We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Southport
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have just returned from two nights at this wonderful hotel. Everything about the stay was first class, from entering the premises and being greeted by the lovely friendly receptionist. The room we had was the Fairfax, a junior suite, which was amazingly large. with an enormous comfortable bed and pillows. The bathroom had not only a bath but also an independent shower with lovely thick and soft cream towels. There was an ample supply of coffee and tea facilities together with biscuits and two bottles of water. The bedroom had nice views over the grounds and was on the first floor, conveniently situated ,so it was easy to carry the suitcases up a flight of stairs.

The breakfasts were excellent with a good choice, including a full breakfast or several alternatives, including kippers. I had poached eggs on both mornings ,which were perfectly cooked, and the service was amazingly quick.

The dinner menus were excellent with a choice of a la carte or a set 3 course menu. The food was well cooked and beautifully presented.


The situation of the hotel is down a quiet road off the A41 Whitchurch Road , and less than a mile away towards Chester from a "Park and Ride". The cost of the bus is just £2 per person, giving excellent value for a journey of about 3 miles. It is only about 10-15 minutes away from Chester Zoo and also Cheshire Oaks, the designer outlet village. There are lots of shops now with designers such as Armani, Mulberry, Reiss, Christies, Pringles, Church and
many more.

This hotel is a real find and we will recommend this hotel to anyone. We certainly hope to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maesy359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your amazing review. We are delighted that you had a fantastic break with us.

What a great review for highlighting the level of standards that we provide in our bedrooms, even down to the finer details of 'There was an ample supply of coffee and tea facilities together with biscuits and two bottles of water'.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and thank you for commenting on our 'breakfasts excellent good choice, including a full breakfast or several alternatives, including kippers' and for commenting that our 'dinner menus were excellent with a choice of a la carte or a set 3 course menu. The food was well cooked and beautifully presented.'

I was certainly pass on your comments to the whole team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    202
    72
    36
    20
See reviews for
175
479
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary, for one night on a Living social deal. Lovely hotel. After a quick visit to Cheshire Oaks (15 minutes away) we had a relaxing afternoon on a lounger by the pool. We had a fantastic meal in the restaurant , which was such great value. The Sirloin steak was the best I have ever had. Service was wonderful. The hotel has been really tastefully decorated and although it has kept the old features, the rooms are bright and modern. We really enjoyed our stay and will return. Thinking of treating family and friends to a meal in one of the private dining rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dene7514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner went on Wednesday 30th for a one night stay on a Living social Deal. This hotel was beautiful, we checked into room 36 which was a lovely room, very clean tidy and modern with complimentary tea, coffee and water. As part our deal we had booked in for a 3 course evening meal, which I must say was one of the best meals I have ever had, I had leek and potato soup for starter with sirloin steak for main and a cheese board to finish, the restaurant is silver service and the food served was of excellent quality, my compliments to the chef. Our waiter defiantly needs a mention Tom he was superb and very professional- well done. The hotel itself with all it's facilities is ideal for a quiet getaway and it's very handy being so close to Chester. I enjoyed my stay so much I will be booking again to go with my mother after Christmas . Thank you.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your amazing review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will certainly pass on your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back after Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely 2 night break at Rowton hall. We were very impressed with the food, the friendly service from staff, the spa facilities and finally our room. As we were there over Halloween a special mention has to go to the staff who designed some super pumpkins which added an extra touch around the hotel. A lovely break and we would certainly return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bendysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to join in with our Halloween fun.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We loved it, ideally located for visiting Chester, just up the road from the Park & Ride, also easily accessible to Liverpool. We experienced 2 rooms as the junior suite wasn't available on 1st night. The standard room was very comfortable and relaxing. However the Junior suite was special and lived up to the Hotel's description of paying extra attention to detail, it was a little bit of luxury. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even returning my mobile to me after leaving it in the first room. We ate in the bar on the 1st evening which was very relaxing and of a high standard. We ate in the restaurant on the 2nd night, again a superb meal in very relaxing surroundings. The food was of a high standard but not at extortionate prices, very good value for money. We really enjoyed our stay and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Splash out and enjoy the luxury of a Junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights on a KGB deal like a lot of people. We stayed in room 17 which had superb views over the gardens, large comfortable bed and ample space. The bathroom suite looked new whereas the tiles appeared dated and some were cracked which let it down only slightly. We ate in the Langdale restaurant and I took advantage of the 3 course for £25 whilst the wife had the 2 for £20. The food was exceptional. The breakfast was just as good. The pool and facilities were always clean and there are plenty of lounges to sit in your robes and slippers which are provided. We would have paid for spa treatments but thought they were a little overpriced for the amount of time you got unfortunately. The area is also great for walking which we took advantage of. All in all a fantastic relaxing break.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MARK J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel and surroundings. Booked a standard room which was a little on the small side but had everything you could need including comfy bed, bath and shower, complimentary water, tea and coffee with biscuits, bath robes and slippers, even a tv in the bathroom! Lovely meal in restaurant on first night with excellent service. Lovely breakfast too. Perfect getaway.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirerockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing