, a nice touch. The hotel seems to improve a little every year we go and they get the detail right which is what we want at this level. Looking forward to next year, thanks Rowton!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clattters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted that you had a good anniversary with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    207
    73
    36
    20
See reviews for
177
485
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I cannot understand the few adverse comments made by some people.We attended our son's wedding yesterday.From start to finish today everything about the hotel was superb.The staff were all friendly and obliging without exception.The food at the reception & evening buffet was excellent.the hotel was blocked booked & the room prices very fair so of course we didn't expect free breakfast.My wife went for an early morning swim & pronounced the pool area great.
Yes the weather was hot but fans were provided in the rooms & we had an excellent nights sleep.We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a wedding or a short break.A big thankyou to all the staff for making our son's wedding so memorable.

Room Tip: As we were the grooms parents we had the henrietta maria master suite it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henpecked26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your Son's wedding and stay with us.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

A nights stay with evening meal and spa treatment in this exquisite hotel was the perfect ruby anniversary present my daughter and son-in-law could have given us. From the moment we arrived at this beautiful hotel set in lovely grounds, we were made to feel special. First from the warm welcome we received at reception to the rest of the friendly, helpful, nothing was to much trouble staff. We stayed in the impressive Fairfax suit with it's huge comfortable bed, 3 phones and 2 TV's, 1 was in the bathroom!! High quality meals and service in the restaurant and as they grow their own veg in the grounds, lovely and fresh too. The spa facilities were excellent and we also enjoyed the pool and sauna. Shame the jacuzzi was joined to the pool as it wasn't hot as I would have liked, the other thing I though was a shame was, we only stayed 1 night! Oh well there will be a next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralKatie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Ruby Wedding Anniversary with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
184 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Attended a family wedding at the hotel and the whole event could not have been better made special by the hotel. Very welcoming staff , very good service and the wedding breakfast was good too. Well situated in lovely grounds . There is a full spa gym and swimming pool that confess we did not use but looked very good! Free Wifi throughout hotel. Rooms were well appointed with all comfort and a comfy bed too. The rooms was a bit on the warm side and we were pleased with the fan that is supplied!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanCLOndonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your family wedding.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I Haven't stayed at the above hotel, but recently has a celebration meal with 30 others. The food and service were excellent! The meals were on time, the meat tender, the flavours exceptional and (Monday Lunch time) the price reasonable. I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in the Langdale Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Myself and my partner went here on a special offer £135 for a spa day and overnight stay, including afternoon tea and 2 glasses of pimms, a bottle of wine with the evening meal 20% of evening meal if you decided to eat there, which we did.
The hotel is beautiful we arrived a little early and the room was not ready but we were told we could use the spa and the room would be ready when we returned I went into the bar area and got talking to a chap by the name of TONY , he was really freindly and made us fel very welcome. Next think we were called V.I.P and we were treated like royalty.
We used the spa area the gym has what you need for a quick work out, and the swimming pool was lovely just chilling,
We sat outside as the weather was lovely and enjoyed our pimms and afternoon tea, overlooking the large grassed area.
We got our room and it was lovely, they had put a fan in the room as it was so hot so this was a nice touch and the decor was lovely, the bathroom was also lovely with a tv in the corner so you can just chill and watch TV .
We went down for the evening meal and the food was beutiful and well worth a visit silver service, staff were excellent and could not do enough.
After a good night sleep in a lovely cmfortable bed and sheets , we got up for breakfast and it was just amaing
A big thank you to TONY he made our stay extra special, and he now owes me a pint. See you soon
Tim and Liz

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable spa break with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

A hotel haven, very peaceful, beautiful country hotel with excellent helpful staff. Lovely surroundings, very relaxing, even the dog loved it! Excellent spa facilities. The menu focussed on high quality ingredients expertly cooked. It was all delicious but we particularly enjoyed the Bar food. We hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,274 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing