We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel in a Superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We had a lovely relaxing two night stay with breakfast in this wonderful hotel. Perfect location in the centre of Chester with valet parking making for easy arrival and departure. The staff and services provided were exceptional including the complementary coffee and tea making facilities which were available on request and worth having with fresh milk being placed in the fridge instead of the usual UHT milk in plastic containers. The continental breakfast was fresh and plentiful and provided a nice relaxing start to the day. The room was perfect and the huge bed very comfortable. The only downside was having to leave after the two nights and return to reality....but we hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moorlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,293 - 2,299 of 2,599 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

We had long threatened to visit the Grosvenor, usually opting for the slightly cheaper Crowne Plaza, but we decided to treat ourselves this week and spent a night at this famous hotel. We weren't disappointed.
The Grosvenor is expensive, but it does offer the kind of service that the accountants have killed off almost everywhere else. Valet parking, people to open doors at your approach, and a turn-down service that includes bottles of water on your bedside lockers -- this is a classy hotel that harks back to a more genteel time.
As other reviewers have also noted, it's cheaper and more convenient to park at the front door and have your car taken away to the next-door carpark than to park it yourself. The rooms are very comfortable and well-appointed, although tea-making facilities are a notable exception -- it is nice sometimes to make a cuppa when you feel like it, and not to have to summon room service.
That apart, this is a comfortable and grand old hotel in a great location. Worth trying at least once; we'll happily use it again for stopovers in Chester.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front may be noisy as they overlook a busy street; we were at the back and it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockyroad2dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This is a five star hotel with two star facilities for those with mobility problems. Some of this is because the hotel is a listed building - so there are limits on what can be done. But most of it is because whoever designed the hotel's disabled facilities had never used a wheelchair in their life and was too stupid or arrogant to ask someone who had. The hotel offers a short wooden ramp as an alternative to its front steps. I preferred to hit the bell and go in through the (locked) door into the hotel's brasserie. It has a long ramp which I was (just) able to propel myself up. Staff will happily then remove any chairs from your path between the top of the ramp and the restaurant exit into the hotel lobby. There is also a ramp at the back of the hotel but its gradient and thick carpet meant I needed help on it. Even if you were able to use it on your own, it leads out into a multi storey car park and you will have to use another ramp to get anywhere other than into your car. This entrance is handy though if it is bucketing and you just want to use the adjoining shopping centre...no need to get wet!

Omce inside the hotel, the restaurants and bar are on the flat and there are no steps between the lobby and the bedrooms. The lift was ample for my (manual) wheelchair. If travelling with an electric chair or buggy, I'm sure the hotel would be happy to measure the lift for you. The staff are friendly and obliging - without being fussy.

I'm not certain but I think I used the hotel's only disabled room - it was a disappointment. For a start, it is a three mile camel ride from the lift so if you use a stick and don't like walking far you'll be exhausted by the time you reach the lobby if you are going out. There is a long corridor with thick carpet en route to the room from the lift and - because the building is so old - there is a camber to it so if you are a wheelchair user make sure you stay smack in the middle! The disabled room has an adjoining room designed for the use of a carer. We had asked for the room to be set up with twin beds so this adjoining room was locked so I didn't see it but the room we had had only one turning circle for a manual wheelchair so if you have an electric yoke, you could well be in trouble in this hotel. If you have an electric chair or buggy, I'd ask for the hotel to remove the two cumbersome armchairs and - while they are at it - they might as well take away the thick mat at the base of the bed as it was extremely annoying. But the main problem with this hotel for a wheelchair user - assuming there are no other disabled rooms apart from the one I used - is the bathroom. Great grab rails - and plenty of them, solid fiitngs to hang on to and a roll in shower. Fantastic.....except for the small matter of the floor bevelling - essential for the water from the shower to drain away but its positioning in front of the door meant a castor at least was up over the top of it as I reached beind me to close the (outward opening) door. There was also no turning circle in the bathroom without one wheel being up over the bevelling so this made manoevuring on and off the loo unnecessarily difficult. A better use of the room's floorspace is needed. On the plus side, the hotel is right in the middle of Chester so you are close to most things you might like to visit - and the centre of the town is fairly flat . And - apart from the disabled facilities - the hotel is a nice place to stay with great food!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margare52t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed for a one night treat with my mum. For £300 we got a deluxe room plus the 8 taster menu in the michellin star Simon Radley restaurant, which was fabulous! We enjoyed 2 x spa treatments each which was £55 each and well worth the money! Would recommend the back and shoulder massage, and the facial. Drinks in the bar were expensive, but expected, and a great choice of cocktails with a great service. They also kept bringing out food to go with the cocktails, pre dinner and desert which were lovely!. A great location, and with the advantage of valet parking right in the centre of Chester. Would definitely want to go back and make it an annual visit!.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmaj03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

From the moment we walked in the experience was excellent, Every time we stayed in Chester we always looked in and said we would stay there one day and i'm so glad we decided to stay.It was spotless everywhere you went, all the staff were very polite and the food was excellent. My husband now says there is only two hotels in Chester that he will now stay in and the Chester Gronenor will always be his first choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEV T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband whisked me off to this beautiful hotel for our anniversary! (lucky me!!).

The magic begins when you drive through the town centre and the Grosvenor's valet opens the barrier so you can drive through the pedestrianised town centre to the front of the hotel. The car was parked for us and as soon as I got out of it I was waited on by the attentive, friendly staff.

When we checked in we were upgraded from the Deluxe room that we had booked - the upgraded room was gorgeous, right at the front of the hotel with chaise longue, dressing area, magnificent bathroom, wine, and my husband had asked the hotel to arrange for flowers to be delivered to me for our anniversary (the bouquet was beautiful). Everything was just perfect.

We had dinner in the hotel's bistro, 'Vive La Brasserie', and whilst there were only 3 choices for each course we were very happy with the food and the service provided.

The breakfast in the morning was continental (you could pay extra if you wanted a full english but we didn't bother) with a choice of juices, tea, coffee, cereals, porridge, croissants, fresh fruit etc. The breakfast room was very busy but we did not feel at all hurried and the staff were attentive enough to replenish drinks without being asked.

We would highly recommend this hotel, it really is a case of 'you get what you pay for' and in this instance it's top quality all the way. It's a marvellous place to celebrate an anniversary/special occasion. Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burty62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The service at the Grosvenor was impeccable. From the moment you set foot in the hotel, until you leave you are treated like royalty by all staff. It was a memorable afternoon for my husband and I which we will be repeating time and time again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanada64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
728 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £117 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing