We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary stay”
Review of Brookside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brookside Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise for me for our Silver Wedding Anniversary, what a lovely surprise. The hotel is lovely very clean with helpful staff. The room was clean and with plenty of tea/coffee for our use, the bed was comfortable and had a really good nights sleep. The food was lovely with a good cooked breakfast in the morning. We had an evening meal on the Tuesday and we both opted for the roast dinner which was lamb and we weren't disappointed. All in all a great hotel to stay in whether you want to shop in Chester or tour around the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Brookside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Booked for a romantic weekend in Chester with my partner, the hotel was lovely and had bags of character. Clean and well kept, also the dining area was lovely. The breakfast was all you could hope for and the staff were lovely and helpful. A 10 minute walk to the center of Chester was the only down point but at the price you really cannot complain. We intend to return for another stay at the Brookside.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

me and my wife went to chester for our anniversary and stayed at the brookside , we found it to be a very enjoyable stay with helpful staff who went out of their way to assist and an excellent room with comfortable bed , generous portions of breakfast which was very tasty indeed and the restaurant food is amazing , all in all a good holiday we both enjoyed

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thornheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

After losing our room key at 12am & being locked out for an hour. . . the response we had from the hotel owner was shocking.

As two ladies in our forties, we don't take lightly to being spoken to like we were.

Sadly disappointed.

Location good, room also good, owner . . . not good!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Visited with my Fiancée for an early Valentines weekend. The hotel is in a Victorian style and the room had a comfortable 4 poster bed. The room was clean and warm with a modern bath and shower. The staff were friendly and only a 10minute walk into town. The breakfast was great too. Can't fault this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Timmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at this hotel and all i can say is it was fabulous. From the minute you walk through the door until the minute you leave you are made to feel very welcome and very special. The Reception staff were brilliant quick friendly check in nothing was to much trouble. We were in the Attic room which i loved i thought it was a very charming room with an excellent en suite and all the facilities you could need. Breakfast was brilliant there was so much choice and the waiting on staff were lovely and so hard working.
I will definately be going back to this hotel and i wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to my family and friends too .
Keep up the good work you are all doing a fantastic job see you all again very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damala55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in January. Booked a standard Room which was comfortable with spacious bathroom, though we hadn't booked it the room had a 4poster bed & a single bed (a lot of furniture in the room), however the bed was comfy.
We had evening meal in the restaurant, though the menu wasn't extensive, there was a good choice of starters, mains & desserts. The food we had was nicely served & tasty. The bar area is nice& appeared well stocked with lots of informal seating areas.
Breakfast also had a good choice, we had cereals, fruit & full English breakfasts. Again the food was served nicely, tasty with good service.
The staff were all friendly & keen to help. The car park behind the hotel was full when we arrived, we were told the hotel had additional parking, but we had parked on the road outside. Reception gave us a map of the route into the city, which was a pleasant 10 mins walk away.
We are looking at returning to Chester as the zoo & city are lovely & willl stay here again, Definately value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baylehum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,685 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.1 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Hotel

Address: Brook Lane, Chester CH2 2AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £74 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookside HotelDiscover Chester’s Hidden GemWhere Excellence In Service Meets Traditional Style With Modern Day Comforts.An independent family owned 3 *** Hotel which offers free on site car parking and Wi-Fi. Situated in a quiet location and just a short walk from the city centre the Brookside Hotel makes for an ideal retreat. Its cosy bar & lounges offer a selection of wines & spirits draft beer, afternoon tea & lite bites. In our restaurant the dinner menu boasts traditional and continental dishes with full English breakfast the following morning included in all tariffs.All rooms are individually styled & have flat screen freeviev TV, digital radio & hair dryer, beverage tray & room service. Each has its own bathroom with complimentary toiletries and fresh towels daily or upon request.The Hotel has 24hr access & with customer care at the very heart of who we are we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brookside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing