We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good...but...”
Review of Brookside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brookside Hotel
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe, WA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty good...but...”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

At first, all I can remember is the windy stairs and doors to the room that is difficult to open because the stairs are right there...hard to explain but it's kind of like a maze! But it really is a charming hotel. As well, the only thing I really didn't like was the lowness of the ceiling of our room and that it got hot in the room...felt very claustrophobic because you can't open the windows all the way...they have windows at the top that lean back a bit. All in all, the room itself was very clean and nice. The breakfast was really good. I would stay there again but I would request a room with higher ceilings if they have one!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    142
    61
    17
    6
See reviews for
61
208
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Brookside Hotel for 3 nights from Mon 16th September and we both enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is Victorian and the decor is lovely and in keeping with the building. The staff are so friendly and accomodating and Richard, Madelaine and Lois made us feel very valued as customers. Even though they were always really busy, they still took time to chat with us and ask us how we were and where we had been. The food is very good (both breakfast and evening meals) and we ate in the restaurant for 2 nights of our stay. Sal is a great Chef and as well as having a menu to choose from, he produces a special dish too. The lamb was the best we have ever eaten in a restaurant. The rooms are very nice and they have everything that you could need including: good quality bedding and towels, a big mirror and great modern bathrooms. We would highly reccomend this hotel. There is a great place to eat in Chester called The Hickory Smokehouse, which is situated on the Groves, next to the river. We ate there on the first night, but after eating in the Brookside on the second night, we decided to eat there the following night as it was so good.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back or the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DNP6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nughts last week.We were very impressed with our 4 poster bedroom and ensuite.A lovely nights sleep, and we went down to a good choice for breakfast
Lovely breakfast omelettes (thanks sal) Good choice of evening meals and several vegetarian options.Several desserts but we were to full to try them.Thanks to Richard, Madeline and everyone for making our stay first class Highly Recommended if in this area
Jackie and Ian Phillips.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhona11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Brookside Hotel with work for a number of nights over a 4 week period. Having stayed in many hotels this is now in my top 5. The rooms I stayed in were relatively small but cosy and traditional with contemporary features, they were clean with everything you should need including flat screen tv's with access to wi-fi and a very comfy bed! The bathrooms were modern and the toiletries were a nice touch. Being a girl I appreciated the long mirrors to straighten my hair in. What made my stay so enjoyable was the friendliness of the staff, the owner was very accomodating and a genuinely nice man...The resteraunt food and breakfast was lovely and drinks very cheap....My only complaint about the hotel if I had to make one was the bacon, that is literally the only thing! Great hotel for everyone including couples, and families! Thanks Brookside Hotel :)

Room Tip: Reception level are the biggest in size, room 5 in particular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Many visitors have commented that this hotel is dated and needs upgrading... that is a bit unfair as the hotel is a Victorian house. Having said that the bathrooms were modern which is a big plus. For those who want a modern hotel just be prepared to pay more at least Brookside is very reasonably priced.
Ten of us stayed at Brookside for a weekend on both nights we had a meal in the evening.... the menu was the same each night but there is a choice. It was freshly cooked and quite inexpensive.
The staff especially the girls were friendly and hard working... oh mustn't forget Ian he was always pleasant though cant say the same for Richard.
It is only a short walk to the centre of the City... about 15 minutes. The hotel kindly provided a very detailed map.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesmarchant497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is an old hotel in a good location, so no need for a car. The food was very good with a good selection to choose from. The room was a bit dated but nothing to complain about. The staff was very friendly. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequent_traveler290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked 3 nights in August in the LARGE family room for me, my husband and our 5 year old based on various on-line reviews. What the description doesn't tell you is this... the room is basically in the basement down STEEP stairs so far from family friendly, not natural light, low ceilings, rooms divided by a curtain with kettle and bathroom in the kids room and NO phone reception on either of our mobile networks! Stayed approx 15 mins before going into Chester to get phone reception to book elsewhere before checking out (not charged which was something!). Much better value out there for families as we found.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 44 in Chester
256 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Hotel

Property: Brookside Hotel
Address: Brook Lane, Chester CH2 2AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookside HotelDiscover Chester’s Hidden GemWhere Excellence In Service Meets Traditional Style With Modern Day Comforts.An independent family owned 3 *** Hotel which offers free on site car parking and Wi-Fi. Situated in a quiet location and just a short walk from the city centre the Brookside Hotel makes for an ideal retreat. Its cosy bar & lounges offer a selection of wines & spirits draft beer, afternoon tea & lite bites. In our restaurant the dinner menu boasts traditional and continental dishes with full English breakfast the following morning included in all tariffs.All rooms are individually styled & have flat screen freeviev TV, digital radio & hair dryer, beverage tray & room service. Each has its own bathroom with complimentary toiletries and fresh towels daily or upon request.The Hotel has 24hr access & with customer care at the very heart of who we are we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brookside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing