We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£71
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
£79
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
£73
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveller rating
294
217
86
25
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
294
217
86
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre friendly hotel minute walk bath shower small room evening meal four poster bed breakfast was excellent car park two nights full english bus stop top floor visiting chester bar area pleasant stay night stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2023

Lovely staff..very clean hotel..service of breakfast was a bit slow but was worth the wait. Good choice also. Anna on reception was very helpful...hotel room bit dated but would definitely return. Thankyou

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sueandr0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2023

Most of the staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you . Food in the evening that we had was poor . Breakfast was OK. The room we stayed in Room 7 was very tired and the bed cover was torn and stained. On stripping the bed when it was time to leave we discovered filthy pillows with two pillow cases to hide the stains and the duvet was worse . We were quickly offered a refund once the manager was aware. However this didn't make up for how upset we were at having slept in that bed .

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2023 via mobile

Pros - Has free parking and serves food.
You get a swipe card to get in the front door and room. Solid bed. Nice and quiet area. Staff are ok and very helpful.
Only a 10 min walk to Chester Center.
Cons - shower a little weak, few creaky floorboards.

Room tip: Plenty of parking. Zoo only a 10 min drive and the town Center the same (you may as well walk as it’s hard to park in Center) . Taxi only £5
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BENBURNLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2023 via mobile

A lot of positives from our stay.

•Location is great for city centre. Taxi ride cost approximately £5.

• Very friendly & genuinely nice staff.

• Very tasty cooked breakfast, plenty of choice & a good selection of cold breakfast too.

•Good value for money.

• Limited parking, but plenty of street parking nearby if car park is full.

• WiFi is fast enough.

• Nice bar, with good selection.

Unfortunately, we have one big negative to comment on.

Although our room was quite small ( which I was aware of from reading previous reviews) this wasn’t a problem as we wasn’t actually in the room much apart sleeping & getting ready.
The negative is the bathroom !!!!
This was very dirty, with lots of mould, lime scale & general dirt. The bathroom in room 23 is in need of a SEVERE DEEP CLEAN.
We did inform reception when we checked out & they said they would look into it.
So almost perfect stay if only the bathroom was clean

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ian_Austin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2023 via mobile

I would like to start by saying the staff are amazing and friendly. The room we had unfortunately was very small I would say it would suit a single person. Bedroom very clean. Shower had slight mould or shower glass at bottom. No wardrobe just a small opening with curtain and all odd coat hangers. It was OK tho for a couple of days .
Breakfast was fresh. But no hash browns or fried bread which I thought would have been standard. Waitress was lovely and friendly. Evening meal was OK what we had seemed fresh. A little disappointed the menu was the same 3 days on trott .would have thought it was easier just to change the soup and pudding. If the cost was a factor. Overall is was good tho .so definitely worth it if you can't bothered to go out .
Nice stocked bar and very friendly Jack.
Very cosy hotel to stop .some areas need updating . Like carpet in bar / dining room .old fashion table cloths . Personally would get rid of them especially for Breakfast. Savings on the penny's x
Really nice find tho ,lovely family and staff amazing customers service would definitely stop there again

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sarahannw2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews