We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chester Grosvenor
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oddfellows(Chester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Edgar House(Chester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,739)
Filter reviews
2,742 results
Traveller rating
1,921
486
208
89
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,921
486
208
89
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssimon radley restaurantla brasseriearkle barthermal suitemichelin star restaurantturn down serviceafternoon teacontinental breakfastdeluxe roombeautiful hotelmini bartable serviceluxury hotelspecial occasionporridgeon arrivalcar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,430 - 2,435 of 2,742 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My daughter treated me to afternoon tea at the Grosvenor for my birthday. It was a lovely atmosphere in the tea room and the staff made me feel special. The tea service and cake stand were silver and the lighting in the room was just right for the afternoon. The food was just right and more sandwiches were served even before we'd finished the cakes! The special touch was a square of dark chocolate that had been iced "Happy Birthday" and the candle on top of the chocolate cake. Certainly a special experience I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrizeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I would recommend the Chester Grosvenor for business or personal visits. We were a group of 20 on business and we had a great time: the hotel is very smart; the service is excellent; everyone is very friendly. The location is slap bang in the middle of Chester which works really well. The meeting rooms have been refurbished and are very smart - ask for the Executive room if you have over 10 people, it is quite dramatic. Our expectations were surpassed and everyone left the weekend complimenting the hotel. Sure, the rooms can be a bit small but that didn't seem to dent our enjoyment.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrDemandingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Booked the Grosvenor as a little treat when in Chester for my daughter's graduation. The whole place just exudes class, the staff are amazing, not in your face OTT, but always nice and polite and extremely helpful. Both our room and my daughter's room were beautifully presented and clean with a turn down service to keep everything nice. Myself and my partner both had a massage in the spa and both were amazing experiences. I can't recommend this hotel enough, go and and treat yourself!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spint_Jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed in August to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed in a very comfortable 'deluxe room'. You feel special from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave.

We used the spa which was slightly small for such a large hotel but lovely (slightly dissappointed that you had to pay extra for this considering what you pay for the room but probably as the spa small and would be overcrowded if they didn't charge guests for use).

We ate at Simon Radley at the Grosvenor which was also superb.

All in all an expensive but fabulous treat!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rdgmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We had a lovely relaxing two night stay with breakfast in this wonderful hotel. Perfect location in the centre of Chester with valet parking making for easy arrival and departure. The staff and services provided were exceptional including the complementary coffee and tea making facilities which were available on request and worth having with fresh milk being placed in the fridge instead of the usual UHT milk in plastic containers. The continental breakfast was fresh and plentiful and provided a nice relaxing start to the day. The room was perfect and the huge bed very comfortable. The only downside was having to leave after the two nights and return to reality....but we hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moorlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews