We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

A beautiful hotel, very well designed and maintained, with a truly exceptional staff. The breakfast was exceptionally good. The room was elegant and very relaxing. We arrived late one afternoon without any reservations and were given excellent service and attention.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front. Since it's a pedestrian street, it was very quiet and since it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clio47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,489
    398
    159
    72
    30
See reviews for
288
1,312
33
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My last review in April was about our meal in The Brasserie. This one is about the excellent food and service we enjoyed in The Arkle bar on 3 occasions since April 2012. I would definitely recommend this over the Brasserie as the levels of comfort and service are that much higher (more like you would expect of a 5 star hotel). You never feel like you are being rushed, and although the bar menu is more limited, it is absolutely fine for lunchtime, afternoon tea or a light evening meal.

One thing - make sure that you book a table, as they always seem to be busy!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazinga01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The location of The Grosvenor could not be better. It feels as though the city has been built around it. You step off the street into a grand reception area where staff proceed in a cheerily efficient manner. Parking is fairly straight forward as the hotel is attached to the Grosvenor Shopping Centre and its multi storey car park. It is however worth risking the wrath of pedestrians and driving through Chester’s semi pedestrianised streets to the front door of the hotel and getting a doorman to park your car, as then you won’t have to set eyes on the Grosvenor Shopping Centre’s multi storey car park which is easily the ugliest edifice ever constructed. It is a crime of unimaginable scale that it was ever built in a city as lovely as Chester.

My wife and I were staying on a special Sunday night deal which consisted of dinner in the Brasserie for two and an upgraded room for £200. A fairly reasonable deal, albeit one that requires a day off work to be taken advantage of.

When we arrived at our room we were greeted with a sea of marble and acres of space. It was grand yet tasteful. There was a high end TV and DVD player and the usual overpriced minibar. There was also an inviting and comfortable two metre wide bed, intriguingly containing three sets of pillows (one can only imagine that it is possible for a chap to get extremely lucky during a night out in Chester).

The hotel has a spa but no pool. I have no idea what is in the spa, because despite wandering into the ‘spa reception’ I was left with the impression that unless I had booked a rather expensive treatment then I should go no further. Whether there are saunas or steam rooms in there for the use of guests I am afraid I cannot say.

The Grosvenor’s Michelin Starred restaurant is closed on a Sunday night, although I made a note to return on a Wednesday when the set menu can be consumed for £50 instead of the usual £90. Our deal included dinner in the Brasserie which resides in a suitably elaborate room at the front of the hotel. The menu to which we were restricted was fairly limited, although my wife asked if she could choose a fish dish off the main menu and was told that she could. I wish I’d done the same as the Rib Eye I chose was not really to my taste. It would be better if guests were told that they had an allowance of money and could then choose anything they wished.

Breakfast also takes place in the Brasserie and is entirely waiter service. It felt a little bit stingy to charge extra for a cooked breakfast, but I did not feel short changed when I opted for the porridge (which perhaps oddly is not classed as ‘cooked’) and it arrived with a selection of pastries and some freshly squeezed orange juice. This set me up for the day and I left suitably impressed and happy to concede that if I stay in Chester again I want it to be in The Grosvenor.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeePhilipCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhu, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stopped over for one night, we're visiting Tatton Park show the following day. This hotel was wonderful, I could not fault it. The staff were all extremely polite and friendly, this was very welcoming. Only had breakfast at the hotel and the food and service were both exceptional. This hotel is exactly what a 5* hotel should be. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot,
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

Held a business event here but stayed on for a twosome weekend and really made themost of The Grosvenor's strong points - its location, its relaxed nature and its excellent service and staff. The business meeting was very well organised with good meeting room facilities and very strong banqueting team. Although the function rooms are very much that - functional, the care and attention from the staffe was top of the class and they dealt with small dietary issues amongst the guests very well indeed. The catering was really good - though it is clearly a different team from that in the main Michelin-starred restaurant and definitely down a notch in style and quality - butyou get what you pay for and the banqueting pricing was not excessive - especially compared to London.
The bedrooms are very comfortable and well equipped with wonderful beds and high quality furnishing - but nicely, not flashy. The bathrooms are perhaps showing their age in style and fittings although they work well - but odd not to get double-sink vanity units in a hotel of this standard.
Breakfast was excellent with good choice and range and it was a delight not to have to visit a buffet! Being served your cereal is most unusual these days and very welcome!
The hotel is great for a romantic weekend and it seemed a lot of people were doing that during our visit. Chester is a fantastic city and The Grosvenor is ideally right at the heart of it - step outside and you are in the historic centre, right next to the city walls and in the midst of the main shopping area. Although the hotel is not directly connected to the famous Rows - the balconied walkways - it couldn't be better located for enjoying Chester.
The staff are really first class and make up for any minor difficulties - like finding the car park! Instead they will happily park your car and bring it back without any fuss or serious delay.
Only a little more public space could improve the hotel - there are not too many places to just sit and watch the world go by.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue-and-Steve-Ascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Got married here in 2006. Absolutely superb place, stayed in a massive suite which was great, food, drink, staff, location etc all spot on. It's expensive but you get what you pay for. If you want a top notch night in Chester this is the place.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I thought this hotel was lovely. The hotel and common areas were beautiful. My room, a standard one, was large by European standards with a King bed, a sofa, coffee table, etc. It did have a TV, unlike the room rated by another reviewer. It was also decorated beautifully. I found the service very good and the continental breakfast was fine for me, although my rate did include the full English breakfast. The hotel is also located right in the heart of Chester so it is very convenient to everything. I would definitely stay here again while visiting Chester.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMitch6542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,630 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
660 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.2 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Property: The Chester Grosvenor
Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing