We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel........go stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cheadle, Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel........go stay!”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We used airmiles (indeed rather a lot of them) for a night's break at The Grosvenor in the centre of Chester. What an amazing hotel! An old building which has been fully refurbished to the highest standards and fully on trend. As reported by other reviewers, the staff are clearly trained to the highest standard possible, and are friendly, efficient and helpful. The silver service breakfast was most relaxing...... no queues at the usual buffets experienced elsewhere. Yes the prices are pretty steep, but worth every penny. We did have one problem which was noisy airconditioning even when switched off! It kept us awake. The manager couldn't have been more helpful,was most sympathetic and apologetic and offered us an upgrade next time we stay there........I can't wait.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a small roof and was very quiet. The bed was most comfortable......I gave 3 rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamCheadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,432
    391
    157
    72
    29
See reviews for
278
1,266
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N/A
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Great place to stay, a real gem. However you do pay again & again! That said everything provided is of the highest quality and the staff are impeccably trained and attentive. The rooms are sumptuous and fantastically appointed. So slightly expensive but still worth a visit/stay

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

A magnificant 5 star hotel that combines the elegance and high standards of a past age with a subtle contemporary flavour.At all levels the staff are totally dedicated, happy, friendly and accomodating, nothing was too much effort.It proved to be the perfect venue for my daughters wedding. You cannot beat a City Wedding and The Grosvenor did it with style.The management and co-ordination was amazing, it was seamless and panic-free.The food as expected was exceptional .A PERFECT DAY with many thanks and gratitude to THE GROSVENOR HOTEL

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My wife & I decided to push the boat out for our Silver Wedding Anniversary and are now extremely pleased that we chose the Grosvenor as the place to do it!!
From start to finish the service we received could not be faulted, every member of staff we came across in any context was charming, friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the spa, the exquisite food in the Simon Radley restaurant with spot on wine recommended by the knowledgeable sommelier. We were also upgraded to an Executive room - large & sumptuous. Hell yeh, it is dear - but generally in life if you research well and are not stupid, you pay for what you get and in the Chester Grosvenor this is particularly true.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyhailsfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

This is a 5 star establishment in every possible way. From the moment we arrived the staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable as possible. The suites are extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean.

Unfortunately we were only there for a Sunday and Monday, when the michelin-star Simon Radley restaurant is not open. The Brasserie restaurant was however an excellent substitute.

Room Tip: Our suite overlooked the street at the front. Unfortunately Chester has a large student population...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil_Corke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Opulence at its very best. From the moment we drove up to the front door to start our stay to the moment we departed we were made to feel almost like Royalty. We arrived early evening (in the dark) and we were swept off our feet. The car was parked for us and checking in was made to feel so simple. We were shown up to our room where our bags had already been delivered. The room was spectacular with everything we expected of such a grand hotel. The food within hotel restaurant was rather good and well priced. Can’t fault anything.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhodopsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My daughter treated me to afternoon tea at the Grosvenor for my birthday. It was a lovely atmosphere in the tea room and the staff made me feel special. The tea service and cake stand were silver and the lighting in the room was just right for the afternoon. The food was just right and more sandwiches were served even before we'd finished the cakes! The special touch was a square of dark chocolate that had been iced "Happy Birthday" and the candle on top of the chocolate cake. Certainly a special experience I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrizeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
650 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing