We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attended my nieces wedding at Rowton Hall”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Attended my nieces wedding at Rowton Hall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My family and I attended my nieces wedding at Rowton Hall on Sunday 16th March 2014. The hotel is lovely and our suite, the Marmaduke, was fabulous. The Wedding Breakfast was one of the nicest meals I have had at a wedding and the breakfast was lovely. My niece had intended for us to stay at the hotel on the Saturday night, with the bride and her family, as well as the Sunday, as we had over a 230 mile journey from home. This was booked well in advance, but because a subsequent wedding booking was made for the Saturday night this was not then possible. My niece only found this out a short time before the actual wedding day. Fortunately she, my other niece and her mother, were accommodated, but we had to fend for ourselves. We never got any form or apology for the mess-up. We ended up staying at the nearby Cheshire Cat which was lovely, very warm and welcoming - this could not be said for the frosty service we received from one particular receptionist when we asked to have a look around the venue on the Saturday. I did appreciate that there was a wedding that day but I feel we should have been given a more sympathetic response bearing in mind we had been very much inconvenienced by their error. The morning of my nieces wedding was made more stressful by the fact that we were then waiting to get into our room to change. This is a lovely venue for a wedding and most of the staff were very helpful but it is a shame that our experience was spolit by bad customer service. The Spa looked lovely but as things were so rushed we did not get a chance to use it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailjkyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your nieces wedding on Sunday 16th March 2014. Thank you for commenting on 'The hotel is lovely and our suite, the Marmaduke, was fabulous. The Wedding Breakfast was one of the nicest meals I have had at a wedding and the breakfast was lovely.'

May we apologise for the inconvenience that was caused the day before the wedding. On a weekend we offer the hotel on an exclusive use basis, whereby all of the rooms are pre-booked to the wedding party (as was the case on your nieces special day).

We can only apologise if you felt that we did not provide a good customer service as we pride ourselves on providing the best service possible, as can be seen in other reviews.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your families back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    207
    73
    36
    20
See reviews for
177
484
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I have now been 3 times to Rowton Hall for lunch and have been treated to a long lost art of great service, excellent food, pleasant staff served in a lovely dinning room with proper linen table clothes and napkins ( such a change these days ) This Hotel is now set permanently on my Phone and Sat nav and my wife has already picked Rowton Hall for her birthday lunch see you soon STEVE......

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxed06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
What a fantastic review we are delighted that you have 'been 3 times to Rowton Hall for lunch and have been treated to a long lost art of great service, excellent food, pleasant staff served in a lovely dinning room with proper linen table clothes and napkins ( such a change these days )'

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for 2 nights. The hotel is lovely and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is fabulous. The spa is lovely and can well recomend the hot stone massage. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rowton and cant wait to stay there again. Thank you to everyone at The Rowton for such an enjoyable time we didn't want to go home!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are delighted that you had an 'amazing' stay with us.

Thank you for commenting 'The hotel is lovely and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is fabulous. The spa is lovely and can well recomend the hot stone massage. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rowton and cant wait to stay there again. Thank you to everyone at The Rowton for such an enjoyable time we didn't want to go home!'

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had our wedding here in February and we had the most amazing, perfect day from start to finish. All the staff at Rowton Hall were brilliant! They made sure everything went to plan and were helpful, hard working, and made our day such a memorable experience! Everything ran smoothly, the food was perfect and all the guests said how nice it was! We had 115 guests and the food came out fast and was very yummy :-) We viewed a lot of potential venues but are so glad we chose Rowton Hall as everything about it was just perfect! So thank you for making our wedding day so wonderful, we would highly recommend this hotel to others as a wedding venue. We could not fault anything!

Mr & Mrs Hughes

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiehowie890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful revenue and we are delighted that you 'had the most amazing, perfect day from start to finish'. Thank you for commenting that 'All the staff at Rowton Hall were brilliant! They made sure everything went to plan and were helpful, hard working, and made our day such a memorable experience!'

We are glad that 'Rowton Hall as everything about it was just perfect! So thank you for making our wedding day so wonderful, we would highly recommend this hotel to others as a wedding venue. We could not fault anything!'

We look forward to welcoming you and your families back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel after a recommendation from family who stayed at Christmas, first impressions hotel was lovely and clean and the staff friendly. Only disappointment was that the children couldn't use the pool that night as not allowed in after 5.30 pm despite it being quiet and only 2 people in. The room was spacious and the children especially loved the television in the bathroom, the bed was comfy. Breakfast was delicious my husband would have liked a bigger portion of the cooked breakfast. We went for a swim the pool was lovely and warm. A pleasant stay was had.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 2kidsmum939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Came back from this gorgeous hotel today. We were only here for the one night and it definitely was not long enough.
On our arrival we were greeted with a complimentary upgrade to the Fairfax room due to it being our anniversary. How lovely and generous of them.
The outside is as grand and perfect as you could imagine. A water feature and outside sitting area where you could look over the gardens.
Our room was massive and grand and everything you could imagine and want.
I struggle to sleep in any bed that's not my own and I had the best nights sleep in the bed they provided. The hotel was well heated so you were always warm. We had a separate bath and shower with a tv in the bathroom.
The room did not disappoint at all.
Went and used to pool, only downside is that the jacuzzi wasn't heated but it was counterbalanced by the sauna! (only wanted the heat)
The only complaint I have about this hotel is that I didn't get to spend more time there. Next time I want to come to Chester this is definitely the place I'll be staying.
Amazingly close to the aquarium, the zoo and Cheshire oaks!
Many thanks to all the staff there!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
What a fantastic review. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments and we are delighted that you 'adore' us.

We very much look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I only stayed two nights and just wish I had more time. Everything about this hotel was excellent. Beautiful old manor house style building (with a new addition on the side) with wood panelling in all of the public areas. The staff were all very attentive and courteous (you felt as if they were servants from the beginning of the century). The food was excellent; my colleague couldn't stop talking about the pudding he had on the first night and it was quite a battle to get him to try the pancakes on the second night (which he had specifically asked the staff about on the first night - it being Shrove Tuesday). I don't know if it was true but it seemed as if they added it to the menu because he had asked about it! The fitness centre was well equipped and the spa/pool facilities are first class (if a little small compared to some bigger establishments).

My only caveat is that it was quite quiet (not many guests) when I visited so I do not know how well they may perform if busy.

All in all this is a hotel that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or return to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel 'beautiful and luxurious'.

Thank you for commenting "The staff were all very attentive and courteous (you felt as if they were servants from the beginning of the century). The food was excellent; my colleague couldn't stop talking about the pudding he had on the first night"

With regards to your comment on the hotel being 'quite quiet', some week days can be quieter than others, however overall we are a very busy hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,249 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing