We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend”
Review of Brookside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brookside Hotel
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

First time in Chester and it lived up to other reviews we looked at.The hotel location is perfect with a 10min stroll into Chester.Car parking at back of hotel is great which is included in the price so no nasty surprises.The food was very good and has a nice sociable bar area.The staff are really friendly and make you feel welcome right away.All this helped make a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkbmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    142
    61
    17
    6
See reviews for
61
208
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here for 5 days (a birthday break with mam). All the staff very welcoming .Nothing was a bother. Very clean and comfortable with tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast was lovely and kept us going for alot of the day. Loved the different sitting areas. Just nice after a day walking round Chester to relax in. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynneski54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This hotel has a cosy, comfortable feel about it. Our room was right at the top on the third floor, it was compact as it had a double and a single bed in it as well as other furniture. Very clean and comfortable. Tea/coffee facilities. There are a number of comfy sitting areas on the ground floor. Breakfast was excellent. Just 10 minutes walk to the city. Great place to visit. We really enjoyed staying at this hotel and visiting Chester. The hotel cat was really cute too.

Room Tip: If you don't like narrow stairs ask for a room that's easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillianP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel at the beginning of May and I cannot fault it. No it isn't a posh hotel but it is what it says it is - a 3 star hotel. As a lone female visitor I was worried about checking in to the hotel but I needn't have worried. The staff were so helpful and immediately put me at ease. The room was perfectly comfortable and my evening meal was huge and well cooked. Breakfast did not disappoint either - plenty of it and so I didn't need lunch! All the staff were friendly and helpful - absolutely nothing was too much trouble and they even let me leave my luggage after I checked out as my train was not until the evening - this was free of charge! Perfectly acceptable as a 3 star hotel and I will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda0973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Brookside Hotel the Thursday before Easter, we arrived early and we were able to leave our car here and make the comfortable 15 minute stroll into Chester City Centre. We checked in no problem and were taken up to our room, which was a good size even with the spare single bed in the room, but most importantly it was clean. Breakfast was more than adequate, you could order a full english or a continental breakast, the food was hot amd tasty, you couldn't ask for more. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

we stayed here for the 3 days of the chester races with my parents, as we checked in we were showed our rooms which ours had be upgraded to the 4 poster bedroom, this was lovely mbut the floorboards creaked with every step, we only had breakfast which was very good everything you wanted and hot!,didnt have evening meal which was available but very expensive, we had drinks at the bar which were reasonable. this hotel is very friendly,only 5mins in a taxi to the centre and about a 10-15 min stroll,staff were very helpful and would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay anywhere near chester without being right in town

Room Tip: twin rooms are lovely with lots of room and a big shower,4 poster room has a bath lower floor is bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazsafc2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motueka
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay in Chester. The price was right so the lovely clean room, tastefully furnished with modern bathroom, very friendly and helpful staff (even if English wasn't their first language) exceeded my expectations. Got lost on the way there (locals can't give directions to save themselves) but, once there and supplied with the map printed for me at reception, it was easy to get around the fabulous city centre. Easy on-line booking.

Room Tip: Rooms near the kitchen get some noise from the workers and equipment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLHAbeltas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 44 in Chester
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,632 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Hotel

Property: Brookside Hotel
Address: Brook Lane, Chester CH2 2AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookside HotelDiscover Chester’s Hidden GemWhere Excellence In Service Meets Traditional Style With Modern Day Comforts.An independent family owned 3 *** Hotel which offers free on site car parking and Wi-Fi. Situated in a quiet location and just a short walk from the city centre the Brookside Hotel makes for an ideal retreat. Its cosy bar & lounges offer a selection of wines & spirits draft beer, afternoon tea & lite bites. In our restaurant the dinner menu boasts traditional and continental dishes with full English breakfast the following morning included in all tariffs.All rooms are individually styled & have flat screen freeviev TV, digital radio & hair dryer, beverage tray & room service. Each has its own bathroom with complimentary toiletries and fresh towels daily or upon request.The Hotel has 24hr access & with customer care at the very heart of who we are we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brookside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing