We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a class of its own”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“In a class of its own”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

If you want a luxury hotel break, with excellent rooms, quality cuisine and top rate service, then you can do no better than visit this iconic city centre in delightful Chester. From the moment your car and luggage are whisked away you know that you are in safe hands.
Nothing is too much trouble, with porters anxious to help take shopping to your room.
Simon Radley's signature restaurant is top notch with Gary one of the best sommeliers in the business.

Room Tip: All rooms are first rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincitveritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,554
    409
    164
    74
    32
See reviews for
297
1,377
36
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We visited the Grosvenor in Chester for Afternoon Tea, this was a gift given to us at Christmas time. We had been to the Grosvenor previously so were looking forward to this treat. I’m on a gluten free diet so we had informed them in advance so they could prepare gluten free scones and sandwiches.

There were plenty of tea refills, additional sandwiches, scones etc. The food was well prepared, the bar was very clean, as were the plates and cutlery. The cream was clotted rather than whipped, a nice touch, although the beef was very rare for a cold sandwich.

So the down side, although minor, these add up, especially for a 5 star establishment.

Upon arrival we were shown to our table. The table was in a good position overlooking the rest of the bar. There was a good selection of teas and coffee to choose from. The waiter loudly announced that we were using a voucher, which he did for other patrons too. I’m unsure why he did this for us and other tables, we felt a little like second class patrons, which is bad considering the gift had been purchased at full price at Christmas from the hotel, this was not a Groupon or alike.

Our table was on the way to the kitchen, the waiters seems to use the back of the sofa as a hand rail bumping us each time. The food was acceptable but comparing to the Balmoral in Edinburgh of a similar price, the details were missing. For example, quality of cakes, crusts not cut from the bread and quality of sandwich fillings. On a positive note, the gluten free bread was excellent as were the scones.

Some staff were attentive other were not, it was inconsistent, we did not have one waiter dedicated to us. It was difficult to make eye contact for service and we had to ask often.

I was very surprised that when additional sandwiches and scones were brought to the table, the gluten free and regular food was on the same plate, a 5 star hotel should know better.

Finally when leaving the hotel we asked the door man how to get to the car park. On the hotel’s web site the site describes that there was direct access from the hotel to the car park. The door man advised us to walk through the shopping centre. Only when walking back to the car we saw the direct entrance back into the hotel.

It was an enjoyable experience but we may not return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RSGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I love staying here for special occasions and have done so a few times. The staff and service is out of this world and the rooms are pure luxury. I cant wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Any client who visits the Grosvenor cannot fail to be impressed. Very pricey but thats how it should be. Once available only to the elite I imagine it is now available to most of the working classes because these days most of us can afford the odd luxury.

No shell suits and vest tops here. Its a quality hotel. The rooms are superbly appointed, the food excellent and the afternoon teas are ideal for shoppers looking to rest tired feet or as a treat for Mothers Day/Birthdays etc

The position of the hotel is great, in the City Centre within reach of everything. The views from the front rooms are tremendous, not so for the ones at the side or rear so its worth seeing if you can bag one at the front for your stay.

The service is spot on too- from the valet parking to the waiters in the restaurants. All very attentive.

The spa is Ok but no pool. (There is an arrangement with another hotel but its a bit of a trek!). We are also disappointed that part of the lounge has been converted to a chocolatiere which means there is less window seating.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshiremike09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We were lucky enough to have a night in this fantastic hotel whilst being guests at Chester Races. We did not have time to take advantage of everything this hotel has to offer but will definitely stay there again for a special occasion

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mere, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We have stayed here several times and always found it clean, luxurious and a pleasant treat! Food is the stand out of the hotel closely followed by the spa. Wonderful breakfasts and the brasserie is definitely worth a visit. The Simon Radley is far more formal with exceptional service and great food. Rooms are light, airy but feel rather old fashioned.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in a suite here. It is a very elegant hotel, with excellent customer service and very high standards. This is our hotel of choice in Chester. Also the Simon Radley is excellent just be sure to book a table in advance - like up to a month in advance.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can. For a extra couple of hundred quid it's well worth the spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niceHotelsOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
674 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 44 in Chester
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing