We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chester Grosvenor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Really nice hotel with brilliant staff who make it special. Only downside was the shower wasn't very powerful but don't let it stop you.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,361
    371
    150
    70
    29
See reviews for
263
1,207
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

A visit and stay to this 5 star emporium is a must for all. The level of service is exceptionally high provided by a large number of obviously well trained staff at all levels. Not here have the numbers been cut as in many hostelries in these lean times.
From the doorman to the management you get what you pay for - a five star experience. It isn't cheap but little touches like the personal letter in your room on arrival, The maid bringing you eater in the early evening with a one page summary of the weather forecast and whats afoot tomorrow, the excellent service and friendliness of the Arkle Bar and the "nothing is too much trouble" attitude of the reception staff.
Comes highly recommended and be prepared for an experience to savour.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drewer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was our first visit to the Grosvenor and it was to attend a family wedding.

Overall we were quite impressed.
The service was impeccable, as you would expect from a five star hotel,and the food served at the wedding breakfast was very good indeed.

The one grumble which we had was that our bedroom
although very well appointed MUST be the smallest room in the hotel.

For the price we paid - and it is definitely not cheap- we expected something larger.

We looked at several other rooms and our room was far smaller than any of them.

We WILL return, because we enjoyed our stay immensely.

Next time we'll probably book one of the suites.

Room Tip: Avoid room 408 Its far too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJRHUTTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zell am See, Austria
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Spending 3 Days with extended Family was great ! Very attentive service and great food at the Brasserie. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I was in Chester for a family wedding. The wedding breakfast as held at the hotel.

The hotel occupies an old building which fronts onto one of the main shopping streets. This part has been added to, and seems to be an integral part of a modern shopping centre building. This results in a rather rambling building in which it is easy to get lost. However, the staff is very helpful and happy to personally guide you to wherever you want to go.

My room, for single occupancy, was smallish but with a double bed, lounger etc. The bed was very comfortable and the hole room was well-prepared. A minort niggle was that the sound of the weekend high spirits outside the hotel proved no match for the double glazing. However, it didn't go on for long. If you want to stay, you may wish to ask for a room at the back.

Another slight niggle is the car parking which is in the shopping centre multi-storey. The hotel does not have its own car park but, usefully, the hotel can be accessed directly from the car park. Hotel residents receive a concessionary parking rate.

Included continental breakfast was sufficient.

All in all, a very good hotel in every respect, and an excellent base for exploring this delightful city.

Room Tip: Rooms not at the front may be quieter a weekends. Also, my shower was fine (fully-equipped walk-in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leaforis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

5th stay here , some good experiences and poor in the past . Invited back as last time stayed here had few problems . Had to pay classic room , upgraded suite free bottle tattinger champagne, but doing special deals at hotel during this time . All and all good stay . Staff welcoming , and remember you if not by name but by face etc. Will definitely be back when staying in Chester .

Room Tip: we had suite overlooking high street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Spent a few days here with my wife and we loved it. We were upgraded upon arrival to a superior suite and a small cake with compliments was left on the side because it was a special occasion. I thought this was a lovely touch from the concierge. The staff are very polite and the room we stayed in was immaculate. The only negative I could give is the price but they dont cut corners on anything so if you want the best then you pay for it I suppose. The Michelin star restaurant was way over priced for me but plenty of other places to eat with its central location of the city. The spa was great too but also expensive. I would definitely stay here again but only on a special occasion because of the price. Some decent deals on their website too.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rimmer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing