We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, luxury hotel with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I thought this hotel was lovely. The hotel and common areas were beautiful. My room, a standard one, was large by European standards with a King bed, a sofa, coffee table, etc. It did have a TV, unlike the room rated by another reviewer. It was also decorated beautifully. I found the service very good and the continental breakfast was fine for me, although my rate did include the full English breakfast. The hotel is also located right in the heart of Chester so it is very convenient to everything. I would definitely stay here again while visiting Chester.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMitch6542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,193 - 2,199 of 2,599 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

Excellent hotel in Chester. Typically English in style with loads of charm, but lacking some modern finishes. Outstanding formal dining restaurant on site. Fitness facility was average at best.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin919191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My Wife and I had our wedding, and a two-day pre-Honeymoon stay here. It was THE most Unbeliveable time - a Stunning 'City' setting, in a most fabulous Hotel. the Service was impeccable, the wedding event organisers were utterly professional from beginning to end, and everything about it was just Perfect - The Civil service in the Drawing Room, the wedding breakfast, Spa treatments, dining, room service, you name it........

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PunkFunkJunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Although the rooms are quite small and the hotel does not have a pool, the service and location make this an excellent place to stay for a three days while exploring North Wales, Liverpool and the Roman ruins in Chester. The spa treatments are outstanding and quite reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teabird45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Recently took afternoon tea at The Chester Grosvenor at 4pm on a Saturday afternoon. The Arkle Bar was full and our table was really only suitable for 4 people, but they squeezed in an extra chair as there were 5 of us. This would have been ok if we had just turned up, but since it had been booked, the table could have been better.

We opted for 2 decadent afternoon teas and 1 afternoon tea. The strawberries and cream that arrived with delicious Tattinger Nocterne were beautifully presented and tasted lovely.

The sandwich selection, quantity and quality were a little disappointing, but the scones, cakes and pastries were fantastic. I would suggest that at £79 per couple for the decadent afternoon tea, the sandwich selection could be upgraded from the standard afternoon tea.

I sampled both Earl Grey and Morrocan Mint tea both of which were delicious. Our waiter was brilliant and really enhanced the experience.

A lovely treat in a lovely town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RZJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I've grown up in Chester so spent many days (and nights as a teenager!) walking past the Grosvenor doormen with their top hats and wandering how nice it was inside.

And it is, very, very nice. We went for one night for my wife's 30th birthday over the Jubilee weekend.

Now I don't want to sound like I'm complaining at the hotel (please see my previous reviews - we don't normally stay in hotels like this) but we paid £230 for a stay of approximately 15 hours and unfortunately the experience never got beyond very nice. Maybe if you stay at these places regularly then that's fine but for me £230 pn means the hotel has to provide something more.

For instance, the basic £210 room DOESN'T come with a TV and ours (the one price level up) whilst having a TV had no complimentary tea and coffee facilities but lots of room for packaged sweets at £5 a throw!

The room itself was fabulously decorated, the staff were very helpful but I'm afraid this is what I would expect here. The continental breakfast included in the price was ok (the surroundings are lovely) but why should I have to pay extra to have scrambled egg and a sausage when I've paid so much to stay in the first place?

It's well located, it's comfortable, it's .... nice.

But it wasn't what I was hoping for.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VeryShortDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Have stayed here 3 times and love the location and decor of the place in the centre of the lovely town of Chester. Breakfast was 1st class, coffee good ( Really good coffee is difficult to find in the UK ). The beds are the best I have ever slept in, the downsides to the property are:
Unreasonably expensive for a cup of tea, room doors slam very noisily and can wake you up early ( if you are on holiday you may want to sleep in ! ) .Also there are no irons, even in the larger exec rooms. Overall though, the place is elegant and welcoming.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs to counter the slamming room doors that reverberate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
728 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £117 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing