We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Brookside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brookside Hotel
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had a two night stay in this hotel last week, the position of the hotel is ideal for visiting Chester only a ten minute stroll, the staff that we encountered were all really friendly and wellcoming, although the room was quite small there was a very high standard of cleanliness, the evening meal was very good and the breakfast was very nice, the only downfall was the room was on the back and above the kitchen and as the window was open it was a bit noisy.
Overall a value for money hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms booked direct from hotel may be bigger than those booked through a third party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy1762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    136
    60
    17
    6
See reviews for
61
200
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Great welcome. Breakfast and evening meal were very good. All the staff were very very helpful thoughout our stay. Good location and if you were lazy like us the taxi only cost £3 to get to the middle of town!!! Our room was nicely decorated - but VERY small. Bathroom was clean and tidy. Overall good hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Avoid room 23 as it is very small - cannot open the bathroom door fully as the bed is in the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My friend and I went on a shopping trip to Chester and stayed at the Brookside.
We came from York on the train and were able, with our light wheeled luggage to walk from the Station to the hotel. It took twenty minutes.
The hotel is lovely and comfortable. The staff are most helpful and cheerful, and the breakfast and meals are delicious. The wifi worked fine.
The hotel is 5 minutes walk from The Greenway a a railway track which has been converted to cycling walking route. With a bit of prior planning on google earth, we were able to walk to the Sealand Trading estate, via the Deva link and the ernormous TKmaxx. We were also able to walk the very attractive to the canal basin and Chester. Whatever sort of trip you are on to Chester, The Brookside is just the ticket!

Room Tip: Front rooms have some traffic noise, but are double glazed. Back rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2englishladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

A comfortable two-night stay. Decor a little tired, but still pleasant surroundings.
The shower in our room needed a degree in physics to operate but produced results after a while. The shower doors were difficult to operate and could do with some attention.
Pleasant and helpful staff, and the meals (full English Breakfast or usual Continental) were well-prepared and served. Large dining-room with plenty of space. Evening meal was particularly good !

Room Tip: Room 23 (small double bedroom) is what it says; (Small). A narrow, steep, twisting 30 stair climb, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountrysideBasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Fantastic hotel!!! Me and my husband went to Chester after our wedding day. As soon as the hotel knew this they upgraded me and my hubby to a gorgeous four poster room. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The staff were fantastic and really friendly, recommended some good places to eat. The bar was reasonable and a lovely way to end the evening. Breakfast was delicious too. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My friend and I met up here for a short break at the end of July - very enjoyable and small enough to be personal. The staff were all very friendly - small negative comments my shower - room 18 - left a lot to be desired couldn't adjust height as when I touched it it fell off. Walk into town took longer than stated - but all in all it was a very nice trip and we found the Chester people very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Quite narrow tread stairs to climb to get to rooms not ideal with a case
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I have never felt like writing a review before on my experiences in hotels, but I felt compelled to write on my 3 day stay at The Brookside...
The welcome was sincere and very genuine, both my son (8) and myself felt welcome from the minute of our arrival, drinks were offered and we sat in the lounge chatting with other satisfied guests.
Both Anna & Ian on reception were professional and very helpful planning our day, we had transport to help us into Chester and all the service staff (Lois/ Amy) engaged with my son and helped him feel so welcome & comfortable.
The breakfast & dinner service were efficent, fresh, well cooked and we felt comfortable enough to stay in the lounge watching TV with all the other guests.
The staff clearly understand the owners ethos of a friendly and welcoming hotel and I would recommend a stay at The Brookside any time, I've booked for our next stay later in the year....
Well done Richard, Mark & Marian

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezzer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bawn Lodge
Bawn Lodge
#18 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#26 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
7.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Hotel

Property: Brookside Hotel
Address: Brook Lane, Chester CH2 2AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookside HotelDiscover Chester’s Hidden GemWhere Excellence In Service Meets Traditional Style With Modern Day Comforts.An independent family owned 3 *** Hotel which offers free on site car parking and Wi-Fi. Situated in a quiet location and just a short walk from the city centre the Brookside Hotel makes for an ideal retreat. Its cosy bar & lounges offer a selection of wines & spirits draft beer, afternoon tea & lite bites. In our restaurant the dinner menu boasts traditional and continental dishes with full English breakfast the following morning included in all tariffs.All rooms are individually styled & have flat screen freeviev TV, digital radio & hair dryer, beverage tray & room service. Each has its own bathroom with complimentary toiletries and fresh towels daily or upon request.The Hotel has 24hr access & with customer care at the very heart of who we are we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Brookside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing