We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked every box and more”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed at the hotel due to business meetings nearby for two nights. Enjoyed everything that the hotel had to offer. The gym and pool were a perfect way to destress after a busy day and the food and wine was an even better solution. The staff were friendly and interested without being nosey. Had stayed previously on a romantic weekend and although the thought of returning to a hotel alone was slightly daunting I felt completely at home... Well, not at home as I never get spoilt there! Thank you for another wonderful stay, look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank us2looking2relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your business trip and 'felt at home' during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall for business/pleasure soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Rowton Hall was the venue for our daughter and new son-in-law's wedding reception on the 21st September. From arrival to departure the following day the experience was a truly magical one. My husband and I were bursting with pride, no small thanks to the warmest of welcomes by all the staff who couldn't do enough for us, the immaculate and opulent room 'The Henrietta Maria' and the fabulous meal which was served in the beautifully-decorated function room. It was a large wedding party, yet the obviously well-trained staff coped admirably in a friendly and calm manner- nothing was too much trouble for them. The well-tended lawns and grounds are fabulous and we were fortunate to have a beautifully warm and sunny day which the guests really enjoyed! They could enjoy chatting to friends old and new in the garden area or dance to the fabulous band in the ballroom. A very hearty breakfast the next morning was just the thing to prepare us for the journey home- my husband and I will most certainly return very soon!

Room Tip: Comparing notes the next day, everyone had a really good night's sleep and I wasn't aware of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareatGarstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for such an amazing review, we are delighted that your daughter had a 'magical wedding reception'.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your families back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for just the one night. I expected a lot more for what is truly a fantastic location and a great building. The hotel lacked that extra bit of service and I can only compare it to what you receive from a bog standard Premier Inn. Booked the 500/night suite, 4poster bed. Lovely room. Needs more towels....oh and more toilet roll please. The half a roll left over for my *** just isn't enough. The food is average and is well below par for the table set out. Staff are okay, but I have seen better service in a chained restaurant like Prezzo. Small improvements needed to make it that extra special hotel that cuts it above the rest.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martymcflyjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on the level of service that we provide, which is reflected in other reviews.

We can only apologise if you felt that you didn't receive our normal level of service and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Rowton Hall in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Attended a wedding a couple of days ago and found the occasion faultless. Bar prices are fair with a good choice of beers and wines. Rooms are excellent and the catering was top class. I don't always expect large event catering to be a dining event but this is exactly what we enjoyed. Superb food. All the staff were excellent i.e. respectful and effecient without being remotely snooty.

Room Tip: Sorry...did not try the Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdyboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A two day break for our wedding anniversary to this lovely city, and we had the best luck in picking this lovely hotel. The staff were wonderful and the atmosphere and food terrific. We booked via Secret Escapes and our stay was brilliant value for money for a top notch hotel - thank you - we will be back

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you had a lovely stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I booked this hotel via email & i have to say all of the staff who responded were amazing. I was even offered a complimentary upgrade to one of the junior suites at a discounted rate as the trip was for my boyfriends birthday.
Upon arrival there is ample parking & the hotel & grounds are pleasing to the eye. Our room was the Marmaduke room, beautifully decorated in light golds with lovely black & white striped accessories. We had a huge four poster bed, lovely big sofa & a massive tv. Very clean, spacious, light & airy.
We also had a tv in the bathroom but despite searching the room we could not locate a remote or work it. We did contact reception who sent someone up to look at it but informed us there was nothing that could be done. But who needs a tv in the bathroom anyway?
On the first evening of our stay we had pre dinner drinks in the bar & dinner in the restaurant. Again we could not fault the service as we were waited on hand & foot & really made to feel like the most important people staying in the hotel.

On the second night however, we were aware a large party had checked in for a wedding as the volume of the guests in the hotel had more than tripled.
I have to say it is unfortunate that the level of service we received following the large bridal party check in did slip & we did feel it was some what lacking. As much as it is important to keep larger parties happy, you should keep the level of service for your other guests. This did not happen.
During dinner on our second evening my boyfriends soup was warm but not hot, the bread did not arrive until we had finished our starters, it took 20 mins to get a round of drinks, after ordering desert we felt like we had been forgotten due to the long wait. It was such a shame as we had planned to stay in the bar for more drinks after dinner for my boyfriends birthday, but due to the lack of service during dinner we decided not to bother.

Breakfast on the first morning was great, a buffet choice for the colder options & then a menu to choose a hot option. The menu was large enough & the quality of produce was a very high standard.Nothing was too much trouble.

On the second day however we did feel a little bit abandoned. We ordered more toast to go with the eggs we had ordered for breakfast, however as the staff were clearly busy with wedding preparations we had finished our breakfast before the toast arrived.

We used the spa on both nights of our trip, it was clean, quiet, the staff were friendly. The towels provided i felt could have done with replacing as a couple had holes, rips & raggy edges.

Overall it was a great trip away despite the lack of service on the second night. We would visit again on the proviso that there are no wedding parties due in.

Room Tip: Marmaduke overlooks the car park & the grounds, has a massive bed big enough for someone almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midgetgembw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience overall and we can only apologise if there was a lack in service on your second night of your stay.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We attended a wedding here on 13th September and can honestly not fault a thing. Although we had some small issues and ended up having to move rooms twice the staff were fantastic. I work in a hotel and know how difficult things are when you're extremely busy and the amount of work that goes in to ensuring a wedding day runs smoothly for all the guests, so well done everyone involved!!! A few people were disgruntled as they didn't get their room as cheap as ours and had to pay extra, but this was the naughty grooms fault as he told people to book online rather than direct to the hotel for a wedding discount! And to top it off my partner Mr Randles got a phone call when we got home to offer us a complimentary return stay because of the room issues! I feel thoroughly spoilt as we get to return and enjoy it all over again! What more could you ask for!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanj12300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that the wedding you attended went so well.

We look forward to you returning to us soon as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,410 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,699 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £101 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Rowton Hall Chester
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing