We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rowton Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Edgar House(Chester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dene Hotel(Chester)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,155)
Filter reviews
1,155 results
Traveller rating
753
250
84
42
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
753
250
84
42
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexclusive usemaster of ceremonieswedding venuewedding breakfastwedding receptiongroupon dealjunior suitespa facilitiessecret escapeslovely hotelsauna and steam roomevening mealfrom start to finishrelaxing breakfour poster bedrelaxation roomnight break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
748 - 753 of 1,155 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had our wedding here in February and we had the most amazing, perfect day from start to finish. All the staff at Rowton Hall were brilliant! They made sure everything went to plan and were helpful, hard working, and made our day such a memorable experience! Everything ran smoothly, the food was perfect and all the guests said how nice it was! We had 115 guests and the food came out fast and was very yummy :-) We viewed a lot of potential venues but are so glad we chose Rowton Hall as everything about it was just perfect! So thank you for making our wedding day so wonderful, we would highly recommend this hotel to others as a wedding venue. We could not fault anything!

Mr & Mrs Hughes

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiehowie890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful revenue and we are delighted that you 'had the most amazing, perfect day from start to finish'. Thank you for commenting that 'All the staff at Rowton Hall were brilliant! They made sure everything went to plan and were helpful, hard working, and made our day such a memorable experience!'

We are glad that 'Rowton Hall as everything about it was just perfect! So thank you for making our wedding day so wonderful, we would highly recommend this hotel to others as a wedding venue. We could not fault anything!'

We look forward to welcoming you and your families back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel after a recommendation from family who stayed at Christmas, first impressions hotel was lovely and clean and the staff friendly. Only disappointment was that the children couldn't use the pool that night as not allowed in after 5.30 pm despite it being quiet and only 2 people in. The room was spacious and the children especially loved the television in the bathroom, the bed was comfy. Breakfast was delicious my husband would have liked a bigger portion of the cooked breakfast. We went for a swim the pool was lovely and warm. A pleasant stay was had.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank 2kidsmum939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Came back from this gorgeous hotel today. We were only here for the one night and it definitely was not long enough.
On our arrival we were greeted with a complimentary upgrade to the Fairfax room due to it being our anniversary. How lovely and generous of them.
The outside is as grand and perfect as you could imagine. A water feature and outside sitting area where you could look over the gardens.
Our room was massive and grand and everything you could imagine and want.
I struggle to sleep in any bed that's not my own and I had the best nights sleep in the bed they provided. The hotel was well heated so you were always warm. We had a separate bath and shower with a tv in the bathroom.
The room did not disappoint at all.
Went and used to pool, only downside is that the jacuzzi wasn't heated but it was counterbalanced by the sauna! (only wanted the heat)
The only complaint I have about this hotel is that I didn't get to spend more time there. Next time I want to come to Chester this is definitely the place I'll be staying.
Amazingly close to the aquarium, the zoo and Cheshire oaks!
Many thanks to all the staff there!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

What a fantastic review. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments and we are delighted that you 'adore' us.

We very much look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I only stayed two nights and just wish I had more time. Everything about this hotel was excellent. Beautiful old manor house style building (with a new addition on the side) with wood panelling in all of the public areas. The staff were all very attentive and courteous (you felt as if they were servants from the beginning of the century). The food was excellent; my colleague couldn't stop talking about the pudding he had on the first night and it was quite a battle to get him to try the pancakes on the second night (which he had specifically asked the staff about on the first night - it being Shrove Tuesday). I don't know if it was true but it seemed as if they added it to the menu because he had asked about it! The fitness centre was well equipped and the spa/pool facilities are first class (if a little small compared to some bigger establishments).

My only caveat is that it was quite quiet (not many guests) when I visited so I do not know how well they may perform if busy.

All in all this is a hotel that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or return to.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel 'beautiful and luxurious'.

Thank you for commenting "The staff were all very attentive and courteous (you felt as if they were servants from the beginning of the century). The food was excellent; my colleague couldn't stop talking about the pudding he had on the first night"

With regards to your comment on the hotel being 'quite quiet', some week days can be quieter than others, however overall we are a very busy hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this venue as our friends got married here, the wedding was very well planned.
It's a stunning hotel and the staff were all lovely, there was abit of a mix up with the room booking but it was all sorted out very quickly. The room was lovely and the bed very comfy, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. And the breakfast was very nice also.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_e1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed your friends wedding too.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews