We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apauling service ”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on the 15th of June for a friend's wedding. We wer only going the evening so decided to make the most of what the hotel had to offer first.

When we arrived around 3 pm and first got into are room we looked for an iron and iron bored the only thing we had was a pants presser so after reading the information booklet that said we can request 1 from reception called down to request 1. 30 minutes later no iron so we rang again and the receptionist appoligised and said she would check to see if it was on its way.

After having a cuppa waiting for the iron that hadn't appeard we decided to just go down to the pool area. Ther was no jacuzzi the button on the side was not doing anything so it was basically a small pool with a ledge to sit on. Giving up we tried the sauna witch was dark inside (no lights on) and the thermometer read just 30'c (room was hotter). The only thing that worked was the steam room.

So on r return after discovering ther was still no iron we rang reception once again after ringing 3 times with no look I sent my partner down to reception to get it himself he was told by the receptionist she couldn't leave the desk and rang someone there and then to ask again. 6.30 pm we wer both ready for the evening reception apart from are outfits that needed ironing after ringing up myself 1 last time and getting angry with the receptionist it finally arrived so we could attend the party.
That was not the last of r problems we had no sleep due to the towel rail being on constant it was a hot summers night! I searched every were for a switch but nothing! U could even feel the hot pipes under the floor in the room. We had window open all night and a fan that was already in room when we arrived on all night but it was useless!
Iv got to admit the hotel and it's grounds are lovely the rooms wer clean and beds wer comfy but that's all that's good and after what they charge they expect you to pay an extra £12pp for brakefast!

The only reason I hadn't complained further and requested a refund is because we booked it through the groom and did not want to put any stress on either him or his wife on the wedding day but after my experience I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and I definitely wouldn't return not even if it was £20 a night!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank smj1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us here at Rowton Hall Hotel and are disappointed that an iron and ironing board were not brought to your room. We would like to thank you as we have made a decision with immediate effect to purchase iron and ironing boards for all our bedrooms.

Thank you for your nice comments regarding our lovely and clean rooms with comfy beds.

It is unfortunately difficult in old Country Houses to provide air conditioning in the bedrooms on a hot summers evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
There are newer reviews for Rowton Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in June. Our room had everything you would expect and a nice view over looking the gardens, the leisure facilities were lovely, great food and very friendly staff. In a good location for nearby attractions. What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

What a wonderful review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your 2 nights stay with us in June. Thank you for commenting on 'Our room had everything you would expect and a nice view over looking the gardens, the leisure facilities were lovely, great food and very friendly staff. In a good location for nearby attractions. What more could you ask for!'

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My son just got married on 3 july and we couldnt have picked a more perfect place. The venue was excelent and the staff amazing tom was the mc and he went out of his way to make everthing perfect for everyone . All the staff were fantastic from the moment we arrived till we left. The food was lovley and rooms beautiful and breakfast was enjoyed by all our family.i wouldnt hesitate to reccomend this hotel to anyone the owner especially goes out of her way to please You .Only one downside its all over would love to do it all again thanks everyone for all your effort and hard work xxxx

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w0nderfulwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your great review and we are delighted that your son had a great wedding day with us.

Thank you for your comments 'The venue was excellent and the staff amazing tom was the mc and he went out of his way to make everything perfect for everyone . All the staff were fantastic from the moment we arrived till we left. The food was lovely and rooms beautiful and breakfast was enjoyed by all our family.i wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone the owner especially goes out of her way to please You .Only one downside its all over would love to do it all again thanks everyone for all your effort and hard work xxxx'

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Rowton Hall soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a treat!
An amazing venue for my daughter's wedding, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Keith, the most brilliant MC made everything perfect. He needs a pay rise!
The setting, wedding breakfast, ambience...everything was perfect. They even laid on fantastic weather for us!

The room was lovely, just a shame we didn't have more time to wallow in it.

Sadly, breakfast was a tad disappointing, but that couldn't spoil our lovely wedding weekend at Rowton.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you found the 'setting, wedding breakfast, ambience...everything was perfect. They even laid on fantastic weather for us! The room was lovely, just a shame we didn't have more time to wallow in it.'

We are sorry to hear about your breakfast, everything is ordered and prepared fresh to order to ensure the highest standard, we can only apologise that you found it 'a tad disappointing'

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately, I did not enjoy my stay here as much as I was hoping to. The room had a stale odd smell when I first entered and this remained throughout my 2 night stay. Although the room was beautifully decorated, the bed was too soft for my liking and the amenities were basic for such a high standard hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank CathyTee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

In the first instance I must thank you for your nice comments regarding how the rooms was decorated, however we are greatly concerned with your comment regarding the stale smell in your room. Our rooms our checked on a daily basis and we are struggling to identify the room in question, would you please be so kind to let us know which room you stayed in?

With regards to the amenities the shampoo, body wash and hair conditioner are of the highest quality from Aromatherapy Associates exclusive range and I am sorry if they are not to your liking.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Have just stayed at Rowton Hall for friends wedding. The wedding was amazing, everything for that went smoothly and guests had a great time - so happy everything was sorted for them - and they had an amazing wedding.

Venue is stunning, lovely building and grounds. Cannot fault that at all. I do feel the following could have been better considering it was a wedding venue and there were no other guests staying there.

As I say the wedding party had booked the venue and all rooms were allocated to wedding guests. Wedding started at 2:00pm, we arrived at 12:30pm, rooms were not ready until 3:00pm - find that very strange considering we needed to get refreshed and changed! Not off to a great start.
We were told to change in the gym changing area, with wet floors and not exactly large or convenient. Put that aside even though the rooms should have been ready bearing in mind they knew we were coming.

Front of house staff were great, as were most of the staff. Waiting staff were helpful, polite and professional - one bloke working in the bar was grumpy and not exactly conducive for serving wedding guests, but hey ho!
It was in the bar we experienced the worst part of the stay...

Card machine wasn't working!
Draft soft drinks were not available - just warm bottles of coke, lemonade, etc - not good on a hot day.
Staff just seemed to make the prices up as they went along - before the night do, I ordered 3 rounds of drinks and each time was charged something different. First was a pint of real ale and half a warm coke = £6.00. Second time was a real ale and a pint of coke = £6.00. Next time was pint of real ale (same as before) and 2 separate halves of coke = £8.00!
Grumpy bloke even took £3.00 as a tip - which meant no one else was tipped again!

The food for the wedding meal, was I have to say fantastic. Really, really good and all served by staff who were attentive enough without being in your face and helpful in additional requests. So absolutely no complaints about that.

Overall:

Venue & grounds were lovely.
Food and waiting staff were great.
Front of house reception were helpful, friendly and joined in some of the light banter.
Rooms were of very good size and very clean and tidy - absolutely no complaints with the rooms or cleanliness of the place.
Bar area, prices and not having the rooms ready for arrival were disappointing - but then I guess these things happen.

Won't put me off visiting in the future, but when you know there is a wedding on - make sure things are working, staff are not grumpy and rooms are ready for people to unpack, refresh and change in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to try your review and we are thrilled that 'The wedding was amazing, everything for that went smoothly and guests had a great time - so happy everything was sorted for them - and they had an amazing wedding.'

With regards to your comments regarding the checkin time, our policy is 3.00pm, we do endeavour to service as many rooms prior this however, on both our website and in our confirmation letters it clearly states 3.00pm. We do offer the healthclub as a back up area for guests to freshen up.

I am sorry to hear about your experiences regarding our bar and we will certainly look into the issues that you have highlighted.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Rowton Hall in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I had to write this to say how good everything went for our friends wedding at the weekend. I could not fault a thing. Our room was perfect. The staff are nice and don't know his name so we will call him "master of ceremonies" did an amazing job. 2 little things are. Room wasn't available till after the actual wedding which while I understand because there was a big wedding before. It was a bit of a pain finding places to get changed. Also bar was a bit expensive..........but there again if you want a cheap bar go travel lodge. A nice place like this you expect it a bit more. Thanks to all involved. Day was perfect

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
074, Front Office Manager at Rowton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your friends wedding. Thank you for commenting on 'I could not fault a thing. Our room was perfect. The staff are nice and don't know his name so we will call him "master of ceremonies" did an amazing job. . Also bar was a bit expensive..........but there again if you want a cheap bar go travel lodge. A nice place like this you expect it a bit more. Thanks to all involved. Day was perfect.'

Regards to your comment on not being able to access your room prior to the wedding, our checkin time is 3pm which is stimulated throughout the booking process and we cannot guarantee checkins prior to this time, should guests request an earlier checkin time we try our upmost to ensure that this happens.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,325 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £109 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing