We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”

Review of Vine Cottage

Vine Cottage Welcoming Holiday Home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Vine Cottage Welcoming Holiday Home
Front of the cottage Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Vine Cottage Welcoming Holiday Home
Front of the cottage
Lounge
Lounge
Dining room
Lounge
Conservatory from the Courtyard
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Second Bedroom
Internal staircase
Conservatory/Dining Area
Kitchen
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Courtyard garden
Courtyard garden
Courtyard garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Shotwick
2 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our second stay in 2 years. It's the most beautiful cottage and the owners make sure every little detail is remembered. From the welcome basket to the fresh tomatoes and herbs in your own garden Vine Cottage is superb

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborah38...
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Warm and friendly welcome”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

After traveling a long way it was a pleasure to meet Peter, the owner of Vine Cottage. Peter was on hand when we arrived and was caring and attentive with a warm and friendly welcome and thoughtfully provided a hamper of milk, teabags, juice, wine and cake. Peter lives in the house next door to the cottage and was available throughout our stay if we needed anything.
Vine Cottage is very cosy, clean and comfortable, has off road parking and is in a great location with plenty to offer visitors to Chester. It quickly became a home from home for us.
The cottage is on a pleasant road in a quiet picturesque and private location but within easy access of many pubs, restaurants and take-aways, and of course the cultural cities of Chester, Liverpool and Manchester, and the many attractions of North Wales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czoet
tyne and wear
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage perfect for Chester and the Zoo.”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A lovely well maintained cottage. The hosts, who live next door are lovely - even returned something by post we left behind. Lots of up to date info in the cottage about the surrounding area, think its the most organised cottage I have stayed in. 5 minutes from the zoo and a great park and ride into Chester (although you could walk into Chester - about 45 minutes). 10 minutes walk to 2 family pubs serving food. 20 minute walk to Morrisons for supplies. Also walk straight down church lane, past the library and a good childrens play area is on your right. Cant think of a single negative thing. Try it.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spagnc
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“We'll be back. Perfect place for a holiday”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

After reading the other reviews I was sold. And all so true. The arrival basket was lovely especially the thoughtful Easter eggs for the kids, bottle of wine, tea bags, milk in the fridge. Morrisons a few mins drive away and Chester Zoo 5 mins drive.

After having a problem with a non-stick pan, the following day Peter turned up with a pile of metal saucepans.

The double bed is a double. The main bedroom was ideal, which the kids enjoyed. Definitely would go back!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DKieft
Germany
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We were delighted with this cottage! Everything we needed had ben thought of: the cottage has a good size, a lovely conservatory with views into a beautiful garden. The bedrooms were very clean and airy, the beds comfortable. Peter next door made sure we had everything we needed - thanks again! We highly recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A nice and quiet area, yet in walking distance to city centre
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandypomk...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very homely”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at the cottage for 3 nights in October . Peter was a pleasure to deal with - nothing was too much trouble. We arrived on a cold wet afternoon but found the cottage very warm and cosy. It is well stocked with everything you may need and was impeccably clean. It is ideally located to explore the many delights that Chester has to offer. We especially loved the shopping at Cheshire oaks , an easy 5-10mins drive away. I would definitely like to stay there again !! Many thanks Peter and Wendy!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah B
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We could have stayed longer in this well appointed cottage.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

All our dealings with Peter and Wendy have been excellent right from our initial contact with them, through the booking process and down to the greeting we received. The cottage was very well presented and equipped. We spent quite a bit of our time in the conservatory whee we could look out onto the well maintained garden. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen was very clean. The location was excellent as it was close to Chester Zoo, the train (for Liverpool) and the Park and Ride into Chester City. (Why take the car when there is a facility such as the Park and Ride provided by Chester Council?)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Where do you start?
Liked least: Street noise
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing