We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel and surroundings. Booked a standard room which was a little on the small side but had everything you could need including comfy bed, bath and shower, complimentary water, tea and coffee with biscuits, bath robes and slippers, even a tv in the bathroom! Lovely meal in restaurant on first night with excellent service. Lovely breakfast too. Perfect getaway.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirerockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    220
    77
    38
    22
See reviews for
185
513
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely place, stayed for the wife's birthday, comfy bed, nice room, great food and warm welcoming atmosphere, staff were very friendly and professional. We would highly recommend. As a professional decorator this is the first hotel I have stayed that hasn't wound me up with the decorating quality

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

You know what it's like when you get home, pj's on, slippers on and relax, well Rowton Hall is just like that!
Does it have the WOW factor? No
Is it perfect? No
Does it look a bit tired in places? Yes in some
Is it clean? Perfectly
Is it comfortable? Like going home
Is it welcoming? Yes and yes again
If there is a problem do they sort it? Yes, straight away
If it's not perfect why give it excellent? Because it is comfortable, welcoming and Tony will look after you.
Would we return? In a heart beat

We stayed for 2 nights in the Lord Byron suite which has a seperate lounge just what we needed after a days shopping. On the first night we had a drink in the bar which is very nice then decided to order room service so we could put pj's and slippers on, perfect. Food arrived quickly and we settled down in the living room. Fantastic sleep in the comfy four poster.

On our second night the heating didn't work but after a call to reception Tony (the assistant manager) came up. He couldn't fix this but quickly called out the plumber who arrived promptly and sorted the problem. Tony is a delightful man, the kind who makes you feel relaxed and welcome. He is a true professional who is perfect in the job he does, a rare find today.

The hotel is perfect for visiting Chester. Use the park and ride which is near the hotel. Head for Chester and by the roundabout you will see the carpark. The bus costs £2 per adult for a return trip. It stops in the city centre and runs every few minutes. Great value. On returning the bus is number 30 and picks you up at B stop.

Room Tip: No lift so check that your not on the second floor if you have problems with stairs. The Lord Byron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiefrombolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We only stayed for 1 night and regretted it , an extra night would have been nice. The hotel is perfect and the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us up to the point of sending out to buy hairbrushes as we'd both forgotten to pack ours. Next time we'll visit in summer so that we can take full advantage of the gardens.

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor with patio doors into the garden. If it was warmer we could have tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We visited this hotel on a KGB deal. Stayed in this hotel on 21st October for one night. I would stay in this hotel again and would recommend to everyone. We stayed in room 5, very clean and tidy. We had an evening meal with breakfast. both was really enjoyable. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, All staff from start to finish were very pleasant. We visited Chester City Centre and caught the Park and Ride. £2.00 per adult, worth every penny. I hope to visit again very soon. A wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Use the Park and Ride to go to the City Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel from 17 - 20 October 2013. The first evening was as a couple, the second evening as a small group eating in the restaurant and the third as part of a larger group attending a reunion and eating in a private reserved room. We started making the arrangements in February 2013 and the help and advice we received in putting the occasion together was outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble.

On arrival at the hotel we were impressed by the cleanliness of the public areas and the pleasant manner of the staff with whom we came into contact. The nature of the Hall has been preserved in the development of the hotel yet the general accomodation is spacious and generous in size, very easy to relax in.

Over the days that we were there, we experienced intimate dining, a small group dinner and a larger formal pre-ordered meal gathering. There was no difference in standard everything was excellent. There was a choice of Table d'hote and a la carte meals in the restaurant and the wine selection was outstanding. Breakfast are as you would expect in any top class hotel.

The feedback from other members of the group were that the bedrooms were large, clean and well equipped. There is a spa in the hotel and you can either change in the spa area or use the dressing gowns and slippers available in the room to walk to the baths and gym area.

The hotel is situated in a small village which, if the weather is fine, is well worth a walk round. Nearby is a petrol station which currently has prices to match the big supermarket chains. About two miles away on the road into Chester is a "park & ride" which is far preferable to driving into Chester centre and trying to find a parking space. The buses run every 10 minutes.

On the last night we were there, we had our reunion in the private Adams Room. There was a small birthday group in the restaurant and a larger birthday party in the ballroom and conservatory. The premises are large enough to cater for all three with the minimum of crossover.

When we go to Chester again Rowton Hall will definitely be our base

Room Tip: We spent 3 nights at this hotel from 17 - 20 October 2013. The first evening was as a couple, the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristoNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times and never thought to write a review till today. We've always had great experiences when staying here and really feel as though it's a hidden gem. It's in such a great location, just a little drive into a very picturesque town. Love the room decor ... They're all so unique and the bathrooms are something I have to have in my own place one day! All very friendly staff and beautiful spa and gardens ... We will definitely be returning.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NiamhLarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,233 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing