We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a comfortable bed!!!”
Review of Brookside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brookside Hotel
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not a comfortable bed!!!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in this hotel. It's very clean, the staff are lovely and the breakfast is good. Both the beds in our room were extremely uncomfortable, I had to use a blanket from the car to put over the mattress and then half of the duvet and slept under the other half!!! Also, don't bother with the evening dinner, nothing special and certainly not worth the cost. It's just unfortunate that there is never any way of knowing if the bed is going to be comfortable until you've actually slept in it, such a shame. That was room 19 which was fine, bit tired, but it was quiet as on the side.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on the side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannelouis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    142
    61
    17
    6
See reviews for
61
208
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed two nights at the brookside hotel after reading reviews on here . Although staff very welcoming the hotel it's self is in desperate need of updating definitely not worth the amount we paid . Location wise it's a nice stroll into town with a small but free car park . All in all nice people tired hotel .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthYorkshireMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

First, parking is free either in the hotel's car park or on the street, which is always a bonus. The hotel is handily situated being only a ten minute, easy stroll into Chester centre. The hotel is clean and the staff accommodating and friendly. The evening meal we had was excellent as was the breakfast. Our room was quite small, but did the job. Our only quibble was the rather feeble shower.

Would I stay here again if visiting Chester? Yes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topfellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at the Brookside for two nights while I ran the Chester Marathon and just like the race itself, the hotel was great.

Bringing us a breakfast basket the night before the race because of the early start was a nice touch and made life much easier in the morning! Free parking, free WiFi and a great breakfast service make the hotel a great place to stay. Chester is pretty pricey for hotels but Brookside offers great value for money and a good nights sleep. The city centre is only a short walk which isnt a problem for most and a taxi is very affordable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USA_honeymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Fully recommend Brookside Hotel in Chester. Clean ,comfortable, friendly, 10 minutes walk into ChesterCity centre and a brilliant breakfast. Will definitely stay there again when we next visit Chester. Parking available as well. The number 51 bus goes into the City if you do not feel like walking.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackiekc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaosie
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had been meaning to get to chester for some time..now we are pleased that we did as we really enjoyed our visit..helped very much by our stay in the Brookside hotel. Staff we friendly and very helpful. Evening meal was pleasant and the hotel was cosy. Close to town so most people could walk in but there is a bus close by and the staff will get a taxi for you if required. We stayed three nights and were glad we had. Off street parking was a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dain96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My sister and I spent five nights at this hotel recently and had a great stay - nothing was too much trouble for them, any and all the members of staff were friendly, very helpful and very professional.

Our room was nice, the breakfasts were lovely, and the evening meals were excellent. We shall return!!

PamBerkshire

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#18 of 44 in Chester
256 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Hotel

Property: Brookside Hotel
Address: Brook Lane, Chester CH2 2AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookside HotelDiscover Chester’s Hidden GemWhere Excellence In Service Meets Traditional Style With Modern Day Comforts.An independent family owned 3 *** Hotel which offers free on site car parking and Wi-Fi. Situated in a quiet location and just a short walk from the city centre the Brookside Hotel makes for an ideal retreat. Its cosy bar & lounges offer a selection of wines & spirits draft beer, afternoon tea & lite bites. In our restaurant the dinner menu boasts traditional and continental dishes with full English breakfast the following morning included in all tariffs.All rooms are individually styled & have flat screen freeviev TV, digital radio & hair dryer, beverage tray & room service. Each has its own bathroom with complimentary toiletries and fresh towels daily or upon request.The Hotel has 24hr access & with customer care at the very heart of who we are we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brookside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing