We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice quite weekend stay”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Iom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice quite weekend stay”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

stayed here with my sister on a sunday, hotel was very nice, staff very friendly and nice. Old charm of hotel, but my room needed a little updating and tidying up. However my sisters room was very spacious and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for review and we are delighted that you had a 'nice quite weekend stay' with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    212
    73
    37
    21
See reviews for
177
496
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful meal at this delightful hotel. The standard of the food and service was of the highest order. The menu was excellent and chef produced some quite unusual and individual dishes which were superb. From the moment we arrived at this beautiful hotel to the moment we left, the service was friendly and attentive and quite candidly, we could not think of a single negative point.
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKTravellers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
What a fantastic review, We are thrilled that you enjoyed a wonderful meal with us and that you found 'The standard of the food and service was of the highest order. The menu was excellent and chef produced some quite unusual and individual dishes which were superb. From the moment we arrived at this beautiful hotel to the moment we left, the service was friendly and attentive and quite candidly, we could not think of a single negative point.'

Thank you for highly recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We booked an offer through secret Escapes for a one night stay. The hotel as you drive in doesnt look like the photos you see on the website but that is because the pictures were taken from the back. We couldnt get onto the main carpark but there is an overspill carpark which was really muddy. we managed to cut through onto the main carpark through the trees. The hotel reception was nice enough and the rest of the hotel was lovely and cosy. Our room was very nice with tea making facilities. The shower however did need regrouting in places which is always the first thing I notice when staying anywhere. But the room was spotless. We did use the indoor pool and did have a spa treatment the following morning, couldnt fault this in anyway. We ate in the restaurant at night where there was set 3 course meal, the food was lovely really tasty and the staff were so pleasant & helpful. All in all really enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: ask for a room if available overlooking the conservatory as the views are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janey060168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that 'all in all really enjoyed yourselves" and thank you for commenting on "The hotel reception was nice enough and the rest of the hotel was lovely and cosy. Our room was very nice with tea making facilities.We did use the indoor pool and did have a spa treatment the following morning, couldnt fault this in anyway. We ate in the restaurant at night where there was set 3 course meal, the food was lovely really tasty and the staff were so pleasant & helpful".

We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
304 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I am very, very disappointed with this hotel. My partner & I spent Xmas here and it was not good. The staff were mostly friendly but inefficient & disorganised, the food on Xmas Day poor - parts of the lunch were inedible, eg a hockey puck of a Xmas pudding and missing parts of the main course that we had to ask for! The gardens were frankly appalling - shabby doesn't begin to describe how poor they were (other hotels in the area had much nicer gardens so it wasn't that it was winter time). The Lichfield Suite was nice but no more than that. Yes, it was spacious but it was dark/gloomy, had no view at all - it looked out across the goods delivery area and to the staff quarters - so the lights had to be kept on and the curtains closed the whole time, plus there was no view at all and being on the ground floor the people above were noisily obvious on a constant basis. Unless you really need a ground floor suite avoid the Lichfield and choose one of the other two. What makes it worse is that we were leaning towards one of the other suites but hotel staff said of the remaining two Lichfield was better; also when we first rang we were told the Byron was avialable and nearly booked it - then a few minutes later tried to book it to be told it wasn't available after all!? Another gripe about the Xmas package is that the hotel ran two quizzes with prizes and then didn't bother giving out any prizes or announcing who had won - it just fizzled out! This was just typical of the attitude during our time there - very happy to take our money well in advance but the service provided was lacking and below the standard we had paid for. Very, very disappointing to say the least!

Room Tip: Lichfield Suite - opt for this only if ground floor location is a must have; no views at all; dark/g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Sent this letter to the hotel staff following our daughters and son-in-laws wedding on 28th December 2013 - if you are planning a celebration event, wedding, party etc you could not find a better location. We spent quite a bit of time looking for a suitable venue in the Cheshire / Wirral area and Rowton came out on top - they did not disappoint - in fact they excelled.

We would like to thank you and your team for making Holly and Chris’s wedding such a wonderful day for us all.

When we first came to Rowton Hall to have a look round and were made so welcome by Tony and Rebecca we knew that we had chosen a great venue. You couldn’t have been more helpful in the build up to their special day and with the planning of the event in every detail.

The day was perfect in every way from start to finish and the attentive way in which you and your staff looked after us and our guests made it all the more enjoyable.

The room looked so beautiful for the ceremony, the reception and wedding breakfast were perfect and the evening celebrations will remain in our memory forever. The whole day ran like clockwork and we didn’t have to worry about a thing which enabled us to spend so much more time with our guests.

Our overnight guests were delighted with the standard of accommodation and everything was rounded off with a delicious hearty breakfast.

It was just perfect and please pass our thanks to all the other staff who helped on the day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted that your daughters and son-in-laws wedding on 28th December 2013 was such a wonderful day.

We hope that all of your comments will help future bride and grooms choose a wedding venue.

I will certainly pass on your wonderful review to the team and we look forward to welcoming you all back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed at Rowton Hall for two nights from Friday 17th January, with 5 Friends. The rooms were spacious and clean, we shared 3 to a room. The Staff were so professional looking after all our needs. The food was delicious, we had dinner in the restaurant both nights, on the first night we were treated to champagne before dinner. A special mention to Adam, Keith and Kate for their attention to detail. I also used the spa and had a massage, which was delightful. Thank you to all the staff at Rowton Hall for making our weekend so special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
What a great review and we are thrilled that you and your friends have such a wonderful stay.

Thank you for your comments 'The rooms were spacious and clean, we shared 3 to a room. The Staff were so professional looking after all our needs. The food was delicious, we had dinner in the restaurant both nights, on the first night we were treated to champagne before dinner. A special mention to Adam, Keith and Kate for their attention to detail. I also used the spa and had a massage, which was delightful.'

We are glad that we could make your weekend so special and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just returned from a night at this hotel.This trip was with a friend to relax and enjoy spa, pool etc following illness. Reception Staff very welcoming and friendly as well as extremely helpful, offering to order taxi's, offering advice as to where to eat out and make dinner reservations in Chester. Staff in the bar very polite and attentive as were staff in spa.
The Hotel was full and the next morning when I had to ask to order breakfast after waiting for 35 minutes, staff were very apologetic but did not use the excuse of being busy for their oversight but were honest and said I had been overlooked (thank you for your honesty) and they said it was unacceptable but would ensure this did not happen again. However upon realising my friend had left and gone back to our room due to ill health a tray of toast and tea was organised and taken to our room.This was a lovely touch thank you. Unfortunately due to ill health not only was the tray not touched but we also had to cut our stay short and we had so been looking forward to spending the day in the spa.
Room was modern and very clean with a nice view across the garden. Scrambled eggs with smoked salmon were the best I have tasted (including in some top London hotels) Pool was busy but very clean and only comment I could make about the facilities is that it would have been good to have bags to place wet swimsuits in.
Only comment I can make about Hotel; which was all clean and well looked after is that perhaps some soundproofing be considered between floors as we could hear conversations of people stopping above us as well as every footstep they made.
Would love to stop again - maybe when friends health improves.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dacory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and even though your trip had to be cut short we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for all your positive comments regarding the hotel, staff and food and we look forward to welcoming you and your friend back (once she is better).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,390 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing