We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but very overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed for one night as special treat. The hotel is nice the rooms are very traditional. We stayed in a delux room which was spacious and comfortable. Even though the bed was very comfortable I was awoken in the early hours of the morning by two drunk men singing very loudly in the street below. I then found it hard to get back to sleep and heard the street sweeper at around 5-6 am. So didn't feel rested and relaxed the next day. We ate at the Simon Radley restaurant which was good but very expensive. Everything seems to be an added expense in this hotel. They have a spa but charge £35 pp to use it. A cooked breakfast is an extra charge, service charges are added on to the already high prices. No hot drinks in the room and these are charged as another extra. The service is excellent but I wouldn't return. It is overpriced for what it is and I have stayed in other 5 star hotels where you better value of your money and better overall experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Getwhstyiupayfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,108 - 2,114 of 2,601 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed here for one night 1st January. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, nothing too much trouble! The Michelin starred restaurant was closed because it was New Year's Day so we dined in the normal restaurant in the evening and the steak was delicious, cocktails fabulous too! Yes it is isnt the cheapest hotel around but worth every penny and we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angnboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

No doubt about it an excellent hotel but is it living on past glories? We upgraded to a deluxe room but not sure it's is really worth the price. A few minor points, no tea and coffee in room but they will bring fresh coffee before breakfast but I prefer flexibility of making my own when I want a cup. Arrived mid afternoon on a Saturday to find car park was full so had to wait until a few cars left. Bath and shower as slightly small but I guess it is very difficult to modernise an old building such as this. Staff were very helpful and polite. Been here many times but its starting to look tired and need to ask themselves whether they can still justify these prices. In saying that it is extremely popular and always full. Final point we booked bed and breakfast only to find it was a continental breakfast and if we wanted a grill it would have cost more.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

During our shopping trips to Chester over the years we always start our morning with coffee and breakfast at the Grosvenor. It has always been an excellent way to start the day.
This time however it had noticeably gone down hill. On entering the Arkle bar lounge the waiter was more interested in his computer than us. No personal touches like a polite "good morning", or taking the coats as usual. Coffee was half the size it used to be and no chocolate brownies, other guest seemed to have these but the waiter was unfriendly and not attentive at all. The bacon sandwiches we also cold.
Two regular customers who may never return?
5 star.......more like 2!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
10  Thank Gazel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We were looking for a city break, hotel right in the city centre, with a spa and are we glad we found this hotel!
It was our first anniversary and from booking right through to departing the service we received was exemplary. We had a standard room yet it was beautifully spacious - especially the Queen sized bed! The bathroom off a lobby area was a good size, with plenty of amenities.
We were very fortunate to get into the Simon Radley restaurant for dinner and this really was the icing on the cake for a romantic getaway. The staff so attentive, yet respectful of privacy, and the food was out of this world!
We arrived at the hotel a little early, but this was not a problem, the concierge took our bags and off we went exploring the city for some lunch. When we returned later in the afternoon, our bags had been taken to our room.
Nothing was too much for the staff, from offering to bring our car from the car-park round to the front of the hotel, to making us feel incredibly relaxed - as people with stressful jobs it can often be difficult to unwind on a short break, however I fail to see how anyone cannot relax in this beautiful hotel.
Whilst there are other hotels in Chester, they all looked rather too modern / contemporary for this historic city - the Chester Grosvenor definitely hits all the right notes, and is in the most perfect location, especially if you want to wander the walls, or wander around the shops.
It is definitely on our list of hotels to go back to (and that list has very stringent rules!).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Given these watering prices it all feels a bit indifferent. The very old fashioned feel may well suit some, but I'd rather have something a little more contemporary. The wifi not working on the second floor was disappointing even when asking at reception for someone to look at it, and the breakfast while elegant is shockingly expensive for what it is. Next time I'm going to try my luck elsewhere in town. #underwhelmed

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
4  Thank MutleyScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed here for two nights mid week in mid December and had a most enjoyable and relaxing stay. The hotel is in an excellent location. Bedroom and bathroom very comfortable. Staff excellent, particularly the friendly Concierge. Food delicious. For a sinful treat have a chocolate shot and selection of mini desserts in the chocolate shop! Divine!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chefereeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
728 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.4 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: £118 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing