We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Totally relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

An excellent stay at this full of character hotel. The service from reception, waiting and bar staff was first class. The rooms were warm and comfortable and the leisure facilities were very good. The evening meal was most enjoyable together with a hearty breakfast and again great service. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warriorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your great review and we are delighted that you had a great stay with us.

I will certainly pass your comments onto the team here at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel & Spa in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    202
    72
    36
    20
See reviews for
175
477
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a last minute one night stay over Easter & were so impressed by the hotel, the facilities & every single member of the hotel staff, I felt I wanted to write the review straight away.

From my initial telephone call to enquire about rooms, right through to checking out we were made to feel comfortable & nothing was too much trouble.

We arrived sometime before checkin but received a warm welcome from reception & whilst we had lunch (really good food) in the conservatory were informed that our rooms were ready. The really friendly duty manager who we felt went beyond offering exceptional customer service & reception staff set the standard that didn't waver throughout our stay.

As we were staying with our parents & son we had 2 rooms. The rooms were beautiful & we could not fault anything at all. We were very lucky to be upgraded & our room had an amazing four poster bed & a picture perfect view.

The spa faculties were relaxed & we made use of the pool & sauna.

The breakfast was fabulous & attention to detail was once again reflected in the presentation & the quality of the food.

We were so impressed we will definitely stay here again. Fabulous hotel & spa :)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
What a fantastic review and we are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us.

Thank you for your fantastic comments from our level of staff service, to the food and the bedrooms. 'We were so impressed we will definitely stay here again. Fabulous hotel & spa :)'

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I travel to Chester regularly and never stay anywhere else now. Beautiful hotel - comfy rooms - friendly staff - great food - the bathrooms even have TVs in!

My only downsides are the lack of peppermint tea in the rooms and, for my personal taste, I find the breakfast a bit limited (I'd like more options for the continental breakfast, e.g. pastries and cheese and ham).

Room Tip: Room 3 has a four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleShe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and your most valid comments.

With immediate affect peppermint tea will be in all of our bedrooms. It was also absolutely our mistake not to advise you that cheese and meat are available, we do not display these but prepare them fresh on request.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Cumbria
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This is the most perfect hotel for feeling like you've escaped from the rest of the world. Beautiful rooms with a personal feel, superb service, and generally a very comfortable place to be. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
What a wonderful review and thank you for commenting on 'This is the most perfect hotel for feeling like you've escaped from the rest of the world. Beautiful rooms with a personal feel, superb service, and generally a very comfortable place to be. Would highly recommend.'

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halesowen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel for two nights....very overpriced...room a little shabby & bathroom tiny..Noise from disco at 12.30am nightmare(or would have been if I could have got any sleep)hotel failed to tell us there was another wedding on the Friday & our room was in the firing line of the full blast of the rave music....did make a complaint but manager at that time very flippant & rude..no apology.& not addressed next morning either!!!! Staff very attentive when we arrived, breakfast first morning very efficient, but this certainly changed the second morning when the wedding party were moved to another part of the dining room & we had to find someone to take our order for breakfast(they had forgotten about us). a complete shambles!.& that was our wedding anniversary so not impressed. Our stays only saving grace was the food...excellent. Will not be returning...............

Room Tip: If you have to stay at this hotel, please request a room furthest away from function room, the cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busherg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Owner at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We are sorry that we failed to tell you that there was another wedding in addition to the one that you were already attending during your stay. We pride ourselves on letting all our potential guests know when there is a function at the hotel so that they can make a choice. So that we can be sure that we do not fail again in this area we are now adding the information to all confirmations.

I do not accept that our late manager on duty, when you telephoned at 12.15am, was ‘flippant and rude’, the young man in questions has worked with Rowton Hall for a number of years and has a lot of guest awareness and the many compliments we have received about him testify this.

I also do not agree with your comments regarding the hotel being ‘shabby in parts’. Fortunately there are enough photographs on TripAdvisor taken by guests for people to make their own judgement as to whether the hotel looks ‘shabby’.

I am sorry that you will not be returning but maybe it is just as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights. When we arrived we were informed that the hotel had a wedding on for both the Friday and Saturday but our room would be away from the noise. Indeed I was pleasantly surprised by the quietness, however the first night had to be one of the worst night's sleep I have ever had. Despite having a very comfortable bed the temperature fluctuated from roasting to stifling and we ended up having to keep the window open all night in an effort to cool the room - this was despite the fact that central heating was not on and as a fan was included in the room the hotel was clearly aware of this. The hotel is something of a contradiction - our room had a contemporary decoration but the paintwork in the communal parts was generally quite shabby.The three course dinner was exceedingly good (even though there was a wedding on), however breakfast was poor and both my husband and I had to send our poached eggs back because they were cold. We both had massages and we're disappointed by the experience which felt more like being slathered in lotion than actually given a massage and although we were promised fruit and water in the relaxation room this never actually materialised. The hotel offers so much promise but ever so slightly fails to deliver. I was extremely disappointed considering recent trip advisor reviews had raised my expectations and on check out extremely disappointed to be told by the receptionist that had we told someone the room was too hot they could have done something about it. Another noisy fan to keep me awake all night? I don't think so.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Owner at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
I am so sorry that you were too hot during your first night and I can give you no honest explanation, but can genuinely tell you that the fan that was provided was not for any reasons of excessive heat, there are infact fans in all bedrooms. In all honesty I am more disappointed that our receptionist would say to you such a negative response when you raised the subject with reception, of course she should have called the Duty Manager to discuss your unhappiness regarding the room temperature.

It appears that we also served you cold poached eggs and that you didn’t enjoy your spa experience. I have discussed this with the Spa Manager and I believe that you had a hot stone treatment which does require more oil being used than a normal massage.

Finally I am sorry to say I do not accept your comment of the public areas being ‘shabby’, we have spent in excess of £150,000 in refurbishing the main ground floor areas including the bar over the past 20 months and I do believe the photographs taken by fellow travellers allow people to make their own judgement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Me and my husband decided to visit chester and this hotel for the first time for our first wedding anniversary.
We loved the vibe of chester city centre and the boat ride :)
The hotel was nice, the weather not so did not explore the grounds!
The room was ok, standard size. The bed was comfy. Clean enough although a little dusty. The bathroom was our biggest let down of the room really. It absolutley smelt, like sewers. We had the light/extractor on the whole time. We ran the taps but the smell stayed. The shower head did not work properly. And the shower screen fittings abit mouldy and a few of the tiles too. It could do with the tiles updating for it to be breath taking.
The restaurant was absolutely fab. We had dinner and breakfast there and the fold was perfect (and thats from a very fussy eater)! The staff are so attentive.
The spa/pool is nice, a little confusing as to what to do. Ive been to other spa hotels where you can go from ur room to the spa in ur robe but wasnt sure here. Was a little dissapointed the steam room was broken. The spa is nice. Doesnt beat my favourite though.
All in all, had a lovely time, could be a five star hotel with abit more attention to detail in the room and the spa. May also be worth getting the person performing the treatment to introduce themselves before its started as found it to be a little awkward.
Im giving it 4 stars mainly due to the fab restaurant!! :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazorinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
2.8 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing