We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank holiday stay”
Review of Brookside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brookside Hotel
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from staying at the hotel for 2 nights. The room we were given was so small everytime we moved we knocked something over. The bathroom door could not open fully as it banged into the bed. Anyone on the larger side would not have fit in this room. It was supposed to be a double room but the room was too small to even fit a double bed. We complained to Madelaine who was the manager she was extremely rude and said we had booked a budget room and that was what we got. We paid £160 for 2 nights which I dont think is cheap for a room that does not even fit a double bed,

Apart from the size of the room and the rudeness of Madelaine the rest of the staff were extremely helpful and polite. The breakfast was good and the service excellent. Plenty of parking at the hotel. The hotel is about 15 mins walk from the centre which is not too bad.

Would recommend this hotel if the room would have been a proper double and Madelaine did note work there.

Room Tip: When booking ensure that the room has a proper double bed or appropriate single beds.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Debzsut123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel with our friends. We couldn't have had a better weekend. The staff were very friendly and willing to assist in any way. The hotel is one of the cleanest I have stayed in and the bathroom was very modern, I cannot understand when some people have described it as dated, the reception area was comfortable and suited the building. There was plenty to choose from at breakfast time and we had one meal there which was very tasty and we thoroughly enjoyed. I think for the price we paid it was excellent value. The town is within easy walking distance so long as you wear flats. I have paid a similar price at other hotels and not had the value for money that came with this one and I would recommend this hotel. If you want modern then pay the price and stay at the Grosvenor otherwise you pay for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear of the hotel, I found the traffic noise interrupted my sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Whilst the staff at the hotel couldn't be more friendly or helpful the hotel itself is very dated. Our room (which we paid £178 for 2 nights) was in the attic - pictures attached, with only 1 tiny window and an awful lot of stairs to climb to get to it. The bed was incredibly low and very uncomfortable and the décor was dated in the extreme. Very disappointing and made us stay out for as long as possible as we just didn't want to spend any time in the room. I also noted fake brick work arches - bricks were fake and the cement between them was foam and was peeling up. Breakfast consisted of very cheap products. Not at all happy with our stay - I wonder how the staff remain so cheerful.

Room Tip: don't agree to one of the attic rooms - lots of stairs and very hot rooms - also very dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jf68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed at the hotel in August, 2013, for 2 nights.

Positives - On site parking, it's only a 10 minute walk into the town centre. The hotel itself is very clean. Good open areas for sitting at night. Staff were friendly.

Negatives - Hotel is dated and requires smartening up. If your room is on the top floor there are a LOT of stairs. The breakfast is ok, nothing special.

Suppose you only get what you pay for, however, more shabby than chic. Unfortunately would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Book this hotel for a weekend away with my partner, first impressions are a great level of what to expect. The reception area was really tired and outdated, but I must say the reception staff were excellent, and very professional in their approach with customers. We received our room key and shown to our room, on entering it was plain it was very small and dated, there were dirty marks on he wall, cobwebs behind the bedside cabinets, the bathroom was very good, it's such a pity the rest of the room was not up to that standard !!! The bed was not very comfortable and every time you had to move the bed would creak & squeak !!!!. The following morning we went down for breakfast, the staff could not do enough for you and we're really pleasant. The full breakfast was first class, it was freshly cooked and of a high standard. The price for our room for two nights was £238 which was far to expensive for what we received, on the whole I don't think I could recommend this hotel until the standard improves.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TWINNYNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights 7&8th August,and found the Hotel to be good for the price.We chose it for it's convenience to the City center. Our room was a twin on the ground floor and was quite comfortable.The seating areas provided somewhere to sit and read or go on line.Breakfast was what we expected in a hotel of this category.We had very little contact with staff.
Car Parking is just ok,very tight space.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TubalCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Booked a double room and got a broom cupboard!,,, decor throughout hotel from 1972!,,breakfast was basic ( I got a portion of artificial scrambled egg on mine........microwaved rubber!,,,,I refuse to write encouraging reviews when the public are being duped into staying at these ramshackle sheds because of clever photographs and over the top reviews........absolute waste of money......sort it out !!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doodlebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 45 in Chester
264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,698 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Hotel

Address: Brook Lane, Chester CH2 2AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £75 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookside HotelDiscover Chester’s Hidden GemWhere Excellence In Service Meets Traditional Style With Modern Day Comforts.An independent family owned 3 *** Hotel which offers free on site car parking and Wi-Fi. Situated in a quiet location and just a short walk from the city centre the Brookside Hotel makes for an ideal retreat. Its cosy bar & lounges offer a selection of wines & spirits draft beer, afternoon tea & lite bites. In our restaurant the dinner menu boasts traditional and continental dishes with full English breakfast the following morning included in all tariffs.All rooms are individually styled & have flat screen freeviev TV, digital radio & hair dryer, beverage tray & room service. Each has its own bathroom with complimentary toiletries and fresh towels daily or upon request.The Hotel has 24hr access & with customer care at the very heart of who we are we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brookside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing