We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
bewitching87
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I came to this hotel with my parents. The staff were excellent, friendly and looked after us very well. The food was also very nice and they even gave us cannapes with our drinks. I was in room 6 which was very nice. Beautiful decor, huge bed and bathroom ad everything one would need even a tv! My parents were in room 5, however they did find that their bathroom fan was broken and their tv was crackling. My mother also said the ladies bathroom downstair was not clean. However apart from that i had an excellent stay and I would return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bewitching87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    214
    76
    38
    22
See reviews for
183
506
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

When you drive up to this beautiful country manor it looks a little dated and shabby but i think it adds to the character. But once inside "Wow" you are greeted by chanderliers and oak panelling and really friendly receptionist who seemed really glad to see us. we booked the dinner ,bed and breakfast option through laterooms wise choice as the food and accomodation was great quality. We were upgraded to the Fairfax suite which was very comfortable and had amazing views accross the fields and a lovley well thought out bathroom even though it was a little tired the room had a charm of its own and was very quiet. The spa and pool were spotless even though the staff are not as friendly as the rest of the hotel seem to spend more time talking to each other than looking after the guest needs.This hotel is a privately run Hotel and the owners were very customer focused people even stopping for a chat and a laugh during there busy day which made a pleasn't change from these big companies who forget sometimes you are a guest. So if you require a nice break in a quality hotel where service and quality counts i don't think you will be dissapointed we will be returning again very soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelinspector004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2010

we were looked after from the moment we walked through the doors, so relaxing and staff very friendly, they could not do enough for us, we are going back soon x

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Couldn't fault. So relaxing, rooms spotless, food lovely. Lovely Hotel full of character polite staff; nothing too much trouble for them. Will most certainly be visitng again soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam26England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnoldswick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2010

We booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary and stayed in the Henrietta Maria suite which was a delightful experience. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the staff were friendly ,courteous and efficient. The food was prepared and served to a very high standard. This was our second visit and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankBarnoldswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Just returned from three days stay at Rowton Hall with three girlfriends. We were meant to be going to Spain but due to Volcana in iceland all flights were cancelled... so we looked on internet for luxury spa hotel in Chester (one of us remembered going to Chester years ago). From first phone call we couldn't have been more welcomed. All the staff were extremely efficient and pleasant and couldn't do enough for you.... lead by Tony the manager.. who was just wonderful. Put himself out to sort rooms, recommended where we should go and just took the time to have a good old natter with us, The rooms are lovely the spa and treatmeants were great... food was great.... can't says enough to recommend this place. xx

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmo6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We decided to stay at Rowton Hall for a short break over the weekend of 2 to the 5 April 2010. We can say that if you are a business professional working hard and need some 'down time' then this place is much recommended! We work extremely hard and I have to say we were - well - 'stressed out.' I telephoned and spoke to 'Tony' the manager and I have to say initial contact makes an impression - he was very friendly and professional answering all of my questions - I decided to book!
From the moment we arrived we were treated - not well - but absolutely fantastically well! I have to say the staff are probably the most helpful I have ever come across and I travel around not only the UK on business but indeed around the world. These people are great - a quick mention of Karl - one of the waiters!
The 'spa' and 'gym' are also well worth a mention - my wife made full use of the 'spa' facilities over our short time and was wonderfully relaxed! Whilst I did not use the 'spa' myself - I did use the 'gym' and indoor swimming pool - the 'gym' is equipped with all new equipment and affirds facilities for almost any workout - great stuff!!
We liked the place so much we didn't go out - simply relaxed and indeed enjoyed being totally looked after.
So in short - well done Tony O'Hare and staff at Rowton Hall - much recommended - give it a try - we shall certainly be returning!

Peter Franks LLB
Solicitor

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bapsy3732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,164 reviews
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,624 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing