We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected More....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expected More....”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I've grown up in Chester so spent many days (and nights as a teenager!) walking past the Grosvenor doormen with their top hats and wandering how nice it was inside.

And it is, very, very nice. We went for one night for my wife's 30th birthday over the Jubilee weekend.

Now I don't want to sound like I'm complaining at the hotel (please see my previous reviews - we don't normally stay in hotels like this) but we paid £230 for a stay of approximately 15 hours and unfortunately the experience never got beyond very nice. Maybe if you stay at these places regularly then that's fine but for me £230 pn means the hotel has to provide something more.

For instance, the basic £210 room DOESN'T come with a TV and ours (the one price level up) whilst having a TV had no complimentary tea and coffee facilities but lots of room for packaged sweets at £5 a throw!

The room itself was fabulously decorated, the staff were very helpful but I'm afraid this is what I would expect here. The continental breakfast included in the price was ok (the surroundings are lovely) but why should I have to pay extra to have scrambled egg and a sausage when I've paid so much to stay in the first place?

It's well located, it's comfortable, it's .... nice.

But it wasn't what I was hoping for.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VeryShortDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,430
    391
    157
    72
    29
See reviews for
278
1,264
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Have stayed here 3 times and love the location and decor of the place in the centre of the lovely town of Chester. Breakfast was 1st class, coffee good ( Really good coffee is difficult to find in the UK ). The beds are the best I have ever slept in, the downsides to the property are:
Unreasonably expensive for a cup of tea, room doors slam very noisily and can wake you up early ( if you are on holiday you may want to sleep in ! ) .Also there are no irons, even in the larger exec rooms. Overall though, the place is elegant and welcoming.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs to counter the slamming room doors that reverberate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed here for three nights. Pleasant upgrade on arrival with change of room to third floor due to noisy ventilation fan noise. No hassle, very helpful reception staff, service with a smile!. Room excellent standard and this hotel is all about location location location. Regrettably the street view seating area has changed into a chocolate retail outlet so the novelty of having a quiet drink watching the crowds go by has been lost which is a real shame. Only area for improvement here is the need to provide some much needed training to restaurant staff. Lot of staff but very poorly orgonised, waiting for tea, waiting for toast, forgotten top up of coffee, not what you expect from an establishment which purports to be top notch. This is a shame because what brings the customer back is that attention to detail and making you think that you are the most important guest in the hotel, sadly this was not the case. Hopefully next time someone will have orgonised some sessions for the waitering staff on what quality service is all about!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on thirs floor if you do not want to be disturbed by ventilation fans to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penfroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Just returned from yet another fabulous stay at “Grosvenor”
To me the Chester Grosvenor sets the benchmark that all hotels in the region should aspire to achieve.
From arriving at the hotel with the valet service, informative check in, a spotlessly clean room, attentive service at the fabulous breakfast through to check out every aspect is a real treat and well worth the tariff.
A big thank you to all concerned, we had such a wonderful visit and can’t wait to return.
Derrick Holland
General Manager
The Grand Hotel, Lytham St Anne’s

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fyldecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north Wales
Level Contributor
115 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night for my birthday. I would have said this was and I repeat was a favourite hotel, but not this time.

We arrived before lunch and were shown to what can only be described as a dreary dull room. The receptionist in fairness could see our unhappiness and moved us to a street facing room. It was ok but just ok. The bathroom was small and as good as a premiere Inn! Not what one would expect! We did several times
make our dissapointment clear, but to no effect! We were advised the room would potentially be noisy but didn't expect to be woken up at 4:10 with alarms sounding. A very poor nights sleep!

We ate in the hotel in both resturants but were not over impressed. Dinner in the Simon Radliegh was poor ,saved by fantastic service.

Overall dissapointment and a feeling that we have been over charged and criticism ignored!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pentrelegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Great hotel, in a perfect location. We stayed here for our anniversary and as the restaurant was closed at the time of our visit we got an excellent deal.
Room and bathroom was great no complaints very comfy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillyutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Very attentive staff, room was excellent, great location - would recommend. I forgot my US power adapter - one was brought up to the room in two minutes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mike_vacation_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
649 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing