We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Stay in Chester”
Review of Brookside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brookside Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Portlaosie
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“1st Stay in Chester”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had been meaning to get to chester for some time..now we are pleased that we did as we really enjoyed our visit..helped very much by our stay in the Brookside hotel. Staff we friendly and very helpful. Evening meal was pleasant and the hotel was cosy. Close to town so most people could walk in but there is a bus close by and the staff will get a taxi for you if required. We stayed three nights and were glad we had. Off street parking was a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dain96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    136
    60
    17
    6
See reviews for
61
200
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twyford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My sister and I spent five nights at this hotel recently and had a great stay - nothing was too much trouble for them, any and all the members of staff were friendly, very helpful and very professional.

Our room was nice, the breakfasts were lovely, and the evening meals were excellent. We shall return!!

PamBerkshire

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laxey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We booked three nights here after cutting short a break at another hotel which was a building site. So had not done any research and did not know what to expect. The hotel is family run and not like the big boys, so individuality is very evident. The staff were the best anywhere we have stayed, the hotel was clean and our bedroom was comfortable. I am sure that some of the rooms will be smaller and probably some bigger, this is the price you pay if you stay in an oldish establishment not built as a modern block. Breakfast was excellent and the evening meals we had on two nights were above average. To sum up we will remember our stay here for good reasons unlike some places which because of their blandness all merge into one.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank laurieroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My partner and I stayed for two nights in a double en-suite room with breakfast included in the price. We were greeted by a lovely member of staff who was very helpful and friendly, providing us with a map of the area and information on Chester. Our room was small but very cosy, with a spacious bathroom and everything we needed, including tea and coffee facilities, wardrobe and comfy bed. The only thing lacking (besides space!) was a mirror in the room as I couldn't use my straighteners with the mirror in the bathroom due to no plug, so I had to make do with a small mirror of my own. The bed was also on the small side, but again this added to the cosy-ness!! The breakfast was really good, with a lot of different options, and the service was excellent again. The hotel was a 15 minute walk away from the city centre and fairly easy to find. The car park was cramped though, and I wouldn't have liked to have manoeuvred my way out of some of the spaces, but there was another car park down a lane that had CCTV. Overall, a great stay; would recommend and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollyg-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here just last week, from the 17th to the 20th our stay was excellent, the staff were fantastic very helpful and Anna on reception gets a special mention for here help in finding the hotel as I got lost she directed me right to it, more about the hotel, its a victorian style Hotel the decor inside in keeping with the building, has a lovely feel to the place a very good bar and lounge area, a well stocked bar,must mention Richard one of the owners for his excellent bar skills really enjoyed talking with him to, also a mention for Madelaine for her bar skills and friendly advice on were to visit in Chester, we dined out the 1st night but we booked a meal in the hotel for the next one as we were spending the day at Chester zoo witch this hotel can get at a discount on the entrance which didnt disappoint in fact it was one of the best meals ever and for a hotel was very reasonable price, the four poster room we had was fantastic very clean and modern ensuite all that u needed I would reconmend anyone to stay here we will most certinly go back again soon, also it is only a 10 minute walk into Chester, I have to say again you cannot go wrong by staying at the Brookside Hotel p.s will bring the book back Richard on our next visit thanks for the loan rgds Steve Balmer

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

At first, all I can remember is the windy stairs and doors to the room that is difficult to open because the stairs are right there...hard to explain but it's kind of like a maze! But it really is a charming hotel. As well, the only thing I really didn't like was the lowness of the ceiling of our room and that it got hot in the room...felt very claustrophobic because you can't open the windows all the way...they have windows at the top that lean back a bit. All in all, the room itself was very clean and nice. The breakfast was really good. I would stay there again but I would request a room with higher ceilings if they have one!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Brookside Hotel for 3 nights from Mon 16th September and we both enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is Victorian and the decor is lovely and in keeping with the building. The staff are so friendly and accomodating and Richard, Madelaine and Lois made us feel very valued as customers. Even though they were always really busy, they still took time to chat with us and ask us how we were and where we had been. The food is very good (both breakfast and evening meals) and we ate in the restaurant for 2 nights of our stay. Sal is a great Chef and as well as having a menu to choose from, he produces a special dish too. The lamb was the best we have ever eaten in a restaurant. The rooms are very nice and they have everything that you could need including: good quality bedding and towels, a big mirror and great modern bathrooms. We would highly reccomend this hotel. There is a great place to eat in Chester called The Hickory Smokehouse, which is situated on the Groves, next to the river. We ate there on the first night, but after eating in the Brookside on the second night, we decided to eat there the following night as it was so good.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back or the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DNP6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bawn Lodge
Bawn Lodge
#18 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#27 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
7.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Hotel

Property: Brookside Hotel
Address: Brook Lane, Chester CH2 2AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookside HotelDiscover Chester’s Hidden GemWhere Excellence In Service Meets Traditional Style With Modern Day Comforts.An independent family owned 3 *** Hotel which offers free on site car parking and Wi-Fi. Situated in a quiet location and just a short walk from the city centre the Brookside Hotel makes for an ideal retreat. Its cosy bar & lounges offer a selection of wines & spirits draft beer, afternoon tea & lite bites. In our restaurant the dinner menu boasts traditional and continental dishes with full English breakfast the following morning included in all tariffs.All rooms are individually styled & have flat screen freeviev TV, digital radio & hair dryer, beverage tray & room service. Each has its own bathroom with complimentary toiletries and fresh towels daily or upon request.The Hotel has 24hr access & with customer care at the very heart of who we are we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Brookside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing