We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful couple of days in Cheshire :)”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful couple of days in Cheshire :)”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa a week ago on a mini-break with my boyfriend.

Hotel is beautiful, service excellent - friendly staff attended to our every need, we were so well looked after. Restaurant was delicious, facilities excellent, room beautiful, everything perfectly clean.

There weren't too many other guests so felt like having our own stately home! Would certainly recommend as a get away. Easy drive into Chester too, and the Cheshire Ice Cream Farm is also nearby - lovely for a tasty treat in the sun!

The only two things we would change are the dated CD in the restaurant (listening to Eric Carmen's 'All By Myself' was not romantic!) and also to extend the breakfast hours, which finish at 9:30am, perfect for a business trip, but not quite so relaxing for our mini-break.

Would certainly recommend Rowton Hall Hotel & Spa as a venue. Would normally be out of my price range but there was a living social deal with discounts included. I also believe they do lunch promotions in the restaurant if you are ever passing by to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chapmansonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
I stayed at Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa a week ago on a mini-break with my boyfriend.

Hotel is beautiful, service excellent - friendly staff attended to our every need, we were so well looked after. Restaurant was delicious, facilities excellent, room beautiful, everything perfectly clean.

What a wonderful review and we are thrilled that you spent a 'wonderful couple of days in Cheshire'

Thank you for commenting on 'There weren't too many other guests so felt like having our own stately home! Would certainly recommend as a get away. Easy drive into Chester too, and the Cheshire Ice Cream Farm is also nearby - lovely for a tasty treat in the sun!' 'Would certainly recommend Rowton Hall Hotel & Spa as a venue. Would normally be out of my price range but there was a living social deal with discounts included. I also believe they do lunch promotions in the restaurant if you are ever passing by to eat.'

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    220
    77
    38
    22
See reviews for
185
513
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My partner and I had a lovely 2 night stay in Rowton Hall.
The room was spacious, clean and traditionally furnished and suited the surroundings.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. We really couldn't have asked for anything more.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a re charge weekend or overnight pamper trip!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
What a wonderful review. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Thank you for commenting 'The staff were all friendly and helpful. We really couldn't have asked for anything more.I would definitely recommend this hotel for a re charge weekend or overnight pamper trip!'

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Went to family wedding 24th May, the entire day was fantastic. The venue decoration lay out was heavenly. The food was cooked to perfection and looked and tasted devine. The waiters and all the staff were friendly,helpful but still very professional,Well done.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank widnes14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are delighted that 'the entire day was fantastic.'

Thank you for commenting on 'The venue decoration lay out was heavenly. The food was cooked to perfection and looked and tasted devine. The waiters and all the staff were friendly,helpful but still very professional,Well done.'

We look forward to welcoming you all back to Rowton Hall soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in the suite with separate living room. Lovely hotel but on the older style but lots of character. Room was great. Our little man feel asleep in his travel cot and we were able to relax and have room service in the living room.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. They provided an additional soft blanket to use as padding in travel cot which many hotels do not.

Location is great close to Chester and main routes.

Only cons are lack of air con and no elevator.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CmmT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and for saying that we are a 'great hotel'

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My daughter got married on 22nd May at Rowton Hall. From start to finish everything was perfect and faultless. The wedding took place in the Inglenook room and looked amazing. The owners and staff were wonderful and so attentive. The food and service is to be recommended. Also the ambiance is perfect. Thank you so much to everyone concerned in making this day so very special

Room Tip: We had several rooms for our party and everyone was happy. The Henrietta Suite is just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your amazing review and we are delighted that your daughter had a wonderful wedding day. Thank you for your comments 'From start to finish everything was perfect and faultless. The wedding took place in the Inglenook room and looked amazing. The owners and staff were wonderful and so attentive. The food and service is to be recommended. Also the ambiance is perfect. Thank you so much to everyone concerned in making this day so very special,

We look forward to welcoming you and your families back to Rowton Hall Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night and absolutely loved everything about the hotel. We were made to feel very special by the wonderful staff. The hotel was exceptionally clean. The room was immaculate with lovely fluffy towels and beautiful toiletries. The pool was fantastic and the meals were brilliant and extremely good value. We cannot fault it and if you are looking for somewhere to go to feel pampered then this is the place! We hope to return later in the year. I am often quite critical so from me this is praise indeed!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debsmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review and we are delighted that you find us 'a very special place'.

Thank you for your comments 'We were made to feel very special by the wonderful staff. The hotel was exceptionally clean. The room was immaculate with lovely fluffy towels and beautiful toiletries. The pool was fantastic and the meals were brilliant and extremely good value. We cannot fault it and if you are looking for somewhere to go to feel pampered then this is the place! We hope to return later in the year. I am often quite critical so from me this is praise indeed!!!'

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We got married at Rowton Hall Hotel on 4th April 2014 and the day was absolutely amazing from start to finish. It was so well organised, the day went so smoothly and I was completely relaxed that they had everything under control. Kelly our wedding planner was brilliant right from the initial planning and she was there on the day checking everything was ok. The room at Rowton is just beautiful and the perfect size for our 84 guests. The food was amazing and our guest were coming up to us saying they had never had such lovely wedding food before. Our toast master was brilliant he kept everything moving and people where they should be and made sure we were happy with how things were going. I totally recommend Rowton Hall for your wedding, a beautiful venue, amazing food and brilliant staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jengaz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted that you had an 'amazing wedding' and thank you for all your wonderful comments.

We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,235 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing