We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding”
Review of Rowton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rowton Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“outstanding”
Reviewed 18 February 2011

This service and friendliness of the staff was second to none.Very helpful and always smiling.The room was very clean and well furnished.Best part of the hotel is the swimming pool and sauna and steam room,and my girlfriend loved the spa. I will definately be going back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deakefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    213
    73
    38
    21
See reviews for
180
500
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We decided to stay at Rowton Hall for a night away from it all. The whole experience was supurb. The receptionist was chatty and cheerful. We stayed in the Lord Byron suite, which is large and spacious with a very comfortable bed, a very clean en-suite with bathand shower and a tv. There is a sofa and a large flatscreen tv. We had dinner in the restaurant, the bar staff and restaurant staff were very attentive. The food was lovely and fresh and hot.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

stayed for 2 nights with pet no additional charge which is an added bonus. staff very friendly and professional cleaning excellent spa facilities excellent and had 2 treatments food and the service was excellent all in all very pleased would suggest a comments card though for little niggles like poor tv reception via freeview and hook broke on bathroom door only 1 robe left these only little things but could improve the whole experience.room was a little small but for a couple of nights ok

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustangsuzy264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Booked Rowton Hall for the weekend as a birthday surprise for my husband last year - he had to work on his birthday (poor thing!) at the Ramada in Chester over the weekend.

The staff were such great sports keeping the secret that he was actually staying for the whole weekend and not just for one night and that my daughter and I were joining him for the weekend; they booked him in a single room to start with and everything.

The room was gorgeous - very spacious, with ample room for the extra bed put in for my daughter. The bathroom was welcoming and designed very much to my taste – loved it.

The food was superb; we have multiple allergies between us, so I know everything given to us was cooked from scratch. I asked for Eggs Benedict on the first morning - it was not on the menu, but this is Rowton Hall and the owner made sure I got whatever I wanted – my daughter’s medical food requests were also met to the letter.

While my husband was in Chester, my daughter and I had an opportunity to sample the spa's facilities’ and have some serious girlie bonding time – I felt so good afterward – almost addicted. I went down to the gym before breakfast the next day – that NEVER happens when I stay in hotels.

In the business we are in, we stay in hotels constantly; everything from 1.5 to 5 star luxury and the service we had at Rowton is now up there with my top two in the UK (Radisson Edwardian Manchester and Hotel du Vin, Poole).

All over Christmas and New Year, our fantastic stay at Rowton Hall came up in conversation after conversation.

The owners were really nice people and very hands on. The huge international hotel chains will always be around – family owned places like Rowton Hall deserve our support.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thefamilypoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We stayed here between Christmas and New Years in one of the master suites. From start to finish, we were treated like royalty.
We arrived to a friendly welcome in reception, checked- in with no problems. The room was gorgeous, with really comfy bed and sofa. The location being so close to Chester meant that popping into town to find somewhere to eat took no more than 10 minutes. The bathroom was lovely, huge bath tub and a power shower too. Really good nights sleep and woke up to an amazing breakfast. Try the sausages!
The hotel had a spa with some great deals on, which I unfortunately did not get time to take advantage of.
Will definitely be back in the summer to enjoy the stunning grounds.
Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Myself, my wife and a couple of friends stayed at this hotel in mid December. The hotel is well signposted, right in the countryside about 3 miles out of Chester. It is situated in a lovely old building with character.

In general we had a fab time, a few relatively minor gripes. The stayed in the junior suite (Fairfax) which was a reasonable size, and had a separate bath and shower. Bed was very comfortable (though was obviously two beds put togther). The room and bathroom are tastefully decorated, and there was a large flat screen TV in the bedroom, but the small TV in the bedroom didn't work which was disappointing - we were told it didn't work since the digital switchover, which is over a year ago, so surprised this hadn't been resolved yet. As others have commented, there was a lack of toiletries in the bathroom, only a screwed into the wall set of shower gel and shampoo, which makes it difficult when having a bath.

The staff were generally good, receiptionists excellent, though some of the restaurant staff seemed a bit inexperinenced. The food we had was excellent and good value (we had 3 course Christmas meal for £19.99). Again, a relatively minor grips like 3 seats at table instead of 4 when we were seated, cutlery missing, that sort of thing, little things which given the star rating were not expected. Not sure if this was because a wedding was on and they were short staffed.

Bar and restaurant areas very well presented. The pool, spa and gym areas were excellent, very clean, though showers weren't working due to frozen pipes (it had been minus 12c that night though).

Overall a very good stay, which with a few minor attentions to detail could have been an excellent visit, especially given the amount of money charged.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevesmith1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Came for a wedding, spoiled rotten, excellent in every way

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exciled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.9 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,512 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Hall Hotel

Property: Rowton Hall Hotel
Address: Hotel Rowton Lane | Rowton, Chester CH3 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rowton Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Hall Country House Hotel Chester, enjoy our Health Club & Spa, an elegant Georgian Manor House, built in 1779. Rowton Hall Hotel is a beautiful 4AA star Chester Country House retreat set amidst 8 acres of award winning gardens and pastureland. Located in Christleton, just 2.5 miles from the Roman City of Chester. Our Hotel Chester is ideally situated in the rural setting of Chester, and has easy access to local Chester tourist attractions, such as the Chester race course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium and the historic tours of Chester to name just a few. We have easy access to North Wales, Manchester and Liverpool whether you choose the drive or use Chester rail service. We have complimentary car parking facilities for up to 200 cars and can also accommodate for helicopters to land on the hotels grounds with ease. We have many special breaks giving you the opportunity to indulge in one of Chester’s finest country houses a hotel Chester situated in a tranquil settings. Our magnificent hotel Chester is full of character and charm and is renowned for a warm, country house welcome with personal attention at all times. All 37 bedrooms are individually designed and have en suite bedrooms, direct dial telephones, trouser press, freeview TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities. We also offer complimentary Broadband in the bedrooms and wireless broadband in the conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rowton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rowton Hall
Hall Hotel Rowton
Rowton Hall Chester
Rowton Hall Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing